We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food, great atmosphere, friendly people.”

El Moro Spirits & Tavern
Reserve with OpenTable
El Moro Spirits & Tavern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #27 of 196 Restaurants in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$29
Cuisines: American, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: El Moro Spirits & Tavern was created in the building that once housed the El Moro Saloon in the early 1900's. The food is modern-rustic: common foods from the early 20th century created with modern culinary techniques. Handcrafted cocktails, an extensive beer list and forty wines, all approachable & affordable, grace our beverage menu.
Indio, California, United States
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, great atmosphere, friendly people.”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

This restaurant was recommended by one of the locals and we are glad she told us about it. A farm to table process ensures fresh and delicious food. The beet & apple salad was great and the presentation wonderful. The pasta dish with fennel also wonderful and the portions are good. A beautiful space and fun, creative bathrooms you have to see. The people are so friendly and nice. We may go back again tomorrow night before we leave town. If you go to Durango, go here! A casual, yet elegant setting.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Judith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    53
    15
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
“A Gem”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

A gem in Main Street Durango. We were greeted by Dave the manager there and it was soon apparent that I had met my match beer geek wise...we sampled some wonderful beers and his service and knowledge was simply amazing...definitely go when you next visit Durango!....Tony C

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durango, Colorado
1 review
“Excellent!!”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Moved to Durango a week ago and have already eaten here twice with my wife. All four dishes we have had have been excellent! Food is fresh and delicious, staff is knowledgeable/nice, and the atmosphere is amazing!!

Truly a must go!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Phillip J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Awesome”
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

David (Manager) was the man, made the visit a truly fantastic time. Knew a lot about beer, fantastic recommendations, great good, great conversation. We will be back. Recommended.

Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durango
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A mixed review”
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

This was our first time at El Moro, we had heard good things from others and I have to say they were pretty accurate except for one thing.
We went for Father's Day brunch and were surprised that it wasn't packed. We were seated right away, greeted by the waitress promptly and received our drinks. Placed our order and waited and waited and waited. 45 minutes. Now there were only 8 other tables. The waitress was at our table several times to apologize even saying the manager was going to bring our food so we could talk to him. Instead another wait person brought it while the manager stood behind the bar drinking a red bull. When the food did arrive it was very good. We will return because of the food and the waitress, the manager not so much. It's disappointing to know he'd rather hang out as opposed to address some problems for his customers.

Helpful?
1 Thank Duffy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Moro Spirits & Tavern also viewed

 

Been to El Moro Spirits & Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing