We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oldie but a goodie”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
General Palmer Hotel
Ranked #6 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Oldie but a goodie”
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the General Palmer and went on the Peanuts Great Pumpkin Patch Train Ride. The hotel is very pretty. Our room was gorgeous and the bed was so unbelievably comfortable. The hotel saw to it to put teddy bears in our daughters rooms with notes and wine and flowers in ours. A wonderful added touch.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulanelson, General Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
I do remember you all, so glad to hear that your stay with us was enjoyable. We all love doing those special little things that create lasting memories.
Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    124
    43
    18
    8
See reviews for
93
251
21
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

I'm a sucker for Victorian style hotels/B&B's and the General Palmer blends both very well. The property is well maintained with plenty of parking. It's right in the downtown area where all the shops and restaurants are a short walk away. One thing to note is the close proximity to the Durango & Silverton Railroad station. The train starts blowing it's whistle at 7:30am to 8:00am as it gets ready to depart. If you can sleep through that then no problem. It means wake-up time for the rest of us

Room Tip: The second floor has a nice balcony where you can enjoy the sights and sounds of Downtown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BCSguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulanelson, General Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear "BCSGuy"
Thank you so much for your review, I truly appreciate it. I love the detail in your review and do truly appreciate you taking the time.
Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We loved our stay at the General Palmer! Historic and friendly, not to mention the Durango & Silverton Narrow Gauge! It was such a treat to stay a block from the train, my husband spent every morning at the train yard.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slkess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulanelson, General Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear, "slkess"
Thank you for your review, I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It is pretty cool that the train is so close, makes wondering over every day so easy to do.
Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oneonta, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

A lovely night in a room without a view. The bedroom and bathroom were very roomy and though the hotel is old, the accommodations were completely updated. Complimentary robes and in room keurig coffee pot with dark roast coffee. Very helpful and knowledgable staff. Polite too!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alabamaberly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulanelson, General Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear "alabamaberly"
I just wanted to take a moment and thank you for taking the time to leave a review regarding your stay at The General Palmer Hotel.
I do appreciate your kind words and I love to pass on the words of encouragement to my staff.
Thank you again, Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fowey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Lovely hotel & town, stayed at the General Palmer to ride the train which is just a short walking distance & the car is left at the hotel. The staff were very helpful & courteous, especially a big thanks to Hannah for all her help. Got to be the best in Durango

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank richanne100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulanelson, General Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear "richanne 100"
I will definitely let Hannah know how much you appreciated her. She is a wonderful and integral member of my staff. Thank you for leaving a review of your stay with us, my staff and I are always encouraged by our reviews.
Sincerely, Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We stayed for two nights and enjoyed a clean and quiet room. The staff was great and the location is perfect for shopping, places to eat and the narrow gauge train to Silverton. The breakfast fare was just OK. In fact one morning the breakfast person did not show up for work and the front desk staff had to scramble to get the coffee ready.I expected a little more from this facility.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulanelson, Owner at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Hi "Jerry"
I apologize for the delay in your morning coffee, I know for myself that this is what gets me going in the morning, and do realize how important it is. Thank you for your review and hopefully you will revisit Durango Co.
Sincerely, Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesa, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We enjoyed our visit to ride the Durango rail road. It is just a short walk to the station. Everything is very up to date and modern, with 1 exception, the elevator has to be original, no more than 3 people fit in the car with luggage but the the experience is very satisfying. The Hotel has ample parking in their own lot and we able leave our vehicle for the night when we spent a day and night in Silverton until our return for an additional stay in Durango

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulanelson, General Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear "Jim E"
Oh yes the elevator is original, I sometimes wonder what they were thinking when it was built so small. People back then may have been smaller, but I think about those huge steamer trunks that they traveled with. Thank you for your review, we all appreciated it.
Sincerely, Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.1 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#7 of 33 in Durango
1,035 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
0.1 mi away
The Leland House and Rochester Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Adventure Inn Durango
Adventure Inn Durango
#2 of 33 in Durango
221 reviews
2.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to General Palmer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about General Palmer Hotel

Property: General Palmer Hotel
Address: 567 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301-5422
Region: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#6 Family Hotel in Durango
#7 Business Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — General Palmer Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rich with Victorian elegance, the General Palmer Hotel has all the modern comforts that you would expect of a Four Diamond establishment. Named after General William Jackson Palmer who established the hotel in 1898, the General Palmer is the only historical Four Diamond Hotel in Southwestern Colorado. Each room has been hand decorated in the Victorian era with luxurious amenities. It’s the little touches that make the General Palmer unique; freshly baked muffins each morning and Teddy Bears on every bed. Enjoy our southwestern hospitality with concierge service from a gracious and caring staff available day and night, year around. We are located in downtown Durango right next door to the Narrow Gauge Railroad and we are within easy walking distance of many fine dining restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your General Palmer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
General Palmer Durango
Hotel General Palmer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing