We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun with options”
Review of Purgatory Resort

Purgatory Resort
Ranked #6 of 71 things to do in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Purgatory Resort is a family-friendly, four-season resort offering a variety of activities for all ages. In the winter, enjoy alpine skiing and snowboarding, snow shoeing, horse-drawn sleigh rides, Nordic skiing, snowmobiling and more. Summer and fall offers hiking, mountain biking, Alpine Slide rides, zipline, scenic chairlift, disc golf, bungee trampolines, climbing walls, miniature golf and more.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fun with options”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Took a group of 25+ to the Resort. It offered options for all ages but didn't keep most of them entertained more than a couple of hours. EXCEPT for those who chose to rent mountain bikes & go up the mountain....those were kept busy for HOURS trying to make their way down on the VERY difficult trails. The bike shop did NOT do a good job of preparing riders for the trails available. The ride was beautiful but dangerous! Everyone that participated agrees that they'd do it again...but that it would've been much more enjoyable if they'd been prepared better for what to expect. (& we would've been able to do it more than just one time since it took 4 hours to get down the mountain!) Trails weren't marked very well & got confusing with all the ski runs that are marked in a different area....

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank OHMinLH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    305
    158
    54
    22
    16
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glendale, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Bought the Total Adventure Package. Enjoyed the zipline, ropes course and the Alpine slide was the BEST! Spent about 5 hours there...beautiful!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LindaLoweinAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewood, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
97 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“GREAT PLACE TO SKI”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Have been going to Purgatory (I can't call it by its new name) since 1973 and have many, many fond memories of the mountain and the snow. They have expanded over the years and made this a wonderful family ski mountain with two different places to eat on the mountain so that you don't have to come down to the base and lots of trails for both the beginner and the more advanced skier. Sometimes the snow can be a bit scarce, so make sure to check the reports, but when a storm comes in and it snows during the night, the powder in the mornings is exceptional and the trails on the back-side of the mountain are all yours to enjoy alone.... Make a several day trip out of it if you aren't local to get your money's worth and look to their website for deals.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank sandiablonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fun day but expensive”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Kids loved it. We bought the package where each person gets 5 things they can do. They give you a ticket that gets scanned when you do an activity. They let you either put the ticket on a belt loop or on a string that you can wear as a necklace. Be sure to choose the necklace. My husband and I didn't want to do all the activities and wanted to give out tickets to our kids. This is not allowed. If we had placed the ticket on the necklace it would have been easy to give our tickets to our kids. But, once the ticket is on your belt loop, the only way to get it off is to cut it off.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank friends19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, AZ
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Summer activities”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We spent about 4 hours at DMR enjoying the alpine slide, trampoline, ziplining, hiking, and topped it off with lunch at Purgy's. My kids were worn out which meant a happy mom and dad, and great memories for the kids.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank amf1023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Purgatory Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing