We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome”
Review of Cyprus Cafe

Cyprus Cafe
Ranked #23 of 196 Restaurants in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Waitress Megan wonderful, food devine, ambiance and music so relaxing. Ignore the naysayers......just go. You can just do small plates or a full meal. Dessert is devine.

Helpful?
2 Thank scrabcakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    97
    32
    17
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“You are paying for ambiance”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

This was a lovely setting, but the food is only mediocre and very overpriced. We luckily went with the cheapest menu items so didn't totally blow our budget, but it was still disappointing. Still, we were able to sit and talk while listening to lovely soft jazz. That is the nicest thing I can say.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank CRQT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great ambience, poor service and mediocre food”
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Our hopes were high for the Cyprus Cafe--the location was good, tucked between a cafe and a wine bar. The menu was delightful, interesting cocktails, appetizers, and specials. The two-man band was playing jazz. Looked perfect for the first night of our Colorado vacation. The hostess greeted and seated us quickly, and our waitress brought water and took our drink orders almost immediately. We ordered the combo appetizer and thoroughly enjoyed it. My partner ordered the special for his main course, and I ordered the soup of the day. When the food arrived, the main course (a pork loin three ways) looked tasty, but two bites in the center was cold. My partner asked the waitress if the loin was served cold and she said no. She offered to replace it, brought a plate and removed the meat from the table. Five minutes passed and she returned the same cut of cold pork loin to the table, steaming but still cold in the middle. We had never seen a restaurant return cold meat to the table, but the waitress said that's the say this chef handled problems and left. Following this exchange, she disappeared. She did not keep our water glasses filled or ask if she could refresh our drinks. Eventually, she came back to the table to tell us she was doing "damage control" at another table. She didn't notice that she had some "damage control" to do at our table. Finally, the hostess brought us our ticket, we paid and left. In all, this was a disappointing experience. It started off well but ended very badly. We will not be returning to the Cyprus Cafe.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank KelCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evergreen, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A great find in Durango”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

After being turned away at Guido's at 7:45 on a Saturday night because they didn't want to seat any more patrons for the night, two locals overheard (were very surprised and said the owner would be angry) and highly recommended Cyprus Cafe. It was our anniversary on the return trip from a family emergency. Cyprus staff was very welcoming. We had a drink next door at Eno while we waited for a table outside. They also own Eno. We both ordered the New York steak special. It was delicious. The outside patio was wonderful on a summer night. I would recommend Cyprus.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank L2Y261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Exceptional Meal and Setting”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

While walking down East 2nd Avenue, we came upon this small restaurant with wonderful Patio Jazz entertainment and GREAT food ! Our party of three enjoyed the music, wine and an exceptional meal.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jay T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Cyprus Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing