We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close and good views” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Animas Mountain Trail

Ranked #28 of 64 things to do in Durango
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in the San Juan National Forest, this eight-mile trail leads to the top of a mesa where you can get a fabulous view of the area. Separate trails for hikers/horseback riders and mountain bikers are marked with different colors.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Close and good views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

Right off the highway at the north end of town. Maintained well and not crowded. 30 minutes walking to an excellent view of the Animas valley and the entire metro area. 1500 foot climb to the top, with several choices of trails.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank geotraveler4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    12
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Hike - Close to town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2012

Animas Mountain can be a 6 mile trek if you want it to be. You can make it shorter if you want as the trails are marked with maps. Getting to the top of Animas Mountain will give you a great view of the Animas Valley. Once you get to the west side you can see the LaPlata Mountain Range. Takes about 2 hours to do the entire 6 miles. Worth every minute!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utopia, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Animas Mountain Trail”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

I've never been to the Animas Mountain Trail, but I bet it is very nice. If you ever do actually go there please let us know how it is.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Fred F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Springs
Level Contributor
47 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Partially opened”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

The trail was closed due to the elk and deer enjoying their spring.
Disappointed when we saw the sign but then just at the sign there were numerous mountain lion footprints some larger than my size 7 glove hand so headed back to the trailhead.

Appeared to be a well maintained trail though. Plan on completing it during my next trip to Durango.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank hikingforreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Animas Mountain Trail also viewed

 

Been to Animas Mountain Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing