We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun and Scrumptious!”

Olde Schoolhouse Cafe
Ranked #68 of 196 Restaurants in Durango
Cuisines: Pizza
Restaurant details
Level Contributor
106 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fun and Scrumptious!”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Fun, fun, fun and the pizza was so good and I'm now a pizza person! We had a beer and a "Vinny" large pie. Stacy is the owner/bartender/pizza-maker and entertainment and she does it all beautifully! We hit the joint on our way back to Durango from a hike near Silverton. (This IS an old-school-house-turned bar, so don't expect anything else!)

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kanddDurango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    24
    6
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Moab, Utah
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Apres Ski at Purgatory”
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Excellent Pizza, fun bar scene in a good location where the employees will remember your name. Great drinks and quality tap beer, also pool and darts.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ed O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
1 review
“Great Pizza, Unique Atmosphere”
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Stopped here on advice of a local, after a sweaty mountain bike ride. The schoolhouse is a nondescript little white building on the east side of Hwy 550 in the "blink and you'll miss it" town of Needles. The pizza is FABULOUS- the sausage is particularly tasty, nice and spicy. There is good beer on tap (Ska), the staff is friendly and the atmosphere is great. The owner says he doesn't advertise because he doesn't need to. I believe it, because while we were there they did a brisk business of take out and eat-in orders. Clientele ranged from a group of 50-something ladies to a pair of cowboys shooting pool. It is a great place to sit at the bar and people-watch. Or play some shuffleboard :) We would go back in a heartbeat, and plan to eat here again anytime we are in the area!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durango, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This DIVE BAR has the best pizza in Durango.”
Reviewed 1 July 2013

I am a transplanted local for 6 years now. Hands down, they have the best pizza in Durango and very possibly the United States. I was born in Chicago by the way, have traveled all over the United States and my husband has traveled all over the world. The dough can be salty or not depending on who makes it. They never disclose who makes the dough that day. I love the dough and it's not as salty as some people say on here unless they have been on a low salt or no salt diet. The decor. I am laughing so hard at the cover photo on Trip Advisor. I am sure the owner or wait staff posted it as a joke. It's not what it looks like by far. When you walk in the bar is immediately in front of you. It looks like it has been there for 50 years and has scratches and bumper stickers on it. There are dollar bills all over the ceiling, painted with whatever message you choose to leave there. It has a pool table and two big tables in the back. Don't go there if you want to buy a bottle of wine there. I was there last night and some guy from out of town with kids tried this. There is a liquor store across the street. Call ahead and order your pizza. Get the wine and go home and drink it and eat your pizza. (Rolls eyes) who drinks wine with Pizza anyway? Geeez! Durango is a beer town, craft real beer. They have 4 breweries all with great beer. Order a Ska beer, Pinstripe, Mexican Logger or True Blonde. You will look like a local and the locals won't jeer at you for finding a true local hangout with great pizza with local beer. Do not order a Budweiser product. Dead giveaway you are probably from Texas. PBR's are okay. The people that go here are hard core hikers, skiers, snow boarders, rock climbers, bicyclist-IronHorse/Tour De France types, extreme mountain bikers, real cowboys, horse riders, motorcycle lovers. These kind of people. Rich people know the pizza is awesome and eat there too. They are not worried about how clean the carpet is there. They know that any minute in the winter you can have all of these people tracking in snow and dirt from the ski resort or back country off the grid skiers and snow boarders. Same goes for summer. People that have just come down out of the "back country" and have spent a month hiking and camping in the Mountains are not going to smell the best. Kids do love it there. It has that dive bar coolness about it that you will not get at some of the fancy pizza places in town. As far as the wait staff goes. Order at the bar and ask for your food at the bar. There is usually only two people working there. How much service do you expect when the place is packed, the phone is ringing off the wall and you have people wanting to order a bottle of wine? Geeez! This is not a place for whiners. People that eat here want their pizza and a drink to numb all those aches and pains from a great day in the mountains. Go to Aspen if you are whiners. Durango is for true cowboys and cowgirls of all types and sports. We are lucky to have this place. I do not know the owner. The bartenders come and go. Never had a bad one here in 6 years and I bet I have been many more times than posters here and I am not related nor do I know anyone that works there.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Penny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bayfield, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Funky Good Fun”
Reviewed 18 January 2013

This is a lowdown trashy bar with the absolute best pizza possible. Owners are great and go out of the way to give you the best. Don't expect anything fancy, You will get tasty. And expect to be treated neighborly, rough around the edges. We've been there dozens of times, and it's always a treat.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank iyq2babe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Olde Schoolhouse Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Olde Schoolhouse Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing