We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick one night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
General Palmer Hotel
Ranked #7 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Quick one night stay”
Reviewed 1 September 2012

We stayed one night, in the interior queen room, the room was huge and very clean, the hotel itself was charming. The checkin clerk could of been a little more welcoming. The breakfast was a bit of a disappointment. Also stayed at the Strater and would probally pick it over this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula N, General Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this review, 6 September 2012
Thank you for your review it is so helpful for me when people share their experience at the General Palmer Hotel. It is how I learn what is important to travelers, even if it is just for a quick stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    264
    119
    43
    18
    8
See reviews for
90
246
20
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
colorado
Level Contributor
130 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

This is a very old hotel trying to fit in todays fast pace world. Overall they did a nice job, room was clean, well outfitted, but small by today's standards. All day coffee bar was a cut above, teddy bears in every room were cute and the location is a 10. Reservation was messed up, hairdryers need to be replaced, room tough to control temp and the people smoking on the decks were offensive (not the hotels fault).

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lostcolorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula N, General Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
Thank you for your review of the General Palmer Hotel. I do sincerely appreciate your thoughts and comments, they are always helpful to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ofallon mo
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

We stayed Aug 11&12 2012 after meeting a charming gentleman and his son during our Royal Gorge train trip. He suggested the Durango-Silverton train trip was the best. We headed towards Durango, booked the last 2 tickets for Monday am, then chose the general Palmer which had the last room. One of many synchronicities during our trip. We had a two bedroom room in the Royal annex which was very comfortable, clean, authentic furnishings, luxury bedding and quiet Word of caution, there is no elevator in the annex My husband has braces on both legs but maneuvered the many steps. The bellman offered assistance as well opened the door to the hotel lobby everything. Autumn checked us in professionally and welcoming. The lobby and breakfast sun room is beautiful. Excellent coffee, teas, and cookies are available during the day and evening.
Location is perfect. Next to the Durango-Silverton railroad and convenient to all stores etc downtown. Breakfast was serve yourself: biscuits&gravy, oatmeal with all the trimmings, fresh fruit, store bought muffins bagels etc, yogurt, orange juice great coffee teas and real china. The breakfast was disappointing that there was not any protein such as hard boiled eggs, bacon or better even smoked salmon and capers, cream cheese and cheeses. The $185.00 per night should command a better breakfast to match the graciousness and luxury of this fantastic hotel
We appreciated the private parking. We would definitely stay again and recommend highly.

Room Tip: If you have difficulty with stairs chose the main hotel. All that is needed is to insure your reserv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank binlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula N, General Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2012
Thank you so very much for your glowing review, i know that these days especially time is very valuable and I appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
122 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

This is a lovely old hotel that sits on the main street of Durango which means that you are right in the middle of the activities! Yes, the train station is behind the hotel but after staying here 3 different times in the past 8 years, I must say that I was never bothered by the train whistle! The breakfast setting is so pleasant with a choice of a dining table or pretty sun porch. The breakfast offerings are good. I do agree that the new beds are wayyyyyyy too high -what a huge mistake someone made! While they are very comfortable I think that I would cut off the legs!

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Travelingigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula N, Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2012
Thank you for you r review, and thank you for staying with us throughout the years!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sedona, Arizona
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

The General Palmer has everything you'd want when visiting Durango. Great time period hotel that is immaculately kept, clean grounds, breakfast & quality rooms with all the nice fittings. The staff is professional and very helpful. It's well located & overall, fairly priced. I would only recommend staying in the main hotel, as the other wing I think is newer and may not have the character the main hotel does.

Room Tip: Check out the room first
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hercules9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula N, General Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
Dear Hercules9:
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. I appreciate it very much and I am so glad to hear that you had such a great time staying with us. We all try very hard and love what we do, happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and Durango as a city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

We had stayed at The General Palmer twice before. Once we were in the actual hotel and the other we were in what the hotel calls the "Palace Wing". I made our reservation this time assuming we would actually be in the hotel. When we checked in, we found we were once again in the "Palace Wing". I have always thought of a "wing" of a building as being attached, not across 200 feet of asphalt. There is no elevator in the "Wing", so we lugged our luggage up to the room. The room was fine, but the bed was 36" high! My wife and I are of normal height, and in reasonably good health, but getting in and out of bed was still a hassle. I can't imagine what smaller, more feeble guests would do. A large part of the appeal of the hotel is the lobby, balconies and sun room, but these are located in a different building across the parking lot! It seems to me that we should have been notified when we made the reservation that we would not be in the hotel. We will never stay here again.

Room Tip: Make sure you will be in the actual hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elklovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula N, General Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to place a review on trip advisor. We do appreciate all of our reviews. We were very surprised ourselves when we set up the brand new beds in "The Palace Wing". We had no idea that they would be so tall, I do apologize! We have just recently ordered step benches for the beds.
Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

This hotel has a great location, right on Main St in historic downtown Durango. We got lucky with finding a free room when we arrived, without making reservations.

We stayed in what we were told was the quieter annex, and it was quiet. Beware, however, that this hotel is right next to the train station for the Silverton train. There is a lot of bell ringing and train horn honking during the day. However, the rooms have pretty good insulation and this was not nearly as intrusive as I feared.

The bed mattress was amazingly comfortable. Beware also, that the beds (or maybe just ours) are very tall. You really do have to climb into it. Perhaps this is not the case for all beds.

This is a pretty old hotel and one of the downsides is that there are not as many electric plugs as you may wish and they are not located as conveniently as you might wish. If this is important to you, then you might want to bring an extension cord.

The linens on the bed were very nice, as were the pillows. It was also nice to have terry cloth bath robes. There were very nice toiletries in the bathroom.

My only quibble is with the breakfast. For the niceness of the hotel, I expected a nice breakfast. However, this was no better, and even a little worse, than what one can find in most roadside hotels these days. The china was nice, yes, but otherwise, it was a standard continental breakfast. There was no fruit at all (bummer!), premade belgian waffles, two kinds of small (looked like store bought) muffins, some bread and english muffins, cereal and yogurt. No eggs, no bacon, no sausages, no nice pastries. I had high hopes for the pastries (can you tell I'm a foodie?) because there is a french bakery right across the street, but no such luck.

There is coffee available all day long, though, and cookies in the early evening.

On the whole, the location is great and the price is a good value for the quality of the sleep you will get on the very nice beds.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dara064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula N, General Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
Thank yo so much for your review, we sincerely appreciate all of our reviews, they help in many ways. Glad to hear you liked the mattress, and your stay in "The Palace Wing". We actually have guests who request that their room be in this wing as it is quieter! Have a great rest of the summer and hope to see you again.
Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.1 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#8 of 33 in Durango
1,020 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
0.1 mi away
The Leland House and Rochester Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
2.5 mi away
Adventure Inn Durango
Adventure Inn Durango
#2 of 33 in Durango
206 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to General Palmer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about General Palmer Hotel

Property: General Palmer Hotel
Address: 567 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301-5422
Region: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#6 Family Hotel in Durango
#7 Business Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — General Palmer Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rich with Victorian elegance, the General Palmer Hotel has all the modern comforts that you would expect of a Four Diamond establishment. Named after General William Jackson Palmer who established the hotel in 1898, the General Palmer is the only historical Four Diamond Hotel in Southwestern Colorado. Each room has been hand decorated in the Victorian era with luxurious amenities. It’s the little touches that make the General Palmer unique; freshly baked muffins each morning and Teddy Bears on every bed. Enjoy our southwestern hospitality with concierge service from a gracious and caring staff available day and night, year around. We are located in downtown Durango right next door to the Narrow Gauge Railroad and we are within easy walking distance of many fine dining restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your General Palmer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
General Palmer Durango
Hotel General Palmer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing