We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Afternoon w/a Terrific Guide”

4 Corners Whitewater
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Join 4 Corners Whitewater for river rafting trips in Durango and Telluride, Colorado. We offer raft trips down the Lower Animas and San Miguel Rivers which are suitable for the entire family. For you adrenaline seekers out there, join us for an adventure of a life time on our action packed Upper Animas river trip.
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We enjoyed a half day trip on the Animas during our recent trip to Durango. The 9 & 11 year old kids were a bit nervous about rafting, but they had a ball. Ryan was an excellent guide - the perfect combination of knowledgeable, professional, personable, and fun!

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Jenny Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt W, Owner at 4 Corners Whitewater, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

We are thrilled you had such a positive experience rafting with us. We love taking kids on the river and showing them how fun whitewater rafting can be. Big shout out to Ryan!

Thank you for choosing 4 Corners Whitewater and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (170)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

144 - 148 of 170 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

Our trip was on the San Miguel. The river was at flood stage and was running fast which made for some great rapids. It was 12 miles of fun! We had a great guide.

Thank Brownbab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt W, Owner at 4 Corners Whitewater, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

The San Miguel River is a BLAST at high water! We are glad you had such a positive experience rafting with us and we thank you for choosing 4 Corners Whitewater.

W hope to see you in Durango or Telluride again for some more whitewater fun!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Did the Upper Animas with 4 Corners, and for those interested in some of the best and most difficult whitewater commercially run, this is it! I am experienced as a private boater and have guided professionally as well, and I was very impressed with this operation. The guides were personal and friendly, yet handled the very continuous and difficult whitewater with skill and professionalism that you will not see with every outfitter. If you want to experience one of the top two or three raft trips in the country, then 4 Corners is the outfitter to go with on the Upper Animas.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt W, Owner at 4 Corners Whitewater, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

We are thrilled you had such a positive experience running the Upper Animas with us. Since we run some of the most difficult waters in the nation, we believe it is essential to have well-trained, well experienced guides who can handle any whitewater situation. Each of our guides completes a swift water rescue course, which prepares them for any emergency situation on the river. We promise you are in good hands when you choose 4 Corners Whitewater.

Thank you for rafting with us and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Rafting the Lower Animas with 4 Corners Whitewater was the highlight of our 1 week stay in the Durango area. After some basic safety instructions they drove us to the put in spot. My family of four, 2 teens and wife, rented splash guards to help keep our shirts dry, instead of trying to brave the 40 degree water temp. We chose the 1/2 day trip and about mid point, you pull over to a beach for drinks and a cheese & cracker snack. This gives you a chance to stretch and warm up before hitting the water for the remaining trip. At the end of the trip you have an option to buy a disc of the pictures they took from the shore of your raft going through the main rapids. Our guide Liz was fantastic, and I believe the staff at 4 Corners is what separates them from the many other companies you'll find.

Thank Marc H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt W, Owner at 4 Corners Whitewater, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

We strive to have friendly, well-trained guides who can provide a superb experience to all of our customers. We are thrilled you had such a positive experience on our Lower Animas Half day trip and we hope you come rafting with us again!

Thank you for choosing 4 Corners Whitewater!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I have lived in Durango for 8 years and finally decided to go rafting. It was a blast!! There were 5 of us girls with JD as our guide...he was awesome. It was a great mix of floating and hitting the rapids...was a bit chilly but I know the Animas River runs cold all the time. JD explained all to us and gave us the option of hitting the rapids hard or taking a bit of a "leisurely" ride thru the rapids. I felt totally safe with JD and the instructions from Ryan before we began. I will be back!!

Thank Amy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt W, Owner at 4 Corners Whitewater, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

We are so glad you chose 4 Corners Whitewater to take you on the Animas River for your first time. The Lower Animas provides a great time for beginners, families, or even the most experienced whitewater enthusiast.

Thank you for choosing 4 Corners Whitewater and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to 4 Corners Whitewater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing