We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OKAY but convenient”
Review of Durango Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Durango Lodge
Ranked #20 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Key West, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Just OKAY but convenient”
Reviewed 10 October 2006

The best thing to say about the Durango Lodge is that it is a few steps away from the Train Depot. Very convenient to downtown shops and restaurants too. But the rooms are nothing special for the price, cluttered and the air conditioning didn't work. If you want something close downtown I guess this is okay but don't expect to be spending time in the dreary rooms.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — room
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank SoLong22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    122
    46
    9
    11
See reviews for
66
125
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Branchville, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2006

I stayed at the Durango Lodge during fourth of July week. I chose this hotel because I was booked on the Independence Day Express, and knew it was the closest to the railroad which got back in the wee hours that next morning. I thought the room was very nice and I really enjoyed my stay there. I would stay at this hotel again. You have access to the best Durango has to offer within walking distance---restaurants, shops,bars--the whole experience. This hotel definitely puts you in the center of the action. Durango is a wonderful town--this was my second trip out from South Carolina.

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank Carolinaboy67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedarburg
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2006

We chose this property as part of a week-plus driving trip around the country. It was conveniently located in downtown Durango within walking distance to the railroad, shops and restaurants.

The hotel was okay. Our room overlooked the street and the main stairway, so it was very loud well into the night. There were a number of children staying there at the time (the Thomas the Tank railway event was going on) and we could hear them running up and down the halls well until 11 p.m./midnight. We could also hear people yelling on the street. If we had to do it all over again, I would have requested a different room toward the back or overlooking the inner parking lot.

Our room was small (probably because it is an older motor lodge), but clean. There was a nice-sized refrigerator in the room; no bath, just a shower stall. We also liked the fact that it was family owned.

The hotels nicest features are its location and its outdoor pool and enclosed spa (outdoors). The complimentary breakfast was all cold options, but it was free. We opted instead for a local coffee shop (bypass the Starbucks and keep walking, there are excellent local alternatives.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank HolidayRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2006

This motel was perfectly located - easy walk to the train station or to downtown shopping and restaurants. It was clean - very cheerful with window boxes and blooming flowers. Would definitely stay here again.

Helpful?
7 Thank Albuqborn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2006

Rooms were clean and the staff were polite including help with 'where to go and what to do'. Good value for money and an excellent location for the main street - a couple of minutes walk.

The breakfast is very basic but did not detract from a positive experience.

The small outdoor pool was closed.

Parking right outside the rooms.

I will stop here again!!!

  • Stayed April 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank cantoncross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2005

We stayed at the Durango Lodge recently, and considering how costly the downtown hotels are, it's a good deal. The lodge is similar to a Travel Lodge or Best Western, but it is more expensive because you are paying for the location. It's still cheaper than the fancy places like the Strater and the Palmer. Our room was spacious and clean, with extra pillows and blankets in the room. The front desk staff were very nice and helpful, and there's a hot tub (which we didn't use). It's very convenient; you can walk to anywhere downtown. The continental breakfast wasn't too appealing, but it never is in places like this. If you're willing to stay outside of downtown and drive in, you can find cheaper places, but if you want to be in town this is probably one of the best deals you will find.

Stayed August 2005
Helpful?
7 Thank ChelseaGirl98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mid Atlantic Regiion
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2005

Date: August 3, 2005
The Durango Lodge is great, it is located next to the Railroad. We had a balcony room with a king size bed. It was very clean and the staff was very kind and helpful. The lodge is in downtown Durango so you can walk to the marvelous restrantants and other sights. We rode on the Railroad, it is a trip not to be missed and we also visied Mesa Verde. Awesome does not describe the sight of the cliff dwellings.

Helpful?
10 Thank irishbeachgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.5 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#6 of 33 in Durango
462 reviews
0.5 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#7 of 33 in Durango
1,035 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
0.7 mi away
Durango Downtown Inn
Durango Downtown Inn
#22 of 33 in Durango
347 reviews
2.8 mi away
Adventure Inn Durango
Adventure Inn Durango
#2 of 33 in Durango
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durango Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durango Lodge

Property: Durango Lodge
Address: 150 E 5th, Durango, CO
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Durango Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small motel in downtown Durango. Clean, comfortable, reasonably priced! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Durango Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durango Hotel Durango

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing