We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Durango Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Durango Lodge
Ranked #20 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Fantastic Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2008

We stayed at the Durango Lodge for 2 nights recently. We loved the experience! The rooms were nicer than you generally find in the chain motels. It had central A/C which meant that it was a lot quieter at night. The bathroom was large with a nice walk in shower. The best part of the Durango Lodge was the location. It is only a block from the train station, which is handy for the early morning trains (as well as a saving as you have to pay for parking at the train station) It is right at the edge of the historic downtown section, so you can walk everywhere in town you could possibly want to go to. Which is a good thing as the downside of the Durango Lodge is that they do not have enough parking. We would not want to have moved our car for the two days as we were unsure we would ever be able to get another parking spot!! But you don't need the car in town anyway, so it was not a big deal. There was a nice pool and indoor hot tub available. Another downside to this hotel is the breakfast. The food is available in the tiny office, but there is no room to sit, so you have to take the food back to your room to eat. This is not convenient, and you end up spilling the drinks. A proper breakfast room would be much better!! But aside from breakfast and parking problems, this place was wonderful. The next time we go to Durango, I can't imagine staying anywhere else. The location and the price made this place a real find.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — parking and breakfast
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BJPToronto_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    119
    45
    8
    11
See reviews for
63
120
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2007

At the Durango Lodge, you will get a solid value in a town of run-down or overpriced properties. This is right in the middle, with a fantastic location to boot. Locally owned and family run, I've stayed at this property over 15 times on business and always knew what to expect. Clean rooms, great rates (even in high season), extremely close walking distance to charming downtown and good food, 2 doors down from bagels and a movie theatre, right at the tourist train station, and friendly staff. Parking is convenient (in a downtown where parking is hard to come by). Breakfast is so so, but you get enough. Some rooms have lovely balconies with flowers in Spring.

  • Liked — location and price
  • Disliked — breakfast
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2007

We stayed at the Durango Lodge for one night recently and I couldn't wait to leave. The room smelled so bad that even a strongly scented candle and air freshener couldn't ease the smell. I had trouble sleeping, wondering what kind of mold my children were breathing in. When checking in I asked about the must sees in Durango and the woman at the desk told me I should go to a park 40 minutes away! Then she gave us incorrect directions to Ft. Lewis College. The location for this lodge is definately a plus, but there is no way I would recommend this place to anyone I care about. I was so anxious to leave, we didn't even stick around for the "contintental" breakfast, which the woman told me was bagels. I was also disappointed because I had read the positive reviews on this website. If ever in Durango avoid this one!!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — odor
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeks3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indianapolis
Level Contributor
305 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2007

The rooms were clean. The bathroom was big and had a walk in shower which was a nice change from the tub/shower. The noise from the train didn't bother us at all. There is limited parking, but is very close to the train station.

  • Liked — the large bathroom
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank philangie6370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
93 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2007

Best location for the train to Silverton and withing easy walking distance of historic downtown. Room was comfortable and quiet.

Only downside is if you have the first Summer train of the day boarding at 7AM. Office does not open for breakfast until 7AM, so you must make other arrangements.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank GOMSUDogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2007

The Durango Lodge has a good location near the train station in the historic district. Be advised that you will be awakened daily by the train whistle at 6:00AM. We had a small ,but nice room that appeared to have been remodeled. The breakfast fare was ok - bagels, cereal, oatmeal. Hot tub was nice. For the price, it was a good stay. My only complaint would be the staff. The front desk staff appeared to have little desire to speak with guests and was not knowledgeable about the activities of the town.

Enjoyed the Mexican restaurant next door called Gazpacho. Salsa is on the hot side there but we were told they cater to the local's taste.

Enjoyed the walking trail along the river. Great place for bike riding and hiking. Loved visiting Durango.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Pearsob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2006

The best thing to say about the Durango Lodge is that it is a few steps away from the Train Depot. Very convenient to downtown shops and restaurants too. But the rooms are nothing special for the price, cluttered and the air conditioning didn't work. If you want something close downtown I guess this is okay but don't expect to be spending time in the dreary rooms.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — room
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank SoLong22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.5 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#3 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
0.5 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#7 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
0.5 mi away
Rochester Hotel & Bar
Rochester Hotel & Bar
#9 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.7 mi away
Durango Downtown Inn
Durango Downtown Inn
#22 of 33 in Durango
3.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durango Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durango Lodge

Property: Durango Lodge
Address: 150 E 5th, Durango, CO
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Durango Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small motel in downtown Durango. Clean, comfortable, reasonably priced! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Durango Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durango Hotel Durango

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing