We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very tired facility”

Trimble Hot Springs
Ranked #2 of 10 Spas & Wellness in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The only geothermal waters, day spa, and lodging resort in Durango, Colorado, Trimble Spa and Natural Hot Springs is open to the public year-round. Our mineral-rich hot pools are relaxing and therapeutic. Sooth sore muscles and detox in our saunas. Swim laps in the largest outdoor, heated Olympic-sized pool year round. Get the kinks out with massage and body treatment...Great for relaxation and therapeutic rehab.
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
35 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A very tired facility”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

As noted in another review, many small children in the therapy pool. Loud kids and associated parents made for more aggravation than relaxing.

The staff seems unmotivated to patrol or enforce what their posted signs request in the way of behavior in the various areas. And today I encountered a male staffer whose pants were riding completely below his butt - how about some standards at a place that is a "spa?"

The locker rooms are gross. Do not go barefoot in there. The bathing suit wringer doesn't wring, mold in the showers, cracked tiles everywhere, and the "frosting" on the windows is peeling off guaranteeing future peep shows for people in the parking lot.

I've heard the place is for sale. I'm praying for a major renovation.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank heidimiller365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    65
    23
    11
    14
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Relaxing, local hot springs”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I have been to Trimble many times, and it is always a treat. I would like it to have a few more pools, but that's ok. I have never seen the locker rooms dirty. It's a very nice facility.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Carole G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Local Hot Springs”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This is a local spot and not as commercial as Pagosa, for instance. Nice lawn area to sit in their chairs or yours. They have a snack bar, but you are welcome to bring your own food and water. There are two therapy pools, one really hot. The lap pool is the third pool, and the coolest. Lap lanes are set up for real swimmers. You do find that kids will play in the other part of the pool.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank A H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centennial, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Therapy pool”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Family went there the first of June 2014 for the afternoon. I sat in the therapy pool for a bit and then people started coming with their small children. Now this pool is hot mineral water and is not treated . This should be limited to adults only not small children from the ages of one year old to 10 years old. At one time I counted 26 small children in there with their parents. They can't swim there just sit. Now there is a big beautiful pool for these children and that is where they belong not peeing in the therapy pool. I will not be going back for this.
Also the showers were not cared for they were dirty.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank 21Dixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Gross”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

restrooms nasty. Hot Therapy Pool was filled with cottonwood cotton. was not impressed with this facility. First and last visit.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Paulette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trimble Hot Springs also viewed

 

Been to Trimble Hot Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing