We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in the Rockies”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Leland House Bed & Breakfast Suites Durango
Ranked #5 of 12 Durango B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A gem in the Rockies”
Reviewed 20 October 2009

When we arrived we received an free upgrade. What a great welcome!! The room was very nice and the breakfast was very good. It was close to the center of town yet it was quiet at night. The service and staff at the Leland House was superb.
I highly recommend it for any visitors looking to see the Rockies.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SWDCRED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    23
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
26
60
5
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tinley Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
92 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2009

My wife and I stayed here for two nights in the Max Baer Room. It was comfortable but very small. There was a small flat screen TV with cable in the room. I snuck a peek in the suites that were unoccupied and wished we had paid a little extra, they looked spacious as well as comfortable. We had no problems with noise during our two nights. The bed was only queen sized but we had no problem sleeping. The complimentary breakfast served at the Rochester Hotel across the street was very good and the staff there was very friendly. When we checked in the staff was very welcoming and friendly. It's location is also a plus, only a block from the historic district. There is free parking behind the hotel .

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miketp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2009

We stayed 4 days at Leland House last week & would highly recommend it. The staff were all great & very helfull. We stayed at a Queen Suite which was nicely appointed. The Rochester Hotel (same owners) across the street also has nice rooms, but we liked having a kitchen. With Main Street 1 block away, we would walk to everything, including restaurants, shopping, grocery, liquor, fish hatchery, steam train, riverwalk, etc. The breakfasts were fantastic & we looked forward to the afternoon cookies.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaRiverduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Jersey
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2008

Stayed at the Leland House for a night after reading positive reviews on TA. Don't know if I have anything to add that hasn't already been mentioned by someone else...

What I liked:

1) The staff was great. Friendly, helpful, courteous. Couldn't be better.
2) Location...very convenient to historic Downtown.
3) Free parking in back lot. Good to have in an area that seems to have a real shortage of parking spots.

What I didn't like:

1) The room was small. The bathroom was smaller. Like cruise-ship small. Couldn't even dry off after the shower without knocking into the sink and door.
2) Noisy.

That's not an opinion not to stay here. Just kick in the extra bucks and get a suite. Much more comfortable.

And be sure to hit the mediterranean place nearby. Great!

  • Liked — Friendly service
  • Disliked — Matchbox-size room and bathroom
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank MalteseFalcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
141 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2008

The Leland House hotel is a good place to use as a base for visiting the surrounding areas.

Check in was quick and the hotel had a record of the deposit we had already paid. Parking was free and in a secure area behind the hotel.

We were in room number 5 and it was small with an even smaller bathroom. However, this didn't detract from the charm of the hotel. Being an old building though, it does creak and you can clearly hear guests in other rooms too.

The high point of each day was the breakfast. Fresh fruit and home made pastries were complemented by a different hot entree each day (always egg based).

Overall a good place to stay in Durnago.

Gordon & Michael

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — Room and bathroom size
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank GordonandMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2008

My family of four stayed for two nights in August as part of our 4 corners vacation. This was by far the nicest place we stayed. The staff was friendly and extremely helpful with getting into the room, and with dining suggestions. The room (a Queen Suite) was nicely furnished with quality linens and a comfortable bed. The hot breakfast was outstanding.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank josefree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2008

All of the previous reviews are right on the money and that is why we decided to try this B&B. Our expectations we exceeded! The staff and owners are what made our trip and stay so enjoyable...Well, Durango itself was very enjoyable also, but the staff at this B&B exceeded our expectations. We will stay there again!

  • Liked — The staff and owners
  • Disliked — No pool
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank gclark39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.1 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#3 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rochester Hotel & Bar
Rochester Hotel & Bar
#9 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.1 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#7 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
0.5 mi away
Durango Lodge
Durango Lodge
#19 of 33 in Durango
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Leland House Bed & Breakfast Suites Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leland House Bed & Breakfast Suites Durango

Property: The Leland House Bed & Breakfast Suites Durango
Address: 721 E 2nd Ave, Durango, CO 81301-5403
Region: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leland House Bed & Breakfast provides cozy accommodations in the heart of downtown Durango. Offering 3 room suites or 1 room studios, the Leland House is great for families or the busy business traveler. Provided each morning is a full gourmet breakfast, tea and cookies are served each afternoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your The Leland House Bed & Breakfast Suites Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing