We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could not find the joint :(” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ska Brewing Co.

Ska Brewing Co.
Ranked #32 of 190 Restaurants in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: "It takes characters to brew beer with character." Brewing in Durango, Colorado since 1995. We call it a tasting room because that's what you'll want to do here. Flagships, seasonals and unique beers that only a few ever get to try-they're all on tap here for your tasting indulgence. It's a modern-day tasting room experience with a casual food truck culture. Make yourself at home. Grab a seat anywhere you'd like, check out the upstairs, join the community, start a conversation-make new friends! There's beer at the bar and vittles at The Container of Food. If you're unfamiliar, we're a manufacturing facility. We brew beer-a lot of beer. We put it in cans and bottles for sale around the globe. There's a lot going on here! If you want to learn more, we offer free tours of our fantastical 100% wind-powered brew fortress at 4p Monday through Saturday. Oh, and there's a beer garden too! With green grass and delicious food. All the makings of a pretty amazingsome day.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
238 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Could not find the joint :(”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

We could not find this place. After being misguided twice, we decided to continue forward with our trip. Loved everything we tried (by Ska) elsewhere. Next time we will find you. next time!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank fitz49525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    46
    12
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
148 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Glad we stopped”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

I have often wanted to visit the SKA Brewery while in a Durango however Their location is some what off the tourist attraction path. The brewery is an actual brewing and packaging facility in a light industrial area. This trip we stopped in on a Saturday and found it very enjoyable. The pub was really nice with typical taproom style tables and chairs, flat screen TV and a small stage for a band, none playing on this visit. The weather was beautiful and there are picnic tables outside to enjoy. The staff was very friendly and knowledgable of the craft beers. A concession offers pizza and sandwiches for customers. They also offer tours of their brewery and packaging operation, check with them for the times. We enjoyed our visit and were very glad that we had gotten to stop by. I would recommend this restaurant/ tap room to anyone interested in visiting an actual brewing operation and completing the tour of craft breweries in Durango.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Junction
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awsome beer, and great burger”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

This place is great, not only do they have a lot of different beer on tap that changes regularly, but they also have thier beer pre packaged in bottles, cans, growlers and mixed sample packs. They have great special every night of the week and sell their own swag. The food here is also very good I had the burger with cheddar, bacon, and green chili, which was fresh, very hard to find outside of NM. I also tried the pig bread which consisted of pizza dough, their voodoo sauce which has a kick, it gets hotter as you eat it, but it has great flavor, also has feta cheese, red onion, cilantro, and smoked pork. They also have area to view canning process.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Erick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“missed opportunity”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

We really wanted to try this place but it didn't work out. I couldn't find food information on their web site, and the hours are limited. It's half a block up the hill from Homewood Suites Hotel (in the industrial park). The eating area is fairly small, it almost looks like an afterthought to the brewery, i.e., a place to get a quick bite and brew when you get off work. The pizza/sandwich/1 salad menu did look intriguing, though.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank s s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, MS
2 reviews
“Wings and Beer Good Female Bar Staff RUDE”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

Our first visit. Arrived at 6:45pm on a Saturday night (closes at 7:00pm). We just wanted a snack and a few beers. Our party of four sat at table waited but no one acknowledged our arrival. Went to Bar to ask for assistance was told by young Female behind bar, doing her best to ignore me, "we're closing soon". Looked around Brewery clearly packed and pizza guy still making pizzas. Asked if we ordered food from her or just beer. She pointed to the back of Brewery where pizzas are being made in wood oven and said "you can order over there but we are closing soon", (she must have had somewhere to go). Pizza guy very friendly and accommodating when I asked if it was too late to order food he said "No not at all". Ordered one order of Jerk Wings and three beers. Beer nothing special, wings were good.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank xxaabb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Ska Brewing Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing