We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful hotel and service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
General Palmer Hotel
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel and service”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We loved our two-night stay at the General Palmer earlier this month. The hotel is very centrally located right on the main street of Durango. Our room on the third floor had three windows that overlooked the street, but it was not too noisy. The beds were very comfortable and the room was nicely furnished, if a bit small, which is to be expected in an older hotel.

I cannot say enough about the service, especially Colin. The A/C broke in our room the second evening. We returned from a busy day of a jeep tour and train ride back from Silverton to find our room unbearably hot. Without missing a beat, they offered to move us to another room downstairs and were so apologetic. We were very thankful to sleep in a cool and comfortable room after an exhausting day.

We hope to return to Durango again one day and we will definitely be staying here.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blue_gal4011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulanelson, General Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Dear "blue_gal4011"
Thank you for reviewing the General Palmer hotel, we appreciate it very much. Colin has been one of my most outstanding young men to work here at the hotel. So thoughtful and kind, I showed him your review and you should have seen his smile.
Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    259
    117
    42
    15
    8
See reviews for
87
240
20
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
121 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Located adjacent to the Durango Silverton RR. We stayed In the annex building which was wonderful. Rooms and bathrooms were average size but well appointed and with modern amenities . We thought that the rooms would be noisy since above the restaurant, but no problem. Rooms 251-254 have a large deck which we took advantage of every afternoon for wine and train watching. Beds are really comfortable.
Complimentary breakfast was nothing special, but several good restaurants within walking distance. We would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: 251-254 if you want the large deck
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulanelson, General Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Dear, "Kennith M"
Thank you for posting a review of your stay with us at the General Palmer Hotel. So glad to hear that you took advantage of the deck at the Annex, such a great view of the surrounding Mountains. The sunsets here in Durango can be pretty amazing too!
Sincerely, Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

The General Palmer gets 5 stars on every level - the rooms, the staff and even the breakfast, which isn't just fruit and cereal, but just multiple options including eggs and meat. On the latter point one morning there were no English muffins and all I did was ask if there were any in the back and they sent someone to the grocery store! I felt badly for having said anything, but on the otherr hand what service!!! The staff are beyond helpful without seeming to be patronizing. It was a joy to stay there even if the elevator door is so heavy it takes two to open it!! LOL!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulanelson, General Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Dear "Julie R"
Thank you for your review, so so happy to hear you had a great stay with us. My staff is such a great group of people, and it is the out of the ordinary things they do for our guests that always amaze me as well.
Thank you again, Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
170 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

If you are in town for the train, plan to stay here. No bar or restaurant, but an adequate continental breakfast, free parking, and BEAUTIFUL rooms, decorated with lovely Victorian era furnishings. Helpful staff, free cookies and all day coffee, and great room amenities - a Keurig coffee maker, flashlight, and turn down service includes wonderful chocolate truffles.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulanelson, General Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Dear "Ellen F"
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us here at the General Palmer Hotel. I agree you can't hardly beat the location. Just a short one block away from the Narrow Gauge train station. I am so happy to hear that you had a great stay with us, especially nice to hear you enjoyed my staff as well.
Sincerely, Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisiana
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

What a wonderful staff. Rooms are comfortable and decorated nicely. Staff service was excellent. Great afternoon cookies. Only drawback is tiny elevator, but great staff makes that work too. We definitely would stay here if we get to return to Durango!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LinW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulanelson, General Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Dear (LinW)
Thank you for your review of your stay with us, here at the General Palmer Hotel. I know that I am somewhat biased but I agree, my staff is pretty awesome!! Such a great group of truly caring young people, it is a joy to work with them.
Thanks again, Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

I knew nothing about Durango when I booked to go there, but am glad I did...a beautiful river, some great local attractions in close proximity and some really good brew pubs.

Asking a friend where to stay, he said that I should stay at the General Palmer, an original hotel in the middle of town.

It was a great choice...excellent parking, a short walk to restaurants, shopping and pubs and a different place to stay.

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful making the stay great fun...and I slept like a hibernating bear in a huge, comfortable bed!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CamMBris01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulanelson, General Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Dear (CamMBris01)
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of Durango Co. and the General Palmer Hotel. We all appreciate it very much! Durango is a pretty fantastic place to live and work, and it is always nice to hear when a guest has enjoyed their visit.
Thanks again, Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holt, Michigan
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We were in a two room suite in the Palace Annex, Room 258, July 8-12, 2013. The room was beautifully furnished. We enjoyed the convenient entrance door that opened right on Main Street. Our room faced the street and was quiet even with the windows open. Be aware that there is no elevator to these rooms but parking is available right at the bottom of the stairs in the parking lot.

We enjoyed the coffee and cookies in the lobby and the breakfast was good and served in a lovely setting.

The toiletries in the room were plentiful and a good quantity. My only suggestion would be a shelf of some kind for guests' items. It was an awkward setting to get ready in the morning and I had to put my own items in the sink in order to have access to them.

There was a large closet in one room and a good sized cupboard with shelves in the smaller room. With four adults in the room, we enjoyed the storage space.

We highly recommend the General Palmer--great location, wonderful staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreenChileFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulanelson, General Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Dear "Green Chili Fan"
(I know, I love Green Chili too),
Thank you so much for your review, I do sincerely appreciate them all. We are "pondering" how to change the bathroom configuration, and you are right there just isn't a good place to put your toiletries in the bathroom. Each year we remodel at least a few rooms, hopefully this will be one we attack this winter.
Thank you again, sincerely, Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.1 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#7 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,005 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
0.1 mi away
Rochester Hotel & Bar
Rochester Hotel & Bar
#9 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Durango
Hampton Inn Durango
#3 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to General Palmer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about General Palmer Hotel

Property: General Palmer Hotel
Address: 567 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301-5422
Region: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#6 Family Hotel in Durango
#7 Business Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — General Palmer Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rich with Victorian elegance, the General Palmer Hotel has all the modern comforts that you would expect of a Four Diamond establishment. Named after General William Jackson Palmer who established the hotel in 1898, the General Palmer is the only historical Four Diamond Hotel in Southwestern Colorado. Each room has been hand decorated in the Victorian era with luxurious amenities. It’s the little touches that make the General Palmer unique; freshly baked muffins each morning and Teddy Bears on every bed. Enjoy our southwestern hospitality with concierge service from a gracious and caring staff available day and night, year around. We are located in downtown Durango right next door to the Narrow Gauge Railroad and we are within easy walking distance of many fine dining restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your General Palmer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
General Palmer Durango
Hotel General Palmer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing