We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
General Palmer Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Best Western Durango Inn & Suites(Durango)(Great Value!)
US$176
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$193
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$184
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn(Durango)(Great Value!)
US$218
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$209
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn Durango(Durango)(Great Value!)
US$226
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$208
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$218
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$208
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Mountain Shadows(Durango)(Great Value!)
US$166
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$148
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$208
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$197
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn Durango(Durango)(Great Value!)
US$149
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$136
QualityInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango(Durango)(Great Value!)
US$241
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$210
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$274
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (521)
Filter reviews
521 results
Traveller rating
294
140
51
24
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
294
140
51
24
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslone spur cafetrain stationteddy bearsoriginal elevatorthe main hotelcd playercontinental breakfastpresidential suiteinterior roomvictorian decorhalf blockmain streetcookiescharming hotelnoise from the streetstained glasshistoric property
Filter
Updating list...
389 - 394 of 521 reviews
Reviewed 14 June 2013 via mobile

We stay here whenever in town for the train, which is usually 2 to three times a year. The rooms are always very clean and we love the atmosphere and great location on main street. Parking is great as well.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcfjeemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula N, General Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2013

Dear jcfjeemo, Thank you for your review, and thank you so much for choosing us as your home away from home. All of us at the General Palmer love what we do and we always thrilled to hear we have done well.
Thank you, again, so much
Sincerely, Paula

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Arrived at the General Palmer on Monday 6-3-13 a little early and was advised by the teenage bellman in the parking lot to go ahead and park because our room was ready. We pulled into the parking space and the bellman was on us for our luggage. We told him that we would carry our own luggage in and he refused to accept that answer and rudely said that we could not carry our own luggage in. This teenage bellman took our luggage and when we arrived at the check in desk the girl at the front desk, either Hanna or Nancy, told us and the bellman that our room was not ready. The bellman disappeared for a few minutes and then we were told the room was ready. We then went up to the third floor and entered our room after tipping the bellman. We then heard a knock on the door and were told by the maid that she had to clean the room and she started vacuuming. This was totally unacceptable and I went to the front desk demanding to speak with a manager. Paula Nelson heard me and came out of her office. I explained what had happened about first being told by the bellman that our room was ready and then told by the front desk clerk that it was not ready and mysteriously after a few minutes it was ready and then after we entered the room the maid showed up to clean the room. The only answer Paula Nelson could give was sorry. Come on, its obvious that the bellman only told us the room was ready was so he could get his tip for carrying our luggage that we wanted to carry in the first place. General Palmer is suppose to be a first class hotel but this is more like motel 6. Checked out and stayed at the Strater Hotel down the street. Much classier and more onsite amenities. And by the way as I was leaving I saw the teenage bellman in the hallway and asked for my tip money back and he said " no way man." I had to laugh as this young kid has a scam going on.!!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kristi99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula N, General Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2013

Dear Kristi99
Again I do sincerely apologize for the miscommunication, However I am happy to hear that you were still able to enjoy your visit to Durango, it is simply an amazing little town. As a Town we have so much to offer each and every traveler.
Thank you for taking the time to share your views of the General Palmer Hotel it is truly how we grow and learn of our guests expectations.
Thank you again, Paula Nelson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night, wish it was longer. The hotel was decorated in an old west Victorian style. It had an old fashioned tiny cage elevator so I preferred the stairs. The room was spacious with 2 really comfie queen beds and a spacious bathroom with nice toiletries, hair dryer, separate double sinks from the toilet/shower area. Fresh home made cookies at noon. The only slight issue we had was that when we first turned on the water some rusty water poured out. We choose to have the staff provide us with a jug of water for drinking.
Location was excellent as you could walk around the scenic old town where there were tons of cute shops, great restaurants and neat statues. The silvery in railway was next to the hotel so very convenient and the views were breath taking. The staff was friendly and helpful. It was only a 15-20 minute drive to the airport. I would definitely stay here again and definitely visit Durango for longer!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hikesedonachick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula N, General Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2013

Dear "hikesedonachick"
I totally agree one day in Durango is simply not enough time to explore the diversity of shopping, hiking, rafting, museum viewing, etc. etc. I absolutely love Durango, I have been here 21 years and am still in love with it. You will just have to come back for another visit! Thank you too for your review of the General Palmer I am happy to hear that it was one of the highlights of your visit to Durango.
Sincerely, Paula

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Room 205, Queen

The hotel has a great downtown location, especially for the well known train and
many shops and restaurants. Niceties abound: the old style elegance of the
building and the public areas; comfortable, inviting lounge/lobby area, wonderful
2nd floor open-air deck, long breakfast hours (6-10am) which includes the possibility
of in-room delivery of breakfast at no additional charge; noon check-out; friendly
staff; free on-site parking

The room was found to be very clean and comfortable; it is compact in size as is to be
expected in an old building yet the stay is enhanced by very good amenities
including: high-end toiletries, a free-standing make-up mirror, 2 suitcase stands,
plenty of lamps, complete coffee & wine service, a decent flat screen tv, a flashlight,
an extension cord, and good quality antique furniture and 2 robes. The room does not have a
microwave, refrigerator or safe.

Room Tip: Room 205 facing north was quiet and had an ok view
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula N, General Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2013

Hi "Devontheroad"
1st I wanted to thank you for writing a review regarding your stay here at the General Palmer. My staff is just amazing, from my point of view, they all work so hard to make everything so perfect for each and every guest. I am so pleased when they get to see that their care has been seen and appreciated.
Thank you again,
Cheers, Paula

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

All classic hotels that have been restored should use this as their model. Not only are you getting to experience what it was like to be in a hotel built at the turn of the century, you don't have to trade off comfort or quality. The service and experience has clearly been thought out and it adds so much to the guests' time at this grand hotel. Everything was clean, no matter how old the item might have been, and the staff was incredibly attentive and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wileyc0y0te
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula N, General Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2013

Good Morning "Wiley"
Thank you, Thank you for the wonderful review you wrote concerning your stay here at the General Palmer. i am happy to hear that you were so appreciative of the hard work that goes into making an older building into something beautiful and comfortable.
Paula

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews