We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay at a gorgeous house!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Durango
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gable House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 12 Durango B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Gable House is a restored Victorian beauty in a quiet neighborhood within easy walking distance of Durango's main street and Fort Lewis College. Its hedged yard has several discreet sitting areas beside gardens, some of which grow the herbs and fruits that make the morning breakfasts so delicious!

My wife and I were here for a vacation weekend right after a Colorado business trip, and were very happy to leave behind hotels to stay in a more personable environment and a place with so much character. As twenty-somethings we love good bed & breakfasts and Gable House immediately became a new favorite. We're looking forward to going back!

Our room was quaintly furnished after the Victorian style, comfortable and roomy, with a private bathroom just down the hall. Some might prefer an adjoining bathroom, which I understand Gable House does also offer, but since the bathroom was reserved for our private use it was no big deal at all to walk a few feet down the hall.

We enjoyed minimal interaction with other guests during our gourmet breakfasts (like homemade huevos rancheros, and pear bread made with pears harvested that morning from Gable House's pear tree!), even finding new friends with another couple our age, but apart from breakfast we were scarcely aware that other people were staying in the house that weekend.

Heather, who owns, restored, and runs Gable House, is warm, welcoming, and perfectly hospitable, and knows her town very well. She was able to recommend to us several activities that only locals would know best, all of which turned out to be excellent. We loved our stay at Gable House, wholeheartedly recommend it, and can't wait to get back =)

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 721JasonS721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2012

This was our first US B&B & a very good experience after 3 weeks of chain hotels, mostly of indifferent quality,
The house is lovely as was our room. Heather, our landlady, couldn't have been welcoming. For reasons not relevant to this review, I was very flustered when we arrived & she calmed me down & sorted me out in a most kindly way.
We had 2 excellent & very different breakfasts, another welcome change from the hotels. Sitting with other guests at the large dining table with Heather at the head felt very civilised!
The house is in a good location, a short but interesting walk from Durango's main street & a brisk 20 minutes to the railway station. It is very pleasant just walking round the quiet tree lined streets to see the elegant houses in this part of the town.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WinstonSophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

The place was beautiful and hostess wonderful. It helped that we had the whole place to ourselves. Food was great; location fantastic - you couldn't get much closer to downtown yet still be in quiet neighborhood.

Room Tip: all the rooms were beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

The beauty of the house is matched by the charm of the welcome. The rooms are beautiful, comfortable and the breakfast is delicious - home baking every morning. It is in an ideal location and within minutes from downtown Durango.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Graeme S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

If you get a chance, give yourself a treat. Book your next Durango trip at the Gable. Situated in a very quaint neighborhood, you can easily walk to historic downtown and RR depot......and a few blocks away from Steamworks Brewery (that is a big plus)! Heather is the perfect hostess and made our 2 night stay seem like we were back home. Drinking our Complimentary bottle of wine on our private balcony was wonderful. Great home made breakfasts and the best part......Heather and I chasing two huge 8 pt. bucks from her flower garden.....what a hoot!
Thanks....we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seeyakids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

The Gable House was well decorated and maintained. Very clean! Heather, the owner, was very hospitable and pleasant. We felt very welcome in her home. Yummy breakfast foods were served with style. We have stayed in a number of B and B's and our only negative was the price....a night time treat, a glass of wine would have been a nice extra. The close location of being able to walk to downtown Durango was great. We saw many deer while running and walking in the area! We would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MomBurd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

A comfortable and elegant home, the Gable house became our 'evening of relaxation' earlier this month during a week long road-trip through the 'old mining commuities' of Colorado.

A tasteful and exquisitely maintained location, Heather (the owner/proprietor) delights in ensuring the accommodations provide all that is needed to ensure a peaceful and memorable evening in the Colorado Rockies. Durango has numerous opportunity for 'getaway' adventures. The Gable House provides not only an excellent location (walking distance to downtown) but also a quiet and well-appointed home that ensures you are well rested and 'up and ready' for the next event. A surprise desert presented while enjoying wine on the balcony with friends was very well received. :-)

Given the opportunity, we'll happily visit again.

Thanks Heather!

Dan T.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dan135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.2 mi away
The Rochester Hotel and Leland House
0.4 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#12 of 34 in Durango
503 reviews
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#8 of 34 in Durango
1,103 reviews
2.3 mi away
Adventure Inn Durango
Adventure Inn Durango
#2 of 34 in Durango
293 reviews
2.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gable House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gable House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 805 E 5th Ave, Durango, CO 81301-5318
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Durango
Price Range: £105 - £262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing