We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic- beautiful setting. I LOVE it!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dolores
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dolores River Campground and Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 September 2012

I have rented a cabin here 7 times in the last 3 years. The ones I book are camping cabins- no kitchen, bathroom, running water- only beds and electricity. We love it here! We bring our own bedding, ice chests with food, firewood, camping cooktop. The cabins have a deck with large picnic table and a firepit. They are located right on the river. Can't beat the view and peacefulness. We bring our dogs. To me, this is paradise! Don't expect anything fancy! The shower rooms/bathrooms are kept clean and are within walking distance. Wonderful location. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AZwildflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (523)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

517 - 523 of 523 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2012

Very nice location next to river, thats about it. website stated a fully furnished cabin with a kitchen ment to be furnished as well. We were also told it would be a two bedroom cabin with a loft that slept 6. The cabin was one open room with a bed and a loft, with a bed. No sheets on one bed, good thing we brought a sleeping bag. Kitchen was very small and had one small pan to cook with, so we ended up eating out. Water had a brown tint to it and there were spiders everywhere. We ended up leaving early. The RV park and amenities were nice, cabins on the other hand were over priced and falsely advertised.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fordiegirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ILoveDRC, Owner at Dolores River Campground and Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2015

Dear Fordiegirlie,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
My husband and I bought the campground in May of 2013. One of the first things we did that first summer was give all of our cabins a deep clean, provide new linens, sort out and better equip the kitchens. Over the past two years, we have had the opportunity to remodel all of our cabins; adding nicer kitchens, tiled floors, new beds, new furniture, new décor and fresh paint. I agree that they should be properly represented, and I always make sure to give guests an accurate idea of the cabin set up when making a reservation.
If you're ever in the area again, I would welcome you to come see the changes we have made since we bought the campground.
thanks!
Lainey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

When we reserved the cabin unit on the phone for 2 days we were told of a very nice updated cabin that could sleep 6 persons with a full kitchen, utensils, full linens, and a second bedroom loft upstairs stairs. What we found upon arriving was a wobbly ladder to the open loft area, which you could not stand up in. There were no covers on most of the plug outlets, making it very dangerous for children. The unit could sleep 5 persons, with a fold-up cot. The unit had no regular oven to bake our dinner we brought, only a small microwave. The only skillet was a non-stick variety with most of the surface peeled and scratched off and unusable and cutlery for 3 persons. One of the beds had no top sheet and the other had no pillowcases and a nasty very aged unclean bedspread, which became our top sheet that night. We choose to sleep without the pillows. As we didn’t find this out until after the office was closed, we had to sleep with these accommodations. The unit was infested with Black Widow spiders, we killed 4, this was scary with a 5 month old baby will us. We found more in our luggage when we returned home! The water had a tan tint to it and with the baby we needed to safely clean the baby bottles and make formula. We were told that they were not on the city water line and that they had there own water supply. At eight the next morning we went to the office and reviewed the problems with the manager, explaining we didn’t feel comfortable or safe there, especially with the baby and told them we would be out of the unit in 10 minutes. We were told there were no refunds for any reason and we would have to pay for the next night that we had reserved. We attempted and asked again but were assured that our credit card would be billed for the next night even though we were leaving. We do not feel that we should have to pay for the day after we left, especially due to the misrepresentation of the property. Their website and promotional post cards shows an aerial view of the property, which after we looked closer appeared to be 30 years old judging by the vehicles in the picture. It was evident that the cabins needed repairs and maintenance.

Room Tip: Do not stay in these cabins, Go down the street to the Dolores Mountain Inn, very clean ,super great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moparmesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

We stayed one night (Jul 14, 2011). We had a reservation for a late arrival and did not need to check in until the following morning. The park was clean, well laid out and the amenities were all easily available (and as stated on their web site - http://www.doloresriverrvparkandcabins.com/).

We'd stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sdpryde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Van te voren bellen in het voorseizoen (juni) kan geen kwaad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jehupidowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: River-Cabin
See more room tips
Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank RinaHamburgHh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2010
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dieschramms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dolores hotels
28.6 mi away
Dunton Hot Springs
Dunton Hot Springs
#1 of 2 in Dolores
270 reviews
18.6 mi away
Circle K Guest Ranch
Circle K Guest Ranch
#2 of 2 in Dolores
135 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sophia Retreat & Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Dunton River Camp
Dunton River Camp
#7 of 7 in Dolores
7 reviews
2.7 mi away
Rio Grande Southern Hotel B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolores River Campground and Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolores River Campground and Cabins

Address: 18680 Highway 145, Dolores, CO 81323-9704 (Formerly Dolores River RV Park)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Dolores
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Dolores
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dolores River Campground is a beautiful, tree-filled campground that provides a true Colorado get-away. We are located in Dolores Colorado on the San Juan Skyway with the scenic Dolores River running through the campground. In addition to great fly-fishing on the river, we also have an on-site fishing pond. Your hosts are; Billy, Lainey, Bridger and Heidi Beyhan. We purchased the campground in May 2013 and LOVE our new lifestyle here...we can't wait to share it with you! Our amenities include: Large recreation hall with commercial kitchen, available for private functions with reservations Well equipped Laundry room Clean, spacious bathrooms Dog walk / Nature trail through Bullwinkle Woods River Walk Ice, firewood and propane for sale Gift shop providing locally produced items, jewelry, the necessities and snacks Saturday evening ice cream socials (Memorial Day - Labor Day). 4th of July cookout / potluck party. Labor Day weekend pig roast / potluck / luau party. Our Season: May 1 - October 28 ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing