We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tamarron: a Genuine Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Lodge at Tamarron
Reviewed 23 July 2012

It was so nice to finally arrive at the Tamarron. The location is just what we asked for, about 20 mins out of town. We came up for true outdoor experiences and couldn't have landed at a better hub. Service was genuine and prompt. The place was clean and neat. Loved the smell of those afternoon showers coming from Texas!
And to top it off, we have never had such good chicken from the Cuckoos restaurant. Only good things to say.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (98)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2012

Enjoyed my stay in Unit 318 in Tamarron. Clean and comfortable. There is a restaurant on site now called Cuckoos. I loved the location. Just 20 minutes from Durango and 40 minutes from Silverton. Close to a lot of things I enjoy. Horseback riding, hiking, fishing. The pool and fitness center was great. I enjoyed the spa services. I will be back!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank love2ridehorses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Room was average for cleanliness and space, but upon checkout, (not mentioned anywhere before), we were charged an extra $50 "cleaning fee". We had opted for no cleaning or towel service after our first night and stayed 2 nights. We made no unusual mess - we aren't at all untidy - and besides the cleaning staff had not been in our room until after checkout. Counter person indicated that this was a normal charge for this lodge as they employ a 3rd party cleaning crew. I was totally taken by surprise by this deceptive charge! In addition, the food choice in the Cukoos grill and lounge was very limited and the larger hot tub was out of order. Never again!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Brad R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We arrived in Durango after a long day of traveling from Baltimore, MD around 7 pm, after getting adjusted and settled in our room. We decided that we didn't want to drive back into town so headed down stairs to the restaurant inside the hotel to eat, that is scheduled to be open daily until 10pm it was around 830 and they were closed already. This happened on 2 other occasions when we tried to go down to the restaurant them being closed before they were supposed to and the other time we caught them right as they were closing early and they wouldn't take our service. So i refused to eat at cuckoos for the remainder of my trip. The people at the front desk were great very accomodating and cordial, they made a point to meet all of our needs and make sure that we were taken care of. We did have a problem with the fitness staff, we found them to be rude and not to customer friendly. The pool was down most of the week and they had no clue when it was going to be fixed. All in all with the restaurant and the fitness staff being rude and having horrible customer service I would not recommend staying here. The only perks were they are 8 mi from the mountain and they have a shuttle to and from the mtn.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lance C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

Stay in room 218. Spacious. Two cable tvs one for the kiddos and one for us. A great place at a great price.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank seanskismom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

We arrived in Durango from Dallas, Texas sometime after 3 am and we were delighted to have someone greet us at the front desk. He was very nice and surprisingly alert and talkative considering the early hour. We were happy to see that our room was EXACTLY like the picture we viewed online, and the view out the window was even better. The Pool and spa were top notch and the staff was very friendly. I would really love to come out here in the Summer and play the golf course and fly fish the Animas and Lake Haviland. Overall, we had a wonderful time here at Tamarron and we were very happy with the experience. See ya in the summer!

Room Tip: Choose rooms facing the cliffs to the east, great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DallasJonnyL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We decided to try something different this year for the holidays. The Tamarron Resort was recommended to us by some friends. We had a great time! The Resort was clean, the staff was very friendly, and the price was excellent. The kids loved the pool, my husband and I enjoyed the hot tub and sauna. This area is so beautiful that we are planning to make another trip here in the summer.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ruey3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durango hotels
7.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
21.1 mi away
Purgatory Lodge at Purgatory Resort
6.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 mi away
Purgatory Village Condo Hotel
6.8 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango
6 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#8 of 34 in Durango
1,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Tamarron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Tamarron

Address: 8 miles south of Durango Mountain Resort, Durango, CO 81301
Region: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Durango
Price Range: £88 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lodge at Tamarron 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Tamarron Vacation Rentals, located in beautiful Durango, Colorado. Tamarron lodging is the best of both worlds ~ just 20 minutes north of downtown Durango and 10 minutes south of the ski resort. Come relax in the mountains while being clsoe to everything Durango has to offer. Our main lodge has an indoor & outdoor heated pool open year-round, two hot tubs, sauna, fitness room, restaurant and bar. Durango lodging accommodations include everything from studio units with kitchenettes to studio lofts that sleep 6. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Lodge at Tamarron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Tamarron Hotel Durango

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing