We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stop just outside town”
Review of Durango KOA

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Durango
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Durango KOA
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 May 2014

There are only 5 full hookup 50amp pull thrus for big rigs on top of the hill in this park so if you want one you need to plan early, there are also 6 more in the lower section. The sites up top are nicely landscaped, plenty long but a little narrow as your neighbors utilities will be next to your picnic table or fire ring. The road around the park is gravel as is your campsite and it fairly level with woodchips under the picnic table. Each site also has a fire ring. Trees are between each site but with a little luck you should get a clear view for your satellite. Free WIFI worked well as did our sprint phone and 3G. Bathrooms, laundry were clean and staff was friendly. Keep a lookout for the KOA sign into the park, the road is gravel and turns slightly uphill. Big rigs follow the signs to stay to the left of the office; you will need to be escorted in and out of your site.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bobncamille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
There are newer reviews for Durango KOA
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014

First impression was great. The staff inside were super friendly. Check in was quick and easy. We were directed to our site and left alone the rest of the weekend, which was GREAT! We were advised of the many activities and meals they offered, however, due to our schedule we didn't participate in anything. The bathrooms and shower stalls were clean. The traffic from the highway was barely noticeable. The only negative part to our stay was a neighboring house with a hound dog who sounded like it had laryngitis. The owners were kind enough to not let it stay outside for long periods of time.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaymie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

The nicest campground we stayed during our 3 week vacation. Fresh herbs! Super nice people working there! Take advantage of the pancakes at the Caboose! Slept in that day and didn't have to cook! They also have homemade pizza delivered to camp!

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Cratty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We make the trip up to Durango from Santa Fe two or three times a year, and when pulling our small camper with our motorcycle, we'll stay at the Durango KOA. We've always found it comfortable and clean.

The campground is a little ways out of town, so expect a 10 minute drive to groceries and necessities, and 20 minutes to downtown. Though, compared to some other places we've been, this separation improves security and cuts down on noise and busyness.

The spots are closer together than optimal, but not aggressively so. The camp is well-treed in some areas, so you get a modicum of privacy. We've not found the campground overly noisy, and it is away from the highway enough to keep the traffic noise to a minimum.

For campground camping, we wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Durango KOA.

Room Tip: Reserve early and request a spot back in the trees
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tradr62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

The Host upgraded us to the Studio cabin which we didn't expect but was very nice and loaded with amenities. Shower, bath, frig, beds and furniture! This is a very nice place and very friendly people.
The next morning we woke up to hot coffee and a beautiful view of the San Juan mountains after a snow fall the previous night.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a map of the kamp ground! There isn't a fitness center or swimming pool but I...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelJohn092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

First of all, I have to say that I loved staying here. We stayed in a beautiful cabin with bathroom and absolutely adored it. It was very clean and nice. I would go back again for sure. The cabin was off the road and very quiet. I could see some of the tent sites as we walked around the campgrounds and could tell that those could have some noise issues. The reason for coming here is to get away from it all, so I don't want to complain about the internet too much. But it was very bad and I only could use it once during a night stay. Please KOA , try to get a better provider. I would give it a five star rating had it not been for that.

Room Tip: ask for sites away from highway
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ms_Blondie58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We stayed here for only one night in a 30 foot RV. We arrived at the campground right as it was starting to get dark and left out about 7 am to ride the train. Dan (i believe this was the gentleman's name in the office) was gracious enough to put our reservation down when I spoke to him over the phone, as we were still an hour or so away and let us pay when we arrived. We weren't here long but it did look very well kept and like it had alot of amenities. The campground did have alot of trees, which was very nice, but seemed to have some tight turns and tight spaces. We did also notice that they had cabins you could rent. We did enjoy taking pictures of the very large pumpkins that they had growing in their garden near the front office. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durango hotels
126.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
124.9 mi away
Adventure Inn Durango
Adventure Inn Durango
#2 of 34 in Durango
260 reviews
125.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn and Suites Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
126.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
125.2 mi away
Quality Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
#7 of 34 in Durango
541 reviews
124.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Durango
Hampton Inn Durango
#6 of 34 in Durango
1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durango KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durango KOA

Address: 30090 Highway 160, Durango, CO 81303-6875
Region: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Durango
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to downtown Durango! Our KOA Campground is only 7 miles east of the Durango Silverton Train Depot. Not only do we have long RV sites with all the bells & whistles, we have rooms with a view. Our Lodging facilities range from just sleeping cabins, to units with kitchens & bathrooms. All our cabins have A/C, heat and are non smoking. Rent linens or bring your own. The heated pool will entertain your kids, along with mini golf and movies. Summer months the yellow KOA caboose serves great buttermilk pancakes and every evening fresh made pizza delivered right to your site. Even your pooch will love us. Choose from two dog parks. One for the little guys & another for the ball catchers. Wifi is free throughout the campground. Book your reservation today by visiting us on line. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing