We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Family Reunion” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Silverpick Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Silverpick Lodge
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Family Reunion”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Had 66 members of our family in for a reunion in July. The Silverpick did a great job accommodating our large group and everyone had a fantastic time in the mountains. The lodge provided an exceptional place to host a large family gathering.

The lodge features 13 rooms, and the grounds have a large number of condos available for rent as well.

In the common areas of the lodge, there is a HUGE dining area where we had meals catered by the onsite restaurant and easily accommodated almost 70 people. There was a large game room with pool, ping pong, shuffleboard, and foosball tables for the kids. The game room, dining room, TV room, and the main floor reception areas allowed family to gather and chat in relaxed settings.

The lodge is just an hour down the mountain from Purgatory with a hiking trail that takes you to DMR. You're also just a short drive from Haviland Lake, over the Million Dollar Highway to Silverton, or down to Durango.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    7
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
26
10
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

First, let me say that if you are looking for the Four Seasons, this place is NOT for you. What it is, is a lovely little 13-room lodge (and condos) in one of the most gorgeous areas of the world. We had our wedding here and rented out the whole lodge and many of our friends and family members stayed in the adjacent condos.
PROS: It is very convenient to Durango Mountain Resort so some of our friends stayed there to use their amenities (their kids wanted to use the pool!). There are tons of activities in the area that the guests enjoyed (rafting, road biking, mountain biking, sightseeing in Silverton, etc.) so no one was ever bored. There is a large kitchen and common area in the lower floors that opens up onto a nice little patio so we hosted the rehearsal dinner and breakfasts in the big kitchen. After dinner, we made a fire in the fire pit and enjoyed stargazing by the fire. There is a big TV and game room and the kids at the wedding were very entertained. The wedding dinner itself was held in the Sow's Ear restaurant which was SPECTACULAR. The wedding took place in a gorgeous little meadow that you could either hike to or have someone shuttling guests up to. We enjoyed this place so much mainly because nearly all our guests were staying with us in the lodge and condos and we got to spend a lot more time with them than we felt we could have done in other wedding locales. Chris, the owner, was easy to reach when we needed stuff. Our friends and family told us that it was the BEST wedding they had ever been to.

CONS: We have a LOT of dust in Colorado so this place is dusty and we did some cleaning when we first got there. I could see that if you are a neat freak or expect a fancy hotel, then you would be disappointed. Renting the lodge out is more like borrowing a fairly clean home from a friend for a few days. While there was mostly everything we needed in the kitchen, we had to make a couple trips to the store to buy different items. The lodge itself is about 20 minutes from a grocery store and about 30 minutes from Durango, which we were prepared for since we live in this area. But, if you aren't from here, you will want to bring your own food for breakfast and lunch or plan to do a bunch of driving because the restaurant in the lodge is a fancy dinner place. While the service was good, it's not abundant so if you want someone available 24 hours a day at your beck and call, this is not the place for you.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Star S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oro Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
225 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

free shuttle to skiing, great. very quiet. clean, stayed in 301 a townhouse. what a wonderful unit. log furniture, great beds. full kitchen. we really loved it in 301. will stay there again this summer we liked it so much.

Room Tip: hot tub is a way, need shoes robe. soaking tub in master
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brian f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

We just returned from a week's family vacation at a condo we rented at the Silverpick. There were lots of positives and a couple negatives.

First, the positives:

It's a great location -- about 30 minutes from Durango, and only 5 minutes from Purgatory. The setting is spectacular. The condo was comfortable and was a great place to hang out with family. We had dinner one night at Sow's Ear (the restaurant in the lodge), and it was excellent - I highly recommend it.

And the negatives:

Two irksome things. First, the coffee maker in the condo we rented did not work. Especially considering that this was not an inexpensive place to stay, why isn't someone checking to confirm that things like this work? Second, there was no wifi in the condo we rented. The listing on the Silverpick website said that this unit has wifi. When I asked about it at the front desk, I was assured that EVERY unit has wifi. But trust me, this unit did not. It's not the end of the world to spend a week on vacation without internet access, but again this place was not cheap. If it is important to you to have wifi access, you cannot believe what you are told either on the website or by management. Be forewarned.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank david_lauth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
164 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

We rented the lodge for my daughter's wedding from December 26 to January 1, 2014. The owner Chris Wing was wonderful with our group. We did not fill all of the rooms on most of the nights, but we still had a great time at a reasonable price.
The good points: A fully equipped kitchen and dining room downstairs
Three Hot Tubs out on the deck overlooking the mountains
Two saunas
Lounge with large flat screen TV
Laundry
Game room with pool tables
Shuttle service to Durango Mountain Resort
13 bedrooms that can sleep up to 48 people
some minor shortfalls that in no way bothered us, but worth mentioning:
Did not find shampoo in the showers
venetian blinds on windows let in some light from the outside flood lights
On long term rentals maid service cleaning is extra
Checkin is at 4 PM, checkout is at 10 A.M. but flexable

Room Tip: Twilight and Redmountain have fireplaces and good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank captainmcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Fremantle, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

We were stuck in the snow and needed a place so popped in to the silver pick. Chris, the owner, was very friendly and gave us a great price and the best room. The kitchen has everything you need, including bagels and good coffee, and a really good vinyl record collection! Have a spa bath under the stars or even in the snow, it's magical. Bed sheets and towels are lovely and the bed is comfy and warm, with a great view through the window.
Plan on coming back for a longer stay for sure!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ellie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

Our daughter was married in a meadow near the lodge in July. We rented the entire lodge for the entire weekend(Thurs., Fri., and Sat. nights). Many of the condos were also rented by guests. The rehersal dinner was hosted by the grooms family in a large room downstairs in the lodge with a huge kitchen and all the appliances we needed. There is also a wonderful game room downstairs which kept the many youngster happy in the evenings. The reception was up stairs at the Sows Ear with wonderful food. We had 176 people attend the wedding and 150 for dinner. The children had a pizza party downstairs. It was so fun having everyone together for the three nights with no worries about driving or being too loud. We also had a room for breakfast. The lodge provides bagels and coffee, but we also brought more food. It is like your own home. No one waits on you. We were responsible for leaving the lodge as clean as it was when we arrived. The management was available, but pretty much stayed out of site. I would highly recommend this lodge for weddings or family reunions!

Room Tip: All 13 room were very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Parclod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durango hotels
1.2 mi away
Purgatory Village Condo Hotel
24.1 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#3 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
26.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.0 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#7 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
24.0 mi away
Rochester Hotel & Bar
Rochester Hotel & Bar
#8 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
24.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silverpick Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silverpick Lodge

Property: Silverpick Lodge
Address: 48475 Highway 550, Durango, CO 81301-8767
Region: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silverpick Lodge offers prime mountain accommodations for destination weddings, family reunions, church groups, ski groups, marriage encounters, quilting bees, graduation parties, etc, etc, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Silverpick Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silverpick Hotel Durango

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing