We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location Downtown”
Review of Durango Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Durango Lodge
Ranked #20 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Gunnison, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Location Downtown”
Reviewed 3 September 2014

I chose this spot for its proximity to downtown, and was not disappointed. The pool was super clean, beds were comfy. Plenty of parking and right across the street from Poppy's, a great sandwich spot. We were there one night, it was a great stay! The only reason for a 4-star was the price, $160 for a double queen.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bewbs_yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    122
    46
    9
    11
See reviews for
66
125
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

I stayed at Durango Lodge based on the reviews. However, it was a weekend and the trains runs a special called the Blues involves music and lot of drinking. If you do not mind the intoxicated people making loud noises while returning to there place of rest than it is ok. If I had known about the transportation system and the schedule I may have gone that route for the cheaper rooms and a bit more of quiet.
The parking spaces are tight and there are those who have not learned to share the space and take up two. Nothing like making a fresh pot of coffee only to find used filter and grind already there. Check the expiration date on the Milk container at breakfast I tossed out milk dated August18th it was August 24th when it was tossed. The shower drain would back up and left over soap was in the soap dish. My wife and I had a great time on the train and visiting the attractions nearby, however I most likely will not stay there again

Room Tip: Do not choose room 118 by the stairs late arrivals drag their luggage to the second floor and you ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moranbah, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

While it is a good location you pay for that as room was small and just okay.parking is poor.although checkout was 11.00 we had a housemaid knocking at our door at 8.30 was not to impressed as she seemed upset she had to come back. After that we didn't bother with breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

We were really pleased with our stay here. It may not be the newest place around, but it seemed to be very well maintained, very clean and the staff was quite friendly. We'd go back in a heartbeat. We wished that we'd stayed there more than the one night we did!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Amy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

room was ok, it was kinda on the small side.there really wasn't much to the continental breakfast. the parking was horrible.The best thing It had going for it is the location.front desk staff was pleasant.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heymo2310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Florida, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We had a nice two nights stay at the Durango Lodge. Our room was spacious, clean, with comfortable beds. The front desk staff was very friendly and welcoming.
The hotel is located in downtown Durango, only one block away from the Durango & Silverton Narrow Gouge Railroad Station. Breakfast is included, and consists of bagels and cream cheese, pastries, fruit, oatmeal, cereal, orange juice and coffee. The breakfast area is in the lobby, which is very small, but that only helped us get acquainted with other travelers and exchange travel tips around the area. There is a swimming pool and hot Jacuzzi available to guests but we did not use it. I recommend this hotel if visiting Durango, CO. Price is comparable with other hotels in the area, but the location is excellent.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jast64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

I have stayed here several times over the last thirty years. I have found it in various states of repair.

This year it was darn near perfect. The room could be out of a hilton. New everything. It was very hot here. The AC worked great. The bed was outstanding. I am very please.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank SH1304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.5 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#6 of 33 in Durango
468 reviews
2.8 mi away
Adventure Inn Durango
Adventure Inn Durango
#2 of 33 in Durango
241 reviews
0.5 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#9 of 33 in Durango
1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
0.7 mi away
Durango Downtown Inn
Durango Downtown Inn
#22 of 33 in Durango
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durango Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durango Lodge

Property: Durango Lodge
Address: 150 E 5th, Durango, CO
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Durango Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small motel in downtown Durango. Clean, comfortable, reasonably priced! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Durango Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durango Hotel Durango

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing