We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“love this place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Pony Expresso

The Pony Expresso
Ranked #1 of 1 Coffee & Tea in Dolores
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$5
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Pony Expresso is a coffee shop/bakery/gallery. We have free wi-fi, indoor/outdoor seating and a drive-thru. Best coffee and baked goods in 4 Corners!
Dolores
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“love this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

The Pony Express is a great little coffee shop! The drive-through makes it really convenient. Dolores has needed a place like this for years - thank you! The owners are friendly, food/drinks are delicious and the prices are reasonable.
xoxo...

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ILoveDRC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    14
    8
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edgewood, New Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Diabetic Friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

Being a diabetic it is hard to find good tasting fancy coffee, but I struck gold at this charming little restaurant. The Pony Expresso caters to people with dietary restrictions, they have sugarfree, gluten free, dairy free and those were just the items I could see in the front counter. The carmel macchiato (sugar free) was amazing, so amazing that my husband and I stopped back by on our way home from Telluride. Starbucks you have nothing on The Pony Espresso, I just wish they were a little closer I would be a regular.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Piemuttie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Frozen Veggies make me sad :(”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

I had a gluten-free and dairy-free breakfast burrito. It would have been MUCH better if they had chosen to use some fresh peppers and onions instead of the mushy frozen ones :(

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ErrinInDgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flagstaff, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“quick and friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

I like good coffee and I love supporting small local businesses when I travel....that can end up being unpredictable and not so great in some cases....this in NOT one of those cases.

Great coffee served with a smile.

If you are traveling through Dolores on the way to Telluride or whereever....check them out....they even have a drive through which I love when I am on the road!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank laurafallon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing Food and Drinks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

A small incredibly clean and comfortable atmosphere, very friendly and knowledgeable about the area. We had the lunch special the shredded BBQ chicken sandwich that I still can't get out of my mind. I had a drink called the Colorado Ranger, the barista told me it has espresso, milk, ice, two kinds of chocolate, vanilla ice cream, chocolate chips blended, topped with whipped cream and mini chocolate chips and I have to say that was one of the best drinks I have ever had. A great friendly couple run the place and make you feel right at home. It was a pleasant surprise and a great find in the small town of Dolores, Colorado. I would highly recommend stopping at this coffee shop café it is hands down the best food and drink in the 4 corners.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mustang41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Pony Expresso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing