We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great show” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Henry Strater Theatre

Henry Strater Theatre
Ranked #27 of 64 things to do in Durango
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The world-renowned Henry Strater Theatre is one of the oldest and most prestigious continually running theatres in Colorado, tallying over 47 years of quality performances.
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
193 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Great show”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

I really enjoyed the show. Funny story with musical numbers interspersed. The cast was very funny. Little kids were cracking up at adults acting silly.

The olio was a bit disjointed broken up in three parts. But fun was had by all.

Helpful?
Thank SH1304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    21
    6
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A vaudeville fan for life”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

We watched our first vaudeville show here in 2011. It was a great experience and made us vaudeville fans for life. Whenever we travel we try to find vaudeville shows, but nothing can compare.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank dnsnmnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phoenix
Level Contributor
131 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Great fun!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

"The Dame of Durango" was a fun melodrama as the audience hissed at the villians and cheered for the good guys and gals. There were several vaudeville skits, also, during the two-hour show. The actors were all talented and very good singers. This is fun entertainment for all ages. The only problem is that the room is very crowded. Each table is about 24 inches in diameter and there are four chairs around each table. Our table A3 was right against the stage and the table of four people behind and beside us were smashed against us. The whole room was completely packed like that. There are two slightly elevated walled sections (one on each side) that hold one table each. I would make early reservations there if I were to go again. Also, the wait staff was very overworked with the crowd of people. This is a great fun evening, and I would definitely go again even giving the limitations.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank dela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great show but trouble with wait staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

I attended the opening night of "The Dame of Durango" with about 80 other conference-goers. The two-hour show was tremendous; a combination of melodrama and vaudeville where you are encouraged to boo and hiss at the villains and cheer the heroes. The cast of three males and eight females keeps you entertained throughout the evening. The problem was with the wait staff. They come around to take your order before the show and during intermission, but many in our group never received their orders. One poor gentleman placed an order for his table and ended up going to the bar to see why it had never been delivered. He picked it up there and paid cash. Later, the waitress came around and dropped off a bill at his table. He assumed it was just a receipt. The waitress returned 10 minutes later (during Act II) and demanded payment. He explained that it had already been paid for, but she insisted that he take it up with the manager. So he had to leave the show and argue with the manager. The bartender had gone home for the evening and couldn't vouch for our friend. When our friend pointed out that his party wouldn't have received their drinks unless they had been paid for, the manager relented and let him return to the show (without an apology). Needless to say, he was fuming and the theatre experience was ruined for him. I am sure the theatre will get these issues straightened out, as it was opening night for everyone.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank countryeditor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hesperus, Colorado
Level Contributor
67 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Songwriters Show!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

Saw Kent Blazy, Karyn Rochelle, and Cory Batten perform at the Strater on 10/12. What a great show for a great cause - Stillwater Foundation. Hoping they're back next year!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Terri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Henry Strater Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Henry Strater Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing