We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Out of town, but very cheap, clean and friendly.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spanish Trails Inn and Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Spanish Trails Inn and Suites
Ranked #31 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Out of town, but very cheap, clean and friendly.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

Really good little motel, very cheap ($40 queen, in peak season) friendly, clean and comfortable. A/c a little noisy, but did the trick. Considering its out of town, felt safe too. Supermarket across the street makes up for lack of facilities inside the rooms. Only major drawback for this place is the location - certainly not town centre, a good hours walk into downtown Durango - however, its on the main drag, which is served by regular FREE trolleys, that take you into and out of town all day. We had no problems using this, even late at night. Overall, great stay, great bargain.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Char30888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    16
    35
    15
    22
See reviews for
19
43
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

Our room was quiet, clean and comfortable. The room had a fridge and microwave. It was roomy and had a good bed (king). We were there on July 4, and I think it was a relatively good value. Front desk was couteous and friendly. Recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rob e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

We were very worried about our room before we got there! Had booked the room & then heard not so good review! Totally wrong! Very comfortable king bed, room was clean & roomy! The only thing missing was a coffee maker, but there was a Starbuck's across street. We will definitely stay at this motel again! Staff was very accomodating & friendly! Thank you for that!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blondebiker56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bisbee, Arizona
Level Contributor
79 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

I would give a 2.5. The carpet, a very old one, held a less than pleasant odor. Beds were okay, a little too soft. Pleasant staff, polite accommodating young man. Not a great crowd staying there. Had a fridge and microwave. AC did work ok.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

Don't let the outside of this motel fool you! Room appeared clean and staff were nice but that is about it for favorable comments. For $69 I wasn't expecting palace but... No clock, no hair dryer, exposed carpet tack (which I stepped on), no hooks or bar for wet towels, terrible wifi signal, no coffee in room... I could go on. At least find somewhere cheaper if what I've said doesn't bother you.

Room Tip: Look around at a number of travel sites before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Durango hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

After reading several unfavorable reviews on this property, I must admit we were somewhat skeptical of renting a room there. Fears were totally unfounded. Room was clean, beds were comfortable, air conditioning, shower and refrigerator worked well...no complaints whatsoever. There are few things in this world that are "perfect". We have come to the conclusion that there are a lot of "glass half empty" people out there with too much time on their hands. Thanks for the good nights rest!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Finley14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

I came through town from Phoenix last week. Many other hotels were full or much too expensive. The Spanish Trails was wonderful and all you could expect for the reasonable price. The staff were very friendly. The trolly station was right outside the hotel, which went downtown and up to the college. The entire experience was pleasant and I will most definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Morris3363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durango hotels
1.1 mi away
EconoLodge Inn & Suites - Durango
2.0 mi away
Iron Horse Inn
Iron Horse Inn
#12 of 33 in Durango
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.3 mi away
Knights Inn Durango CO
Knights Inn Durango CO
#2 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
#6 of 33 in Durango
4.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
0.2 mi away
Caboose Motel
Caboose Motel
#23 of 33 in Durango
3.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.2 mi away
Durango Travelodge
Durango Travelodge
#30 of 33 in Durango
3.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spanish Trails Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spanish Trails Inn and Suites

Property: Spanish Trails Inn and Suites
Address: 3141 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301-4246
Region: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Spanish Trails Inn and Suites 1.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Spanish Trails Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spanish Trails Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing