We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
General Palmer Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn(Durango)(Great Value!)
US$218
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$209
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Durango Inn & Suites(Durango)(Great Value!)
US$176
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$184
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn Durango(Durango)(Great Value!)
US$226
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$208
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Mountain Shadows(Durango)(Great Value!)
US$214
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$148
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$208
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$197
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn Durango(Durango)(Great Value!)
US$149
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$136
QualityInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango(Durango)(Great Value!)
US$241
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$210
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$274
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$208
Homewood
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (521)
Filter reviews
521 results
Traveller rating
294
140
51
24
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
294
140
51
24
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslone spur cafetrain stationteddy bearsoriginal elevatorthe main hotelcd playercontinental breakfastpresidential suiteinterior roomvictorian decorhalf blockmain streetcookiescharming hotelnoise from the streetstained glasshistoric property
Filter
Updating list...
336 - 341 of 521 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Booked our room back 8 months ago...with two queens needed. Upon arrival, we were offered joining rooms, each with a queen bed. This was awesome and allowed us much more room and two bathrooms. Stayed with my 7 and 11 year old boys....right next to Durango / Silverton Train Station...so wonderful views of trains and train yards. Super location....very easy to walk around the wonderful town. Breakfast was simple, but great....and good coffee. Coffee available downstairs anytime...which is great. Overall, great stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GPFarms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulanelson, General Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear, "GPFarms"
Happy to hear you enjoyed the upgrade. Due to some remodeling we didn't have the original room configuration, but it sounds as though the change worked for you.
Thank you so much for leaving a review, I appreciate them all.
Paula

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

Fascinating and elegant from the moment we entered the lobby. Well-appointed solarium where breakfast is served with homemade blueberry muffins and soft scones. Back porch areas on second and third level overlooking train tracks for narrow gauge trains.
The amenities in rooms were quality toiletries and the bed was the most comfortable of any on our trip.
The elevator was the older Otis where the lift arrived and the door and gate had to be opened and closed. We loved the attention to detail in preserving this hotel.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Nat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulanelson, General Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Good Morning, "Nat D"
The Otis elevator is actually, I am told, the oldest this side of the Mississippi. Maybe be, yes, maybe no. But I do know it is pretty cool to have in the hotel. The name itself denotes such rich history.
Thank your for your review, Paula

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This is a hotel were we stayed for 2 nights in order to take the Durango to Silverton train. The hotel was convenient to the train station and within walking distance to some good restaurants. The staff was cordial and helpful. The breakfast was just what we needed before catching the 8 AM train. The rooms were small as this is an older, historic building, but the beds were comfortable and the room spotless. We would stay there again when in Durango.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FrankR_Austin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulanelson, General Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear, "FrankR_Austin"
Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, it truly is so convenient to stay downtown. You can visit shops, arrange for guided trips, dine in fabulous restaurants all without having to get into your car.
Thank you again, Paula

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

When your looking for a place to stay in a town that you have never been to like Durango CO - It is so nice to know there is the General Palmer Hotel. This hotel is right next to the D&SNGRR train Depot and in the heart of downtown Durango on Main Ave. The service staff always go above and beyond to make sure they exceed your expectations. Warm cookies in the lobby are always waiting for you. The breakfast in the morning is the best. While this hotel does not have a restaurant on site you do have access to the many, many fine dining restaurants within walking distance of the hotel - Ken & Sue's, Ore House, Steamworks Brewery, and East by Southwest.- All wonderful restaurants.

Room Tip: The hotel does have interior rooms which do not have windows - It is worth spending a little extra to get the rooms with windows. :)
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulanelson, General Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Good Morning, "Bruce M"
So happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, I love my staff, they are one of the hotels best and sometimes unseen attributes.
Paula

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Conveniently located in town close to the (narrow gauge) railway station and centre of town. Nice large car park so dump the car and wander. The style of the hotel is rather nice, looks almost like you should still have cowboys riding past on horses.
The hotel has some nice touches, like free hot drinks and cookies all day and a reasonable if limited breakfast of waffles, breakfast sausages, egg, scones, yoghurts, muffins and toast. The room had the usual collection of amenities including a pod coffee machine.
Let down by some details, like coffee cups not cleared from the lounge, but otherwise generally very good, recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Glen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulanelson, General Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear "Milton Keynes"
Thank you for leaving a review of your stay at the General Palmer, I enjoy hearing about our guests stay. We learn so much from them and honestly take to heart what has been written. Thank you again, Paula

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews