We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy rooms in a beautiful spot.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Circle K Guest Ranch
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Dolores
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2010

At Circle K Ranch, one can choose between staying in a cabin or staying in one of their motel rooms. My wife and I stayed in one of the motel rooms and I loved it. First, since the motel only has eight rooms everyone gets to park 4 feet from their door. The room itself was simple but very clean and cozy with a "cowboy/ranch" type theme. If you open your door, you can hear the rapids of the Dolores river about 100 feet away. The location is absolutely beautiful with lush ground flora and tall pines. I'm guessing that most folks bypass Circle K Ranch and stay in Telluride but I know from experience that they will pay at least three times as much per nights stay.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Feposman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2010

stay here if you've been traveling and your kids are sick of being bottled up in hotel rooms and the car!! tons of space for them to run around and they have a cool zip line swing. accomadations were nothing spectacular (stayed in columbine cottage), very old, but clean. missed dinner due to arriving late, but breakfast was pretty good, ate outside on picnic benches. While we were there, they had a bunch of school kids there for their "camp", which is the main revenue for the ranch during summer. Not sure if we'd stay there again, feel like we overpayed. 150 bucks for one night in a way old cabin. But it's cute in its own way. (lots of space, property is right on the Dolores River)

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jenrnontherun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2010

Based on one 2008 glowing review, booked 4 days. Location was fine, in the mtns, but you're 45 min away from any restaurant, grocery, gas staiton. One cabin was fairly old mobile home, with out of date beds, living room, too big for two people. Moved to smaller cabin - where refrigerator was from the 1940's or 1950's, & worked, but no door on freezer compartment. TV was on top of fridge in the central room; two worn out lazy boy chairs, one table/2 chairs. About half of the kitchen utensils were so worn that the teflon was coming off the pots / pans, vegetable peeler covered in rust, and stove knobs broken or worn off. Kitchen sink leak drained into a 5 gal bucket underneath.
Best item: bathroom, modernized, with an overhead heat lamp/fan, and decent tub/shower. Soaps were smallest we've ever seen--1 tablespoon size, so fortunate we brought our own toiletries. Beds: adequate, but not enough blankets!!! Night temp's got into the 30's or 40's--it snowed one night--and we had to return to main building to beg for extra blankets, none in closets in cabin. What we were given came with "you're in luck, we found some," and were clean, just worn out and thin. No adequate reading lamp in bedroom. Cabin was clean--and our prepaid deposit money non-refundable for early checkout, so we stayed. One other thing to note: this place when busy, with 200+ youth campers in cinder block dorms with only 1 bath for each building must be noisy. And only dining option is their rustic dining room--so cabins with kitchen facilities would be more flexible. A pity the dishes, pots, pans, silver, etc. are so threadbare--even utensils from thrift shops are in better shape, and stuff like this is inexpensive at Walmart, too. Microwave worked--kind of--but older model, with a dial, not digital. Satellite TV is all you've got--no music availability--and TV comes from Albuquerque NM. Owners seem to be trying to do maintenance, but also seem to keep it in 1960-1980 mode, for 2010 prices.

Plus side: pre-season, it was quiet, nights, and the last cabins / campground before Rico or Telluride, in the high country. The place next door looked a lot busier, for RV's--the RV sites here are tiny, and if on the river, without space around them. We were prepared for a kitchen / cabin stay, and had 4+ days food with us, from Dolores and Cortez, in 2 coolers. Another couple we met walking the grounds were food-less, and mentioned they had a dinner of salsa on a salad, no dressing, as all they'd had leftover from lunch,arrived too late to drive back out for any open restaurant. Last note: this is an openly Christian facility, with Focus on the Family newsletters in bedroom, bibles open to verses in the living room. Which is fine--but should be openly stated, on the website, perhaps? Sumary: Circle K Guest Ranch needs updating and some serious money spent on it, to earn full season prices wanted. We'd not stay here again. .

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cabin_renters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
circlekranch, Owner at Circle K Guest Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our Ranch on TripAdvisor. This response is way past due and I know that is an understatement. Unfortunately we are just now learning about the tools and opportunities available to us. We want you to know that the concerns that you voiced have been taken very seriously. I have personally looked into them and we have made many upgrades and changes as a result. Thank you again for sharing your thoughts. We hope that you will give us another try in the future. It is of up most importance to us that our guests have an enjoyable, comfortable and pleasant experience at our ranch. If ever you do visit again and find anything unsatisfactory, please bring it to our attention and we will be more than happy to do all we can to resolve your concerns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2008

We were looking for a place to experience the mountains of southwestern Colorado and are so glad we stopped here. We had a lovely cabin right on the little roaring river (actually a house trailer sided over to look like a cabin which gave us comfort and convenience and lots of windows, a great idea). The owners run the place and live there and know how to make their guests feel at home and meet their needs.

We came to ride horses in the mts. and had a great ride with Mike, our very personable and knowledgeable guide, way up into the mts. along Bear Creek. Trailered the horses to the trailhead and were immediately riding uphill among giant aspens to some wonderful overlooks, down along and across the creek, etc., Our 6 hour ride lasted over 7 and we hated to quit. Great horses, great scenery, great company!

Take some food since there are no stores nearby, or sign up for the mealplan or dinner. Kinda pricey but fun to eat with the crowd. The cabin had cookware, good refrigerator and stove, etc. so you can easily be self sufficient. This would be a good base for exploring the area around here and coming back at night. We wanted to go over Ophir Pass and the million dollar highway. Be prepared for some distance driving to see the area but it is a beautiful drive.

The motel was full as was the dorm/lodge so we had to take the higher priced one room cabin with loft (upstairs nook in the trailer - fine for kids, etc.) and I'm so thankful. It was worth the extra money to be right on the little river. This would be tight for two adult couples because of the one bath and storage space but workable if you don't mind "togetherness" . Plenty of room in the living area and kitchen. The loft is basically a sleeping area, but would have been plenty comfortable for us to sleep in.

We left here and drove to Telluride the next day and it was breathtaking. It would have been a shame to have been so close to "the American Alps" and have missed it. The drive was wonderful and we loved the town. So glad we rode the tram over the mt. to the ski area and back. Drive thru town to see the beautiful falls, tho we didn't figure out how to get close as we were short on time.

This would be a great place for a family reunion, etc. with a volleyball court and such as long as they didn't have 250 camp kids there. The camp activity was not anywhere close to our cabin and never bothered us.They've been in business here a long time and have plenty of experience in the omuntain activities in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank GomomgoTennessee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank RavnK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonnie031953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2015
Thank Ronald v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dolores hotels
13.1 mi away
Dunton Hot Springs
Dunton Hot Springs
#1 of 2 in Dolores
276 reviews
19.5 mi away
Sophia Retreat & Event Center
10.4 mi away
Dunton River Camp
Dunton River Camp
#7 of 7 in Dolores
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Circle K Guest Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Circle K Guest Ranch

Address: 27758 Highway 145, Dolores, CO 81323-9748
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Dolores
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Dolores
Price Range: £80 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Circle K Guest Ranch 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Circle K Ranch is a fun, family friendly ranch where you can enjoy lodging along the beautiful Dolores River, home cooked meals and amazing horseback adventures through the spectacular San Juan Mountains. Fall hunting packages available for elk and mule deer hunters. Great Value!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Circle K Guest Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing