We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Victorian gem with charm but not quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
General Palmer Hotel
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
98 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Victorian gem with charm but not quiet”
Reviewed 29 April 2011

Beautifully decorated with victorian furniture and wallpaper and props plus a teddy bear theme - kids will love it. Great location on the main street of the charming and friendly town of Durango. Only problem was the street noise. If you don't want to hear loud disco music and the sound of partyers and street sweepers (at 3am), be sure to ask for a room that faces the back of the hotel. Also a problem with the heat and air in our room which is why we had the window open. I recommend talking to the front desk if you have an air problem. They are super friendly and helpful. the whole town seems incredibly friendly and happy - many of the workers in restaurants and shops go to the local college, Fort Lewis College. The hotel had fabulous scones for the included breakfast and modern television and internet access despite the Victorian decor.

Room Tip: try a room facing the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nadler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    259
    117
    42
    15
    7
See reviews for
87
239
20
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2011

This hotel was far better than I'd expected from the reviews here. Characterful, friendly and good value - but also with a touch of class. Perfect spot between the station and the Strater Hotel up the road - which has excellent food, bars and live music.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Topics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boone, Iowa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2010

Having stayed at other hotels in Durango over the years, I finally decided to spend a little more money to stay at the GP and was not disappointed! From the first time I contacted the GP via email until the morning I checked out, I was very impressed with the courteous and efficient staff who were always present and accomodating and provided a welcoming atmosphere. Since I was on a budget I selected an inner room with a 'murphy' bed which was surprisingly comfortable and I found the room to be very well appointed and very clean. The only downside is that there was no window, but the upside is that I did not have any issue with steet noise. The location is one of the best in town, and it offers a more personal feeling of a B&B, and the blackberry jam on a bagle for breakfsast was yummy!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vettevillain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2010

Clean authentic Victorian hotel! Incredibly polite personnel! The best location. Delicious breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank olgauwt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2010

We had a famly sute n the Palace annex to the hotel. The two rooms were large and there was a walk-in closet whch kept the rooms free of suitcase clutter. The rooms had good airconditionng and celing fans which kept us comfortable n the July heat. The bathroom was well apponted with a vast range of toiletries and good towels. Decor was Victorian but not twee. The teddybears on all the beds were a big hit with our girls.
Breakfast was included and had a good range of muffins, bagels and amercan style scones as well as hot oatmeal.
The hotel is right beside the station and also convenient for shops and actvities lke rafting.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennifer098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suwanee, Georgia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2010

My wife and I spent 3 nights at the General Palmer. The online reservation went without a hitch and the good news when we checked in was that we got a discount for AAA membership. The check in staff and bellman were both very polite and helpful. Rather than try to squeeze into the narrow elevator, we let the bellman handle it. That's what service is all about. If you are too cheap to tip someone for service, stay at the Holiday Inn.
The warm cookies are very nice. As we arrived late and the cookies were gone, the on duty manager volunteered to make a new batch.She did and we had our choice.
Overall, nice hotel, very well located. Free parking. And close to train station which we were booked on.
Overall, very restfull and a nice place to relax and enjoy lodging outside the major hotel brand box.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrainmanSuwanee_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Alamos, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 February 2010

The General Palmer Hotel is the best place for a romantic getaway in Colorado. Located in the heart of Durango you can park your car for free and walk everywhere in town. The rooms are beautifully done in Victorian decor. It smells like home. The breakfast is included and freshly baked cookies are waiting for you in the afternoon. You can hear the train whistles and watch them arrive and depart from the terraces. We felt so rested and rejuvenated after just a weekend that we want to come back for a longer stay. Thank you to the staff for being attentive and informative without being stuffy. It was a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NMWestyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.1 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#7 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
0.1 mi away
Rochester Hotel & Bar
Rochester Hotel & Bar
#10 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Durango
Hampton Inn Durango
#4 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to General Palmer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about General Palmer Hotel

Property: General Palmer Hotel
Address: 567 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301-5422
Region: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#6 Family Hotel in Durango
#7 Business Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — General Palmer Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rich with Victorian elegance, the General Palmer Hotel has all the modern comforts that you would expect of a Four Diamond establishment. Named after General William Jackson Palmer who established the hotel in 1898, the General Palmer is the only historical Four Diamond Hotel in Southwestern Colorado. Each room has been hand decorated in the Victorian era with luxurious amenities. It’s the little touches that make the General Palmer unique; freshly baked muffins each morning and Teddy Bears on every bed. Enjoy our southwestern hospitality with concierge service from a gracious and caring staff available day and night, year around. We are located in downtown Durango right next door to the Narrow Gauge Railroad and we are within easy walking distance of many fine dining restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and getaroom.com so you can book your General Palmer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
General Palmer Durango
Hotel General Palmer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing