We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“just what we were looking for”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of O-Bar-O Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Durango
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
O-Bar-O Cabins
Ranked #2 of 12 Durango B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Amarillo, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“just what we were looking for”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

We have been coming to Durango for 30 years and have always wanted to stay at the O Bar O but it has never been pet friendly we were so excited to see that it had become pet friendly we would check every year when we would make our reservations. It was one of our best trips to Durango THANKS to the O BAR O we will definetly be back.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    417
    19
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
151
226
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

O-Bar-O was absolutely the best place to stay! The cabins are on a beautiful river that you can hear from your private deck. We enjoyed coffee every morning out there, saw lots of deer and fly-fished, too. Although the cabins are only 11 miles from Durango, I wanted to stay at the cabin rather than go shopping...a first for me!!! Every time we left to do a hike or activity, we just wanted to hurry up and get back to the cabin!! The hosts were extremely nice, down-to-earth people who made the trip that much more enjoyable! And Peanut, the cat, was quite the charmer, along with his pal, Crouton!
And the best looking coffee mugs ever!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
73 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

We spent two nights in the Hummingbird Cabin recently. It has a family room and a full bath, kitchen downstairs, and two bedrroms with a connecting full bathroom upstairs.We found the whole set up very cozy and much to our liking. Large picture window in the family room has a beautiful view of the backyard and the Animas river.
Maria and Mike were very friendly and attentive to our needs and answered all questions. The cabin had everything we needed to cook our meals. We enjoyed the barbecue grill outside in the evenings. There was outdoor furniture to enjoy the Animas river, hear the birds and see the fall color in brilliant sunshine. We had the best sleep here during our week long trip through SW Colorado!

Room Tip: Hummingbird for 4-6 people
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RJB4041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa Mesa, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2011

Our stay in the Ponderosa room was perfect. The cabin is rustic, but for us and our dogs it was perfect. The space and privacy was exactly what we were looking for and our dogs were really made welcome. Can't recommend this place highly enough. The location is beautiful and quiet but close enough to Durango to be convenient.

Room Tip: Ponderosa was perfect for traveling with dogs!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AgileVizslas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moorpark, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

We recently had the pleasure of staying at the O-Bar-O Cabins for a family wedding. We had a truly amazing time. The location is incredible of course. We stayed in the Aspen Cabin. The linens on the beds were so comfy, they also had these Daniel Stuart knit blankets that I am currently trying to find they were so amazing. The cabin was warm and inviting, we loved making our coffee every morning and sitting out in the adirondack chairs listening to the river. They had a lovely walk-in shower with a great shower head. One thing to remember is there is no cell service so you are pretty much off the map while you are there which is actually really great!!!!!! Makes me want to get rid of my cell phone :)

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bulldogluvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

From the first day to the last, was treated excellent. Everything was provided way beyond expetations. Decor, excellent. Clean, perfect. Service, beyond usual. Have booked stay for next year,

Room Tip: Pet friendly helped alot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio Verde, Arizona
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

The O Bar O is about 12 miles up Rte. 240, a long winding hill. The cabins sit right on the Florida River, which you can hear as you sleep. You are based in a canyon valley and are surrounded by horses, the river, the mountains. It is quite peaceful, despite being along Rte. 240. If you have dogs, it is a great place to take them. They have a large dog park area, and we crated our dogs and went to dinner one night without a problem. The innkeepers are wonderful people, very down to earth and just want you to have a wonderful time.

Room Tip: If your dog does not like to climb circular stairs, make sure you review where the bedrooms are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bashi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durango hotels
11.3 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#4 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
12.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
11.3 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#7 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango
11.2 mi away
Rochester Hotel & Bar
Rochester Hotel & Bar
#8 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
11.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O-Bar-O Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O-Bar-O Cabins

Property: O-Bar-O Cabins
Address: 11998 County Road 240, Florida Road, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rustic cabins under the clear Colorado sky. Deer and elk roaming through nearby alpine meadows. Tall pine trees stretching to the horizon. Cool mountain streams bubbling with trout. The O-BAR-O Cabins, situated on the Florida River, has all of this and more. Located just outside Durango, we're a stone's throw from the national forest, two large lakes, and horse trail rides. Plus we have the best trout fishing you'll find in these parts. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
o-Bar-o Cabins Hotel Durango

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing