We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best bed-and-breakfast ever!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Durango
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Country Sunshine Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 12 Durango B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 October 2011

My wife and I have stayed at many bed-and-breakfasts and Country Sunshine, well, outshines them all! Walter and Jodi are perfectly attentive to your every whim. Walter's scrumptious breakfasts and delicious desserts are to die for! The setting of Country Sunshine is spectacular -- through our window we had the buttery sun peeking over the mountains and valley each morning -- and it's just far enough outside Durango to feel remote, but a short drive into town for dining, shopping, and other activities (riding the fabulous Durango to Silverton Railroad). Back at Country Sunshine, there are always fresh-baked chocolate chip cookies (secret ingredient makes them so addicting), fresh-brewed coffee, tea, complimentary soft drinks, beer, and wine, and in the evening a toasty fire, plus a relaxing whirlpool just outside. The value of Country Sunshine doesn't stop here . . . Walter and Jodi gave excellent advice on hiking trails, restaurants, shopping, scenic drives, and other activities. We came as strangers, but left feeling like friends. Don't pass up a wonderful stay at the Country Sunshine Bed and Breakfast!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Russ F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (468)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

290 - 296 of 468 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2011

Walter and Jodi know breakfast is the start of a great day! Walter is donned in his chef's jacket and welcomes you with a great Austrian good morning smile!! His breakfast is complete, satisfying, presentation exceptional and conversation well...like catching up with an old friend. Jodi is always making sure you have everything you need and more. Walter loves to build a fire outside in the evenings...several common areas to relax in. Oh yes, Walter and Jodi cheerfully share their recipes!! You will not be disappointed as you gather in the evening for a lovely dessert created by Walter. Nestle by the fireplace then cozy down in their lovely, well appointed rooms for the night.

Room Tip: If you aren't an early riser don't stay in the Writer's Room,it's underneath the kit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boylan424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2011

I hate to even write a good review about this place because it is so great that I wish I could just keep it a secret all to myself. Walter and Jodi run the best B&B. Period. This place has amenities that all-inclusive resorts with they had thought of. I feel like I got the best three nights sleep of my life there. We stayed in the Golden Oaks room, which I think is just lovely. I would like to live in that room for the rest of my life. In the downstairs common area there is a fridge with every kind of beverage you could ever want. Upstairs there are delicious snacks, nightly gourmet desserts. And, we haven't even gotten to the breakfasts!

If you are lucky enough to visit during the warmer months it is a serious treat to sit on the deck for your morning meal. The grounds are simply beautiful and there are tons of birds singing and eating right along side you.

I cannot express how helpful Walter and Jodi were with everything about our trip. From restaurant recommendations, to hiking trails, to wildlife identification-it is like having two human google searches working for you all of the time!

Simply the best!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NewYorkRogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2011

This was one of our favourite B&Bs ever! Walter and Jodi were fabulous hosts -friendly and caring and interesting. The room was quiet and clean and the surroundings were wonderful. We had a really relaxing spa and enjoyed Walter's great cooking -a lovely dessert in the evening and a great breakfast.Unfortunately, we only stayed one night but would love to return here and spend some more time in the area - it is really charming.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michele M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

Stayed at Country Sunshine Sept 6-11th.
Very restful. Walter and Jodi were excellant hosts. The food was outstanding. Walter is definately and outstanding Chef. Do not go here if you are on a strict diet (too many temptations food wise) kidding. Rooms were clean and well maintained. Grounds well attended by wildlife.
Will definately return next year.

Room Tip: All rooms have individual qualities which make them unique.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tennispete72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2011

The Innkeepers, Jodi and Walter, - what fabulous hosts! - a couple who truly puts their hearts in to their B&B. From the minute you arrive, they make you feel so comfortable. They provide all the special touches, are so friendly and accommodating, and provide great travel and dining suggestions. And, what a picturesque, serene setting their B&B has - including the hugh deck, several lawn seating areas, and let's not forget the fun we had around the fire pit star gazing and getting to know the other guests! Wait until you try the scrumptious, "from scratch!" breakfasts (and what presentations!!) and desserts. We both agreed, it was the "best" service we have ever received at any B&B and Jodi and Walter truly make your stay "a home away from home" experience!

Room Tip: All rooms are very nice. We suggest upper floor. East facing had a mountain foothills view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DLDPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

We found the Country Sunshine b&b on tripadvisor and were lucky enough to stay one night with Jodi and Walter. We have both travelled quite a bit (my husband a lot) and both think this is the best b&b we have ever stayed in, anywhere. Jodi and Walter are natural hosts - they create such an open and friendly ambience that people relax, socialise and enjoy themselves. Best breakfast we ate in all America - just superb. We loved seeing hummingbirds and deer in the garden in the morning. This b&b is just lovely, and if you ever get the chance to stay here grab it with both hands! PS Walter you were right about the Moab b&b by the way! What a let down after Country Sunshine....

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alisoniponi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durango hotels
10.2 mi away
Adventure Inn Durango
Adventure Inn Durango
#1 of 34 in Durango
277 reviews
12.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
12.6 mi away
The Leland House and Rochester Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#11 of 34 in Durango
493 reviews
12.6 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#8 of 34 in Durango
1,089 reviews
14.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Sunshine Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Sunshine Bed and Breakfast

Address: 35130 Highway 550, Durango, CO 81301
Region: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Durango
Price Range: £75 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the awe-inspiring Rocky Mountains lies the home of Country Sunshine Bed and Breakfast just North of Durango, Colorado. Nestled among ponderosa pines and scrub oaks on four wooded acres overlooking the Animas River Valley, this secluded getaway is conveniently located just minutes North of historic downtown. Country Sunshine is close to dozens of attractions and is the closest Bed and Breakfast to Purgatory Ski Area at Durango Mountain Resort. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Country Sunshine b&b
Country Sunshine Hotel Durango

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing