We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Durango Inn & Suites(Durango)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$207
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$176
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Mountain Shadows(Durango)(Great Value!)
US$156
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn Durango(Durango)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$181
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$157
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$207
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$198
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$219
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango(Durango)(Great Value!)
US$148
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango(Durango)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$232
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$202
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
General Palmer Hotel(Durango)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$220
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn Durango(Durango)(Great Value!)
US$138
QualityInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$154/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (144)
Filter reviews
144 results
Traveller rating
106
28
4
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
106
28
4
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbox canyontent sitesbeautiful campsiteft motor homebeautifully landscaped parkquiet at nightdog parkfull hookupstow vehiclesitting outsidefire pitnice folkslaundry facilitiesworked greatnew ownersclose to towndowntown durango
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 144 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I'm looking for a campground to stay in Durango for a few days. I read the wonderful reviews, but when I went on their website I saw that the park is under new ownership and they charge a $2.00 per night pet fee. This just rubs me the wrong way. We'll stay somewhere else. Too bad. It sounded nice otherwise.

Stayed: June 2018
1  Thank SillyAnn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marti L, Owner at Lightner Creek Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi SillAnn1, I am really sorry you are disappointed in our pet fees. I'd like to mention that while we are new owners we HAVE NOT yet changed any of the rates, including the $2 pet fee. The main reason behind the fee is that we do dispose of pet waste (both packed nicely by the owners in our waste containers as well as those who choose not to pick up after their pets), as well as for insurance and liability, which factors into our overhead cost. We are very concerned with creating a positive experience for our guests, so that said, please let me know the name on your reservation and I'm happy to refund you the pet fees. In the interim, I will review this concern with my team to determine if any changes should be made. Thank you so much for the feedback and I look forward to hearing back!
Best,
Ashley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2018 via mobile

Nice quaint RV campground alongside a small flowing creek. Very quiet an spaces are close but just not to close....nice shade trees! Level gravel pads, some with grass! Full hookups available! Off the beaten path from Durango a few miles! Would definitely stay here again!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marti L, Owner at Lightner Creek Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2018

Thank you Mike H for your lovely review! What could we have done differently to get a 5-star review? Thank you!
Ashley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018

We stayed in an RV at the campground on our way to the Durango/Silverton Railway. It is a beautiful site right on a creek with lots of trees, a pool, and easy access to hiking trails. It is well outfitted with amenities including laundry facilities. The owners were great, and very friendly. I would recommend it for a single or multi-night stay.

Stayed: June 2017
Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marti L, Owner at Lightner Creek Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2018

Thank you Tom D for your review! May I ask what we could have done differently to have received a 5-star review? Thank you and we are looking forward to seeing you again.
Ashley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2018 via mobile

Unfortunately I didn’t get to stay at Lightner Creek, but this review is for the owners!

We are working on taking a trip for several months. Spur of the moment, so getting a place in Summer is hard. The only reason we aren’t staying at Lightner Creek is because we work from our RV and must have data signal.

Ashley was right up front about the cell signal being bad for data because they are in a box canyon - which sounds so amazing I almost cried because we don’t get to stay there!

She and Aubre jumped through hoops to find us a long term spot if we decided to stay, but we weren’t able to.

Ashley and Aubre were amazing. Friendly and professional and they went way far above and beyond what they had to in trying to help us. I would imagine beside the beauty of the park, anyone staying there would have a great time because they are just so nice and helpful.

Kudos to them - I’ll bet that park is a huge success!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank PamWhitmire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

The owners, hosts and facilities are excellent. We had a catastrophic event happen before we arrived and the owners worked with us every step of the way. This is place to stay in Durango, Colorado. Anyone rating this campground or management anything less than 5 stars were probably unhappy before they arrived.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
2  Thank Lance B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews