We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, clean, friendly, very good independent motel.”
Review of Siesta Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Siesta Motel
Ranked #14 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
essex
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great value, clean, friendly, very good independent motel.”
Reviewed 8 June 2010

we rolled into durango with nowhere to stay and with night falling. we called at the siesta initially because we liked the neon cactus outside, but soon found this was more than just a pretty sign. despite it being late, the lady came from out of the back and was very friendly, welcoming and helpful. The room was great, very clean, enormous bed, lovely crisp fresh linen, red-hot power shower and multi-channel TV. we were intially only going to stay one night, but ended up staying 2, because we liked the motel and the town of durango so much. although it is not in the centre of town, there is a free trolley bus which stops every ten minutes or so half a block down from the motel, 15 minutes to downtown durango, running back until 10pm. after 10pm the motel can help you with a taxi. overall, clean comfortable, friendly helpful. couldnt ask for more. and very very reasonably priced.
8 out of ten.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnnyjlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    121
    43
    16
    10
See reviews for
79
161
28
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
globeseeker007
Level 6 Contributor
1,096 reviews
181 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,144 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2010

This place reminds me of one of the motor courts that one sees in a 1950's movie. It could be in a documentary about Route 66. The rooms are small and there is no bathtub, just a shower. However, I can't remember ever taking a bath in a motel bathtub. Actually, the rooms are clean and well kept and each room has its own ac unit. The office staff was quite pleasant and helpful. It's location isn't bad either and it just takes minutes for one to drive to the central area close to the train station. There is also a trolley that one can catch for free and ride downtown. It stops close by the hotel. All units are at ground level.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank globeseeker007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2010

I first visited Durango 4 years ago and stayed at the Siesta Motel based upon a friend's recommendation. I recently returned to Durango and from my previous experience chose to again stay at the Siesta. I would describe the rooms here as comfortable and basic. From my experience they have always been clean and well functioning. The motel offers a southwest ambiance and is set against a mountain backdrop and offers good views from your door. I have also found the location to be very convenient as you can walk to several stores and its only a short drive to downtown Durango and attractions such as rafting, hiking, fishing and the Durango to Silverton railroad. Being a smaller independent motel the owners are usually close by and eager to speak with visitors offering kindly advice on nearby attractions and eager to make a stay here as pleasant as possible.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CRogers80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parabiago, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2010

We stopped in Durango for 1 night during our trip towards Mesa Verde National Park. What we did not expect to find amid green woods and high mountains was this mexican-styled motel. Rooms are oldie and definitely need to be refreshed but they have a colourful personal touch you will hardly find somewhere else. The atmosphere is very relaxed, with the common grassy area where you can sit down to have a chat with owners and other guests. Although downtown can only be reached by car, on the opposite side of the street there's a big supermarket. Durango itself was a bit of fun with its morning market, its cow-boy pubs and the old train station. On the whole a pleasant find, that I would recommend to anyone looking for a genuine place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldcitizen31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ouray,co
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2010

Glad we found Siesta Motel...we''ll return. Nothing fancy, but comfortable, great bed & clean.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dantat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
1 review
Reviewed 17 January 2010

We stay at the Siesta every year once or twice..It is always clean and comfortable..The beds are the best!!!.No extra charge for refrigerators/microwaves/kitchens in larger rooms

Durango is a very expensive place to vacation and this motel is priced lower and adequate to all others

The owners are a family and very friendly and hardworking as well as the house keeping staff

We felt very safe and will return again and again

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thom5843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2009

We really enjoyed our stay at this cozy, eclectic vintage Motel. Ive stayed in many and usually the neon sign is as good as it gets. The rooms are usually shoddy and most of the other "tenants" are of the long term sort. Not the case at The Siesta. While the furniture is old, none of it is beat up or dumpy. The bed was better than what we sleep on at home and the old school kitchenette almost convinced us to stay another night. If you enjoy chains like Howard Johnsons, this place is not for you. If youre looking for a unique experience in a 1 of a kind setting then this is your place. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I really have no complaints. $52 for the 2 of us, we couldnt have hoped for a better stay. Highly Recommended!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrexlerMcStyles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.1 mi away
Adventure Inn Durango
Adventure Inn Durango
#2 of 33 in Durango
242 reviews
1.7 mi away
Iron Horse Inn
Iron Horse Inn
#13 of 33 in Durango
370 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
#5 of 33 in Durango
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.8 mi away
Purgatory Village Condo Hotel
1.3 mi away
EconoLodge Inn & Suites - Durango
2.4 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#9 of 33 in Durango
1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Siesta Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siesta Motel

Property: Siesta Motel
Address: 3475 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301-4026
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Durango
#8 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#11 Family Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Siesta Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the best kept secret in Durango. American family owned and operated since 1975. Located in beautiful Durango CO. For your next great vacation let us take care of all your needs. Clean and comfortable and affordable. ALL NON SMOKING. The Mom and Pop's are getting harder and harder to find, but we are here for you. Larry and Marlene Haddon ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Siesta Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Siesta Hotel Durango

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing