We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great six day lodge rental”
Review of Silverpick Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Silverpick Lodge
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We rented the lodge for my daughter's wedding from December 26 to January 1, 2014. The owner Chris Wing was wonderful with our group. We did not fill all of the rooms on most of the nights, but we still had a great time at a reasonable price.
The good points: A fully equipped kitchen and dining room downstairs
Three Hot Tubs out on the deck overlooking the mountains
Two saunas
Lounge with large flat screen TV
Laundry
Game room with pool tables
Shuttle service to Durango Mountain Resort
13 bedrooms that can sleep up to 48 people
some minor shortfalls that in no way bothered us, but worth mentioning:
Did not find shampoo in the showers
venetian blinds on windows let in some light from the outside flood lights
On long term rentals maid service cleaning is extra
Checkin is at 4 PM, checkout is at 10 A.M. but flexable

Room Tip: Twilight and Redmountain have fireplaces and good views.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank captainmcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
There are newer reviews for Silverpick Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2013

We were stuck in the snow and needed a place so popped in to the silver pick. Chris, the owner, was very friendly and gave us a great price and the best room. The kitchen has everything you need, including bagels and good coffee, and a really good vinyl record collection! Have a spa bath under the stars or even in the snow, it's magical. Bed sheets and towels are lovely and the bed is comfy and warm, with a great view through the window.
Plan on coming back for a longer stay for sure!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Ellie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Our daughter was married in a meadow near the lodge in July. We rented the entire lodge for the entire weekend(Thurs., Fri., and Sat. nights). Many of the condos were also rented by guests. The rehersal dinner was hosted by the grooms family in a large room downstairs in the lodge with a huge kitchen and all the appliances we needed. There is also a wonderful game room downstairs which kept the many youngster happy in the evenings. The reception was up stairs at the Sows Ear with wonderful food. We had 176 people attend the wedding and 150 for dinner. The children had a pizza party downstairs. It was so fun having everyone together for the three nights with no worries about driving or being too loud. We also had a room for breakfast. The lodge provides bagels and coffee, but we also brought more food. It is like your own home. No one waits on you. We were responsible for leaving the lodge as clean as it was when we arrived. The management was available, but pretty much stayed out of site. I would highly recommend this lodge for weddings or family reunions!

Room Tip: All 13 room were very nice.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Parclod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

My husband and I and another couple rented a two-bedroom condo while vacationing in the area. When we first arrived for check in and I was asked about settling the account with the same credit card, I asked about the AARP discount which is listed under Specials. Following is the exact wording on the website: AARP, AAA or ACTIVE MILITARY: Show your membership card or ID at check in for 10% cash back on your reservation. I was told by Chris that it was a good enough rate without that. I felt I was being told "end of discussion."

The kitchen and bathroom were well supplied and clean enough but the carpet was filthy and the dust on the headboard and window sills was disgusting. I even had to kill a couple of spiders. Most of the light bulbs in one of the bathrooms were burnt out as were other light bulbs throughout the unit. The condo description listed Free Trash Removal and Free Towel Service. In both instances, after about three days we removed our own trash and went to the lodge to find towels. The baseboard heaters in the main living area were not working. We were told by a couple that came to change out the light bulbs that the maintenance guy would have to check it the next day. That didn't happen so we asked Chris about it. He said to check the breaker box which we did, but it made no difference and we were leaving the next day so there was no point in pursuing the heater situation any further.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RockyMtFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

My husband and I had our wedding and rehearsal dinner at Silverpick Lodge in August 2012. We rented the lodge and many guests rented the condos for the occasion. We were EXTREMELY please with the service and accommodations provided to us from Chris and his staff! The property is stunning and the rooms and common areas are very clean and inviting. It is home away from home. We could not have asked for a more perfect setting for our wedding. Chris was easy to work with in all regards to renting the lodge and to planning our ceremony and rehearsal dinner. We hosted dinner and dancing at the Sow's Ear after the ceremony. The food was AMAZING! The service from George and his staff was outstanding! We highly recommend the Silverpick Lodge and the Sow's Ear for any get away/vacation. It is truly a place to relax and rejuvenate! Thank you Chris and George!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BridgetHHG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

We stayed at the Silverpick Lodge in late September while visiting relatives in the area. We rented a two bedroom condo for a week and we extremely happy with the condo and lodge. The condo was very clean and well laid out for my husband and I and two kids, age 4 and 7. The kitchen had everything you could possibly need and the beds were comfortable.

The grounds and view were amazing and the location couldn't be better for Durango Mountain Resort and as a jumping off point for exploring the mountains, Silverton and Ouray. The town of Durango was a bit of a drive away, but the scenery was beautiful. My kids enjoyed the playground and the game room at the lodge.

The staff was super helpful and even gave us better than Mapquest directions on how to best get back to Denver for our flight. We'll be sure to stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amh1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

We spent the last part of our honeymoon here on the off-season and this place made it that much more difficult to leave. We booked a condo very spontaneously (one day before) and ended up staying for nearly a week, hiking the nearby trails and visiting downtown Durango. We caught the last of the spectacular autumn colors and were nearly alone at the resort in late September. The apartments are nicely furnished, very convenient, modern, and spacious. The washer/dryer were a lifesaver after 3 weeks of traveling, and the fireplace made evenings very cozy. The restaurant in the lodge was very good if a bit expensive, and the owner of the place was very helpful and friendly (don't be fooled by the gruff appearance). The location was unbeatable for our purposes - hiking, wanting seclusion - and is just a 25-minute drive from Durango if you want to go out for dinner or go shopping. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flyingcello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durango hotels
1.2 mi away
Purgatory Village Condo Hotel
21.6 mi away
Adventure Inn Durango
Adventure Inn Durango
#2 of 33 in Durango
259 reviews
20.2 mi away
Iron Horse Inn
Iron Horse Inn
#13 of 33 in Durango
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.1 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#11 of 33 in Durango
479 reviews
24.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
1.1 mi away
Purgatory Lodge at Purgatory Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silverpick Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silverpick Lodge

Address: 48475 Highway 550, Durango, CO 81301-8767
Region: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Durango
Price Range: £157 - £324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silverpick Lodge offers prime mountain accommodations for destination weddings, family reunions, church groups, ski groups, marriage encounters, quilting bees, graduation parties, etc, etc, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Silverpick Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silverpick Hotel Durango

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing