We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent holiday resort”
Review of Stoney River Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Stoney River Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Drake
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent holiday resort”
Reviewed 13 July 2013

My husband & I are visiting my sister in Colorado Springs & booked for a week stay in 2 eagles resort. We were treated to the most wonderful stay . The new owner Linda & Collin made our stay there memorable. They are very attentive to our needs. They always stop to say hello & asked if there is something we need. The place is peaceful, pet friendly and have a homely atmosphere. We are from Queensland ,Australia & we would definitely recommend this place to our friends & family back home.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
croc1113, Owner at Stoney River Lodge, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Hi Linda and Fred and Susan and Curtis. Thank you for the kind review. We certainly enjoyed having you guys stay with us. Fred...the fox was looking for you...I think he is sad that you are gone. Sure hope you guys enjoyed the rest of your holiday here in the states...and Colin says to tell you...GO BLUES!....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    17
    2
    2
    3
See reviews for
32
14
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Platte, Nebraska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2013

My family has a blast every time we go to the mountains. This time we chose 2 Eagles, and by far was a great choice. The big apartment was spacious enough, I love that the kitchen had everything I needed. My children had a great time playing with the other kids, they still are asking me when we are heading back! . The owners we really helpful. I love the little moments during the afternoon when everybody came around the fire to burn smore's .

Room Tip: No Pool/ No fitness center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Rosa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
croc1113, Owner at Stoney River Lodge, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
ROSA, thank you. We certainly enjoyed it too. Cole misses Niko so much. Please tell him that Cole thinks he's the greatest. I'm glad you got to feeling better and got to enjoy some time here. We wish you all the best.
Colin Linda and Cole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richardson, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 29 June 2013

We had a wonderful and unforgettable stay. We were in the Birdroom and could hear the river flowing during the night. Collin (owner) had a wealth of knowledge of local history and we enjoyed cheerful Linda and watching their son make friends with the "campers" children. I'll recommend this to all my friends and we will absolutely be back one day. Beautiful.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
croc1113, Owner at Stoney River Lodge, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
I'm sorry I didn't respond to this sooner. Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to write such a positive review. We sure are glad your family enjoyed their stay and we hope to see you all again. Even that ole doggy of yours who kept ignoring me. He's great.
Take care and thanks again.
Colin Linda and Cole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Creston, Iowa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2013

This resort was very nice for the price and value. It is only about 15 minutes from Estes and the drive is a scenic road winding along the river. My husband and I stayed here on our honeymoon and had a great time.
The owners were wonderful hosts, very friendly and helpful. We wanted to go horseback riding while in Colorado and Linda was more than happy to call and schedule our ride for us. Anything we needed or wanted they were ready to help us find whatever it was.
The rooms are also very nice. It is right on the highway, but that is unavoidable if you want something close to Estes. There are several trails right behind the resort which are easily accessible with some nice length to them. We will definitely come here again when we visit Estes in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
croc1113, Owner at Stoney River Lodge, responded to this review, 16 June 2013
Thank you for the kind sentiments Josh and Hannah. We really enjoyed having you. We hope to see you both on your fifth anniversary....with maybe a little one (or 2) tagging along. Best wishes.
Colin Linda and Cole....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2012

My mom, 2 kiddos, and I wanted to take a nice relaxing trip with our 2 dogs. They do allow dogs here, but never mention that you cannot leave them in the room. We tried going into Estes for a day of fun, and never got a call until we travelled 40 minutes into Estes that we must come get our dogs. Then she mentions they have a doggy daycare in Estes for $15 a day/dog. Why was this not posted in our room? So, the problem is that you have NO CELL SERVICE here, and she cannot call you until you reach town. This place is in the canyon, and quite removed from Estes. Not a quick trip into town as they mention. It's pretty mountainous and you must wind and travel slow.

The rooms are incredibly dirty and old. The room we stayed in didn't even have adequate bedding for the futon. There is no tv, only videos they offer in their office. Customer service is awful, and you feel they're always watching you as they live right on the property in close quarters. This woman talks about other customers as if she is pissed at everyone, and it's not right to disclose previous customer's issues, etc. They always come talk and butter up to you as you leave, but otherwise, not at all.

Also, they say riverside. You cannot get to the river and enjoy it.

There are so many other nicer places closer to town. Don't save money on staying here. I will never stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Orchidflower_29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
croc1113, Owner at Stoney River Lodge, responded to this review, 22 October 2012
I remember this family well and the room wasn't dirty when they got here but it was within about 10 minutes of their arrival. Two adults two toddlers and two dogs in a 2 person room.

About the dogs...As the website states, "well behaved dogs may be left unattended".
Her dog was on the kitchen table barking non stop out the window. Some of the guests complained and when I asked where the ladies were they told me they had just left.
I went in to see why the dog wasn't in its crate (maybe he had escaped) but NO. Both dogs were left out and the one had gotten on the table where their unfinished eggs had been left.
Yes I called and had them come back and get their dogs. Why should the other guests have to listen to that all day? They shouldn't and they don't.
A flyer on the Doggy Day Care was in the Welcome Packet.

The distance to ESTES PARK... If it took them 40 minutes to get to Estes Park they must have crashed. We are 13 miles from Estes Park (as the website states)...it takes me 20 minutes to take my son to school there each morning.

As for the river it runs through our property and we have cleared the entire bank...many people sit along the lawn and enjoy it...teens tend to play in it...and a lot of guests fish in it.
(No its not safe for toddlers)

And as for living on site..duh...every property has a site manager 24/7 ...

The only accurate statement in this review is that we are not a resort...but then you can see that by our prices...the name came with it when we bought it and we do plan to change it in 2014.

We can't please everyone.. my feeling about leaving dogs is this...Don't bring them if you don't plan to take them everywhere with you..hire a sitter or drop 'em at the day care for a lousy $15.00 so they can enjoy their day too....and not be left alone in some strange place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evans, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 15 October 2012

My husband and I stayed in the Little Moose Room #8 for two nights in August 2012. It was great to be able to take our Miniature Schnauzer, Bozlee, with us. Nice and relaxing, did some hiking and just sitting by the river. Hope to be able to stay there again.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Colorado, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

My family of 4 stayed plus our dog stayed here in Aug. 2012. I am so happy to have found this wonderful place. It is clean, quiet, friendly, and perfectly located. We rafted in Ft. Collins, shopped and rode horses in Estes, went to a lovely park in Loveland, and spent every evening playing badmitton, bocce (which we brought) having s'mores down by the river, and visiting with our neighbors and hostess. Our dog made friends with the other dogs and ran around playing as well. The kids were free to get board games and movies from the office whenever they wanted. It felt like a small community there. We stayed in the caboose. The view of the canyon wall as we got up each morning was gorgeous. Can't wait to go back.

The Tracy's

Room Tip: The Caboose is quite roomy. Lots of sleep options and lots of closet space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sharitracy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
croc1113, Owner at Stoney River Lodge, responded to this review, 22 October 2012
I appreciate this review. I remember this family fondly...the quiet teen and the outgoing younger sister. I remember the doggy too...short lil legs had no problem keeping up with my doberman. We had great fun with these guys...lots of s'mores and lots more movies...when they were here...they really kept on the go...we enjoyed having them and look forward to seeing them again.
Colin Linda and Cole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drake
10.6 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
10.7 mi away
Quality Inn Estes Park
Quality Inn Estes Park
#8 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
13.6 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
10.8 mi away
Coyote Mountain Lodge
Coyote Mountain Lodge
#17 of 29 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
11.4 mi away
Discovery Lodge
Discovery Lodge
#10 of 29 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stoney River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoney River Lodge

Property: Stoney River Lodge
Address: 80 Idlewild Ln, Drake, CO 80537-9484 (Formerly 2 Eagles Resort)
Region: United States > Colorado > Drake
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Drake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Stoney River Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the river and in the woods...just the way we like it. 2 Eagles Resort is located just 15 miles from Rocky Mountain National Park and is a great alternative to "in town" lodging. We offer a variety of affordable accommodations ranging from kitchenettes, to suites with full kitchens, to completely self contained cottages. The atmosphere is "family" and the attitude is left behind. Hike our secluded trails, fish outside your door, play horseshoes and volleyball. Or you could just kick back and enjoy the serenity. Smoking outdoors okay. Dog friendly units available. FREE WI-FI and Sat TV Some units with fireplaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HRS and Hotel.de so you can book your Stoney River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
2 Eagles Hotel Loveland
Stoney River Lodge Drake, Colorado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing