We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Himalayan Kitchen

Himalayan Kitchen
Ranked #15 of 190 Restaurants in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$30
Cuisines: Indian, Tibetan, Nepalese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
WA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

It was our first time to try this ethic food. I had chicken vindaloo and garlic naan. The chicken vindaloo was delicious and the garlic naan was okay. My husband got daal soup and Annapurna beef, the soup was good, but the beef dish was just okay. The portion of the beef was small and greasy. We both liked the complimentary appetizer, it tasted really light and crispy, and the sauce was very tasty. The service was quick and our server was polite.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Natacha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    102
    25
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, Pennsylvania, Usa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“So authentic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

We had a fantastic meal here. My family loves all forms of ethnic cuisine and where we live, there are NO Himalayan restaurants. I had a Yak Curry and it was fantastic. All the food was good and the service was wonderful. A truly memorable meal.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank surreyhillwhippets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lunch buffet review”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

Although I've come often for the lunch buffet, I've never been here for dinner, so I can't comment on that experience. I always enjoy the lunch buffet's tasty food and feel it's a very good value for the money. The restaurant is clean and pleasant, with an unhurried atmosphere for lunching with friends or family.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ReadyToTravel77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Only come for the food. Especially if you don't mind waiting.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

I had high hopes for this restaurant, but was disappointed. They don't have an efficient system of seating, and we were sat way too close to other people, about a foot and a half away. It took 10 minutes to get waters that had no ice, another 5 to get our food order in, and we did not see our food until 50 minutes after we had initially sat down. 50. Very poor service, no smiles from any employee except one, and we had to track someone down to get a drink refilled. the food, when it finally arrived, was fantastic. I guess we learned our lesson.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank caterwaul_curio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best in Months”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

Four of us from Santa Fe, NM (known for its great restaurants) ate at the Himalayan Kitchen and loved the food. Two had the chicken korma, one had the lamb korma, and I had the first Chef's special with shrimp. All four dishes were excellent. It was quite a treat because we were looking for something different and spicy and this restaurant fit the bill. My only complaint was the lighting which could have been turned down which would have added to the atmosphere and dining experience immensely.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ellen135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Himalayan Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Himalayan Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing