We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Favorite Mexican Restaurant”

Gazpacho New Mexican Cooking Y Cantina
Ranked #29 of 196 Restaurants in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Voted Durango's 2010 & 2011 Best Mexican Restaurant
Midland Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“My Favorite Mexican Restaurant”
Reviewed 31 August 2014

My favorite Mexican retaurant, hands down! I can't say enough good things about this place.Great food!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    286
    148
    67
    37
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Greeley, Colorado
Level Contributor
138 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“When they say stuffed, they mean stuffed!”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This restaurant is about 2 blocks away from the Durango-Silverton Railroad station. We arrived around lunchtime at the very enthusiastic suggestion of our daughter-in-law. We started off with margaritas and chips and salsa. We also ordered guacamole and we got 3 big scoops of delicious guacamole and fresh chips. The red salsa was delicious but I was focused on that fresh guac! For our main course we ordered the stuffed chicken sopapillas. Some of us tried their pasole while others had the rice. The sopapilla was absolutely bursting with very tender white meat chicken and had melted cheese over the top. Their smothering green chile was superb. Of course we made room for dessert sopapillas complete with local honey and also honey butter. Does it get any better than that?! We were as stuffed as our sopapilla so took a little walk around town before getting back in the car. Don't miss this place! Very colorful decor and the wait staff was great.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ireland2010Colorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Value off of Main street”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Great food and service is spot on. Beers are cold, mixed drinks are tasteful and not light. Largest selection of different types of Tequilas in Durango. Hidden gem as a money saving spot....

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jaymus P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Favorite Mexican”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Great food and Reasonably priced. My favorite part about this restaurant is that it isn't right on main st. The only thing I would suggest is that they have free chips and salsa. Almost EVERY Mexican place serves complimentary chips and salsa.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marcella J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
87 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Stopped for dinner after the train”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Close restaurant to the train depot and was recommended by a local. The margaritas were great. The place has kinda of a tight feel but we enjoyed the meals we had and it was served in a timely manner. A little spicy but it worked for us.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank JandJ539
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gazpacho New Mexican Cooking Y Cantina also viewed

 

Been to Gazpacho New Mexican Cooking Y Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing