We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Guides and Services”

Southwest Raft & Jeep
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are a veteran owned, family friendly adventure company located in beautiful Durango, Colorado! We offer the best RAFTING and KAYAKING trips on the Animas River. We use smaller rafts with less customers which provides you with a faster, more exciting ride and a more personalized trip with your guide. We use paddle rigs for our rafting trips which allows you to be more involved and experience the fun of maneuvering the raft and pushing through the rapids. Our 4 HOUR RAFTING TRIP is very popular and includes a full lunch in the price! We also offer a RAFTING and ZIPLINE PACKAGE at a great discount. This package is one of our most popular activities. You can have an all day adventure including a 4 hour Raft Trip, a Full Lunch, and a 2 hour Zipline Tour all included in the price. In addition to our guided trips, we offer several water rentals to enjoy on your own: INFLATABLE KAYAKS, STAND-UP PADDLE BOARDS, and RIVER TUBES. If you want to get out and explore the beautiful outdoors, rent one of our JEEP WRANGLERS or LAND ROVERS. There are over 500 jeep trails to explore ghost towns and old mining camps while enjoying panoramic views.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Houston, Texas
1 review
“Fantastic Guides and Services”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I have used them twice in the last three days for raft trips and definitely plan on coming back in the next couple of days and every other time I visit Durango. I have used many many rafting companies over the years, and Southwest Whitewater is by far the best. They have very friendly, knowledgable, and experienced guides.
Our first trip was with Rory and he was awesome. He knew the answer to every question I asked and gave us a little history of the river while we were floating down.
On our second trip, Shaggy guided us down the river earlier today and the water level was much higher and faster than it was before. He was a wonderful guide and got us safely through the trip.
I had the time of my life and loved every minute of it. Can't wait to use them again!!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank hollipop94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy M, Owner at Southwest Raft & Jeep, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Holli and Elizabeth, Thanks for the review! We are so glad you ladies enjoyed the trip. We will try to get Rory and Shaggy together on your next trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    3
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
1 review
“Outstanding Experience”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We (Larry & Inaria) did a 2hour rafting trip with Southwest Whitewater on May 9th, 2014. New owner Troy and his team (Shaggy, Allyson, Ryan, & Seth) were fantastic and it was a true joy to meet all of them. Our guide 'Shaggy'(Mark) was quite the character. Great guy. Very informative and skillful. Really cool outdoorsman 'full of life' type of guy. I was experiencing a little elevation sickness while on vacation their at Durango from Tampa and instead of having us paddle upfront, they recruited Ryan and Seth to help out. And Ryan and Seth under the guidance of Shaggy did a wonderful job. this helped us to sit back and really enjoy the experience. My wife and I enjoyed a lot of different things while vacationing in Durango, but this experience with this fine group of folks was outstanding. I cannot say enough of the good vibe and job that they provided us.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank LarryPowBop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy M, Owner at Southwest Raft & Jeep, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Larry, Thanks for the kind words. We are glad you and Inaria enjoyed your trip! The crew said to tell you hello and they will see you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
81 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Awesome Experience”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Our family of 4 decided to try rafting for the first time, so we went on the 2 hour afternoon rafting trip. Rory, the owner, was very patient in explaining everything and our guide, Ti was great. The river was pretty calm for this time of year but we did experience some Class 2 and 3 rapids along the way. They also offer other packages and solo kayaking. We enjoyed this memorable awesome experience, highly recommend!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Traveler888888888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napa, CA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great fun in Durango”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We found this rafting company online just before heading up to Durango, called and booked the Lower Animus 2 hour tour for the afternoon and were not disappointed. The trip on the river at this time of year was quite tame but we still had a few moments of thrills. Our guide Jack was friendly, knowledgable and professional. With two children, one 11 and the other 13, this was a great introductory excursion for them and a fun family outing. Definitely a welcome break from all the hiking and sightseeing we've been doing. Highly recommended.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank richjacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson
Level Contributor
168 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Fun and Family Friendly!”
Reviewed 12 July 2013

The guides are wonderful. The prices are reasonable. We took our 5 year old granddaughter and it was safe and fun. A great way to spend a couple hours while in town. Definitely would recommend!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mindbuster73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Southwest Raft & Jeep? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing