We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Durango Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Durango Lodge
Ranked #20 of 33 Hotels in Durango
moore tx
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great stay!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

Clean, nice professional people. Breakfast was good. Location was great and price was great. Felt very safe, door locks and keys were up to date. Management was concerned with saving water and being green. Would definitely choose to stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saltsandse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    119
    45
    8
    11
See reviews for
63
120
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Big Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
68 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

After checking out the prices at the historic hotel downtown ($150+), we stopped here and paid half that for a room. The room they gave us was really nice, recently remodeled and very comfy! We walked downtown for dinner and a little wandering. Breakfast was included, and I was very happy to have some yogurt included this time instead of the usual bagels, cereal and waffles. The only drawback was the thin walls, we were awakened around midnight by the very amorous couple next door! Definitely worth checking out, but you might want to have earplugs along. ; )

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holmz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

I usually don't like staying in the heart of town, but this time we needed to. The hotel is extremely close to everything downtown. The parking is very tight. There are two rows running down the train side of the hotel and there are some places front. We got the last space and luckily it was still after a late night run to grocery store. We visiting after the holidays, so wasn't crowded. I only mention this because someone parked on the side street and had an unpleasant surprise the next morning (huge dent). The backside or long hall of the hotel is slightly lower than the main building. A little funky, but it works. The carpet was extremely worn but fairly clean (no odors). The walls are tad thin, we woke in the morning to some yelling and arguing. The room was clean and the mattresses were great. One huge plus, we got a balcony. The price was excellent. I will stay again because of the balcony, mattress and price.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EEMDallasTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

We spent one night at the Durango Lodge in December 2013. The motel is in an excellent location for exploring downtown Durango on foot. The staff was polite and extremely accommodating, especially Andrea and Fran at the front desk. This will be our top pick should we ever return to Durango for another visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dolores, Colorado
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

We live about 45 minutes out of town so when we want to make a night of it we stay at the Durango Lodge. This is the land of overpriced hotels and most of them are not within walking distance of downtown. There is one cab company and they charge accordingly. There is a free trolley if you are further North on Main. Parking is expensive and non-exsitent most of the time.
The Durango Lodge offers a basic but clean room for about 62 bucks plus tax for a double. It is in a great location and you can walk to everything. Parking is free.
If you are just in town for a night out this is the place. Also if you are passing through and want to be close to the many great restaurants in town for the evening. Its a block from the train.
If you are going to spluge downtown try the Strater or the Best Western Rio Grande.Otherwise if you want location and a bed this is the place.
Be wary of some of the cheaper places on North Main. Some, not all, are also long term rentals with a colorfull clientel. Cheers!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank koby w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

I booked this lodge a couple weeks in advance after looking for a few places around the train station. My husband and I were taking our two young children to see the Polar Express. We loved that it was in walking distance, and my husband wanted to support a local business. For us, we drove over 3 hours to go on the Polar Express. We arrived at the lodge an hour and a half early. Most hotels/motels will let you check in earlier than the listed check-in. The older woman at the front desk barely looked at me. I told her we had a reservation, which she verified. She informed me that check-in wasn't until 3:00, and the maids haven't released any of the rooms. But she treated me like I will not absolutely get checked in until 2:30, like that was a favor to me. Okay, fine. I went out to tell my husband, and found two kiddos that needed to use the restroom (as well as myself). I figured I am patronizing her business, she will let us use the restroom until she can check us in. No, absolutely not. No public restrooms. So refusing to help us out, or get off her rear and see if at least one room was ready was the last straw. She treated my husband and I like dirt. So back out the car I go with two kids. I sent my husband in for the third and final time to cancel. She informed us that unless she filled the room, she would charge the room anyway because it was within the 24-hour cancellation period. He said to go ahead and try, we'll file a dispute with the credit card company and she won't get paid anyway. We then went up the highway a bit and found a national chain hotel that would take us right away. Now that is customer service....and no, as of three days later, no charge on my card. You treat future clientele like dirt, expect a crappy review.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stefanie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
96 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

We booked this lodge in late Sept because it was in walking distance to the train station. upon entering there was a very musty odor eminating from the halls. Obvoiusly from years of use. The odor was undescribable. Once in the room there was little relief. By bed time my sinuses were giving me problems like I have never had before - just kind of stuffy. It went away the next day when I was outside for a couple hours on the train. Will not stay here again unless there are improvements.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mccaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.5 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#3 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
0.5 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#7 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
0.5 mi away
Rochester Hotel & Bar
Rochester Hotel & Bar
#9 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.7 mi away
Durango Downtown Inn
Durango Downtown Inn
#22 of 33 in Durango
3.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durango Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durango Lodge

Property: Durango Lodge
Address: 150 E 5th, Durango, CO
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Durango Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small motel in downtown Durango. Clean, comfortable, reasonably priced! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Durango Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durango Hotel Durango

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing