We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food - poor service”
Review of Himalayan Kitchen

Himalayan Kitchen
Ranked #18 of 196 Restaurants in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$30
Cuisines: Nepalese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Buffet, Reservations
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very good food - poor service”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Menu variety was excellent and the two curry dishes that my husband and I ordered were very tasty. The restaurant itself was comfortable with an eclectic Asian decor. Our only complaint was the extremely poor service that we experienced. Once our meals were delivered we did not see our waiter again, until after our meal was completed and we had to ask another waiter and two other employees to please locate our waiter so that we could pay our bill and leave. No one cleared our dirty dishes, no one asked us if we would like dessert or another glass of wine. Our waiter finally appeared with the bill; we expressed our surprise with his lack of service and left. What a shame, as this is certainly a unique and welcome food experience in Durango.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mast22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    107
    27
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina, United States
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We went to the lunch buffet here while we were visiting Durango. The food is delicious and the service outstanding. Good vibe at this place.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Caroline E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Tasty Nepalese and Indian Cuisine”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

My wife cannot have anything containing gluten, which typically leads us pursue more Asian style cuisine. Needless to say, this place was pretty good, offering a plethora of gluten-free options and reasonably priced meals. The buffet is not terribly large; however, the food served is indeed very tasty. Additionally, the naan here was the best I have ever had at any restaurant. If you are in the Durango area give this place a spin! Enjoy!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DruBones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Find!”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We tried this restaurant to eat something different. Sure glad we did! The food was EXCELLENT.
The menu offered a full page of vegetarian dishes. With the help of our server's suggestions we both had the Kankra Salad (tomatoes, cucumbers & cilantro) and Malai Kofta (vegetable/nut balls in a curry sauce). Both were GREAT! I ate slowly to savor the flavors. Service and atmosphere are both very good. There was a good crowd so the restaurant appeared to be popular. The couple next to us seemed to be regulars. Can't wait to go back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fran G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reeds Spring
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Menu on Trip Advisor not correct”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Menu on trip advisor from previous restaurant at this location. My wife and I went here on Sept 27th based in the menu posted on Trip Advisor and when we sat down and saw the menu it wasn't what we expected so I showed the waiter and he said that the menu on Trip advisor is from previous restaurant. We went elsewhere.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Himalayan Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Himalayan Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing