We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful & Safe Area, Would go back again.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Durango
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Durango Riverside Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful & Safe Area, Would go back again.”
Reviewed 13 August 2010

Pros: Great Location, we liked being 12 miles north of Durango. Campers very friendly, and we felt safe. The staff was helpful and picks up your trash daily from your site. Hot water every time we showered. We stayed in a tent and our site had its own fire ring, picnic table, parking space, and water spigot. You can also get a site with electricity. It was nice to have a laundromat there.
Cons: Our tent site did slope a little and there were lots of ants. The showers need to be cleaned at least once a day because they get muddy from use.
Overall, we would go back again. We had a great time.
Reserve well in advance for a good tent or RV site.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArizAmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    29
    8
    15
    8
See reviews for
59
25
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
86 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2010

The staff was friendly, restrooms/showers clean, children's activities and close to attractions. We stayed in our vintage camper with 2 children (6 &15). The kids enjoyed the game room, swimming pool and nightly movies. We did not use the restaurant. The store appeared well stocked and contained basic camping goods and t-shirts. Our site was comfortable and the area was clean and quiet. We did walk to the cabins which looked really nice on the river.

Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank sueandmikeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2010

I was given a site that my rig would not fit into, and when I went to the office I was offered no real assistance. The site I was told I could move in to looked good, but then the camp host told me it was very dusty, and since there seems to be no real attempt to control the speed of vehicles in the park, it was. And then it was noisy well into the night, and as early as three thirty in the mornings.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonEChandler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2010

Very nice 3 room cabin we stayed in, and the location is right on the river. It was very nice to wake up to in the morning. Rooms were clean and neat. The mattresses which are supplied in the cabins are hard and not comfortable at all. I suggest bring along some kind of mattress topper for a better nights sleep. The camping site was very clean and the staff maintained the area very nice. Had one small maintenance item I reported to the staff, but was never fixed the during our stay. No big deal. I would stay there again. We had a great time.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3rcamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waco, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 20 May 2010

We had only planned to stay at Durango for a couple of days, but when we arrived & found what a nice park it was, we had trouble leaving. We had a site next to the Animas River and ended up staying for 4 nights. The staff went out of their way to make our stay pleasant. The park is very well taken care of & the small problems that did arise were remedied immediately. Their location is great, only about 12 miles from Durango and about 20 miles from Silverton. They are far enough away from the main road that you cannot hear any highway noise; so you can just sit back and relax and listen to the sound of the river. We would definitely recommend this park to anyone, and we are looking forward to returning soon.

Thanks to all at Riverside resort for making our vacation so enjoyable.
Mike & Joyce Peyton

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike1245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2010

my husband and i stayed at the resort twice last year. we are always greeted with friendly staff and clean facilities. our cabin was clean and restful. the sound of the river passing by just lulls us to sleep. the grounds are clean and well manicured. the pool is heated and very clean. we stayed 10 days in june and 12 days in sept. our vacation is made enjoyable by the staff. if you want a relaxing place to stay, this is it.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 12fjamingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san diego
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2009

We were offered a free night stay as a membership drive. We accepted the offer because we wanted to take the Silverton to Durango train and stay over night to return to Silverton. It turned out that the train was full. I called the manager (Scott) to explain why we could not be there (we were in Silverton and had passed through Durango and did not want to drive back). Scott seemed to understand the situation, but we were charged $100 for the "free" cabin. The registration form indicated that there would be a charge (amount unstated) we we cancelled in less than 72 hours prior to the reservation. This would be impossible since we were ready to board the train and be there in 3 or 4 hours.

They don't even have the honor to return my phone calls or emails and the Sales rep. in Silverton: Janelle Brown did not return my call also.

I get the impression that the management believes that they can do whatever they wish since there appears no way someone from out of state can reach them. They present a very negative impression of Colorado tourism.

Kenn Colclasure
San Diego, CA

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vesl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durango hotels
13.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
9.4 mi away
Iron Horse Inn
Iron Horse Inn
#13 of 33 in Durango
315 reviews
13.5 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#7 of 33 in Durango
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Durango
Hampton Inn Durango
#4 of 33 in Durango
968 reviews
13.4 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#8 of 33 in Durango
1,021 reviews
14.7 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durango Riverside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durango Riverside Resort

Property: Durango Riverside Resort
Address: 13391 County Road 250, Durango, CO 81301-8602
Region: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Durango
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Durango Riverside Resort is a beautiful home away from home in the lovely San Juan Mountains of southwestern Colorado. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Durango Riverside Hotel Durango

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing