We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Durango's Best Breakfast Expereince ..... Lunch would be as good!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oscar's Cafe

Oscar's Cafe
Ranked #10 of 190 Restaurants in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$9
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sherman Oaks, & Aust
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Durango's Best Breakfast Expereince ..... Lunch would be as good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

Have spent the last week here in Durango. We were given really good recommendations by our hotel and the Visitor Information Centre for breakfast, lunch and dinner - on morning 3, we discovered Oscar's and have only done breakfast here since. Four mornings of magnificent tasting, generously portioned breakfasts, and extraordinary service from all the staff; not only are they friendly, but they actually listen to your order, and make sure you get what you ask for; and very inexpensive.
Being from 'downunder' we like our toast brown and eggs poached just past medium toward firm and not near raw and running all over the plate. The 'sampler' (sausage-based) was superbly tasty - not noticeably fatty.
This is the first time we've enjoyed this true 'service excellence' from all staff at one restaurant. Long may Oscar's prosper.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Phillip E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    271
    113
    33
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Cute place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

A step back in time when diners were everywhere. In a strip mall near City Market and Rite-Aid, so not as convenient for Main St. Tourists . This is more for locals, and similar to The Durango Diner on Main St.
Excellent sandwiches and soups. It's a "people watching" Mecca, for sure. If you want to see real Durango folks from all walks of life, great cowboy hats, real cowboy boots...this is the place. Don't forget the mile-high pies, for which they are famous.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 123456735805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
396 reviews
220 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

We took the train and our attendant raved about breakfast at Oscars. We walked easily from the Strater Hotel. It was worth the walk. They are easily outgrowing the facility as people were lined up waiting. The food was delicious and fresh. There was an enormous amount of it. We walked back a little slower...

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JeriLG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Mill, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Oscar's for Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

Oscar's Cafe is dressed as a typical American Diner. I had breakfast there recently and it was very good. French toast is their signature breakfast entree. The coffee was hot and the service was wonderful. I will certainly eat there the next time I am in town.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ralph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
121 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Small, crowded and wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

My wife went there for lunch while vacationing in town. A couple from our RV campground had breakfast there and couldn't stop talking about it. Wedged in a busy strip mall, it nonetheless captures the chrome ambiance of a '50s roadside cafe, complete with really fast, efficient, and friendly servers. It's entertaining to watch the ladies whirl around and tend to everyone. We got the Uncle Reuben and the Bandito Burger. The menu is extensive, everything is prepared fresh (so be patient), and the portions huge. Wish we could have made room for pie. We will definitely go back when in town.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Karl V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oscar's Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Oscar's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing