We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice dinner with the family”

Sow's Ear Dinner & Libations
Reserve with OpenTable
Sow's Ear Dinner & Libations is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #47 of 193 Restaurants in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, View, Child-friendly, Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Located inside the Silver Pick Lodge
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice dinner with the family”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Had a great meal with the family. The restaurant is very nice, had a nice view from our bay window looking up the mountain. My wife and daughter had the filet, my son had the burger, and I had the ribeye special. All our meals were delicious. The only reason for no 5 stars is the service was a little slow considering the place was about 30% full. Would I go there again? In a heartbeat, great wine selection, just be a little patient.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    29
    8
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wow - Highly recommend”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Duck confit spring rolls were OUT OF THIS WORLD! Delicious!! Ample serving for 2 people.

I had the petite filet, husband had (OK, I don't remember) but he LOVED it.

Great service! He didn't discriminate against us because we looked like slobs after spending the entire day driving across Co.

Very nice atmosphere, excellent selection on menu & wine list! Although we were only in Durango less than 2 days, we almost went back on day 2! Loved it that much:)

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Britt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boerne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mountain dining at the finest”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We celebrated a significant birthday July 8, 2014. Chrissy reserved a lovely(her favorite)table for us when my husband called to make the reservation. We had a lovely bottle of wine and ordered the small plates...a filet cooked perfectly, and elk tenderloin, which was a first and very good. Our salads were great and the tomato soup excellent. The bread basket was good and plentiful. The good tables are few, but the lodge and restaurant are so cozy. The kitchen is in plain sight. We thanked the chefs as we left. Service is timed well between courses, which we appreciated. If you are in a rush, this might not be your place. Lovely evening. We had a chocolate chip cookie and ice cream for dessert. Super. Highly recommend.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacque P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Food, VERY Slow Service”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The food is delicious. The decor is simplistic, rustic, and pretty. But we waited for over an hour and a half to get our food. When we finally asked our server when she thought our food would be ready, she was not apologetic at all and just told us that they were busy. There were several open tables, so I'm not sure that was really true. It would have been nice for our waitress to be at least a little apologetic. It's not a cheap meal, so you would expect some courtesy.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Meadow N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Too notch!”
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Best elk I have ever had! Service is very good! Food is 5 star! The menu has something for everyone! (Not kids)
Great wine selection. Pretty views:)

Helpful?
Thank Kaleamconner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sow's Ear Dinner & Libations also viewed

 

Been to Sow's Ear Dinner & Libations? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing