We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice staff, great little rooms.”
Review of Caboose Motel

Caboose Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Caboose Motel
Ranked #26 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice staff, great little rooms.”
Reviewed 3 July 2013 via mobile

We were on the road with two dogs. The Caboose staff was very friendly and made no issue about our dogs. The room was adorable, and clean. New paint and decor and a nice tv. The half kitchen set up was super helpful.

Cons: the location was a little away from downtown, if that's where you want to eat.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JerMia82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    57
    21
    12
    18
See reviews for
35
65
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eagle, Idaho
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We just returned home from visiting Durango, Colorado. During our visit, we stayed at the Caboose Motel. I just have to say that it was the most enjoyable experience ever! The room was clean, decorated in a very homey way and we slept on the most COMFORTABLE bed ever. Everyone from the motel was so friendly and courteous. My husband came down with the stomach flu and we had to extend our stay an extra day and everyone was so helpful and accommodating to us. Anything we needed, they were happy to provide with a smile. The owner even came by several times to check on the "patient" I don't know of any motel that would care so much about their guests. We highly recommend staying at this charming motel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lori J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camp Verde, Arizona, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We were up in Durango last weekend for a Wedding (June 9 &10 2013). We enjoyed our stay at the Caboose Motel, Teri the manager was great, this place is very clean with comfortable beds, we loved the cabana area, as it has lots of shade, a great place to socialize with others in our group. We highly recommend this Motel for anyone visiting this area.
Randy & Jan R.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Don't let the dated look of the motel or the rooms stop you from staying here. I commented to my husband almost immediately that the room looked and felt cleaner than our house (I have left hotels and motels after walking in the room). Our bed was comfortable, the sheets were so soft and the staff had made sure the room was warm for our arrival. Terri, the manager, was great at providing suggestions for places to eat, enjoying the town even great places outside of town. We spent three nights at the hotel and could not have asked for a better experience or friendlier staff, including the friendly but not intrusive border collie, Rockie, that lives at the motel.

We plan to return in the fall and this is exactly where we will be staying.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deer Park, Texas, United States
1 review
Reviewed 25 April 2013

We stumbled on to this motel after a long drive, and were very pleased. The room was very clean,and the bed was very comfy,the staff made us feel very welcome as well. This is very close to the Durango/ Silverton train which is what we had planned We are already planning our next trip and will be staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanna N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

...this is a very "quaint" motel. The rates in the winter start at $49 for a King - $52 for 2 queens. The rooms are nice and clean. There is a frig, microwave, and coffee maker in each room. There is no breakfast, but it isn't a chain hotel.

I slept well, and it was very quiet. It's near a great Bar-B-Q place !!!! ...

The staff at the front desk was polite and very helpful. Their ice machine is outside and cannot be used in the winter because of the cold weather; but if you need ice, the front desk will provide that for you.

Have stayed here numerous times over the years and am never disappointed.... Try it!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KUMtngal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Our yearly "get-away" weekend from Phoenix in August took us to Durango this year. So glad we took the advice from a co-worker to stay at The Caboose Motel because our mini-vacation was much more enjoyable due to selecting The Caboose.

Terry, the manager, shared great tips on enjoying the restaurants and shops in downtown Durango ... which were walking distance from the motel. Great value compared to the chain hotels, and the friendly attention from staff made us decide to book here ahead of time for our next visit. Clean room... and being able to park just outside the room is always a comfort.

We have already recommended the Caboose to our circle of friends for their next Durango get-away.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.1 mi away
Adventure Inn Durango
Adventure Inn Durango
#2 of 33 in Durango
241 reviews
1.2 mi away
EconoLodge Inn & Suites - Durango
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
#5 of 33 in Durango
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Iron Horse Inn
Iron Horse Inn
#13 of 33 in Durango
369 reviews
22.9 mi away
Purgatory Village Condo Hotel
0.1 mi away
Siesta Motel
Siesta Motel
#14 of 33 in Durango
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caboose Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caboose Motel

Property: Caboose Motel
Address: 3363 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301-4024
Region: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Caboose Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Caboose Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caboose Motel Durango
Caboose Hotel Durango

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing