We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is very clean & the staff/owners were super hospitable”
Review of Caboose Motel

Caboose Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Caboose Motel
Ranked #29 of 34 Hotels in Durango
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Older motel, family owned and not too far from historic downtown. They have a town shuttle that stops right out front so easy to get downtown. Upon arrival, we were met by a delightful lady who had our room ready early and had turned our AC on before we arrived. We were hot and tired from riding all day so were thrilled to be able to get settled in. Our room was nice and cool, had a kitchenette and was spic and span. Bed was comfy, the TV was tiny and our room was close to the road so a little noisy. Overall we were pleased and will happily stay here again. Will likely request a room a little further off the street and pray to not have the mini van with 2 oblivious parents and 5 hyper kids parked in front of our room with a remote key lock that honks at every access :) Not the motel's fault but would blame parents.

Room Tip: Ask to have one of the rooms behind the office. We were closer to the road so it was pretty noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank L G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 150 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

lodging (and food) in durango is all overpriced, so you need to look at everything as a comparison--and in comparison to other hotels/motels in durango, this little place is a very good deal--family owned, meaning they want you to enjoy your stay, and to return, as opposed to the chains/box hotels, whose minimum wage employees don't care--if you are in to fancy, this might not be the place for you--I must admit that dogs and smoke in the lobby worried me (wife's allergies) but the room smelled very fresh and was squeaky clean--fridge, microwave, coffee maker, good beds, and plenty of hot water--terri was very pleasant and helpful--we were traveling with 3 grandkids, and she made sure we had plenty of extra towels, etc.--will stay there in the future

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank oldfart59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed here for one night in June and can't understand why this place gets such top reviews. Our first impression was not good. Yes, the owner was friendly and helpful, but the office was dark and dingy and smelled of smoke. Our room had just been cleaned, but the fridge was still full of the previous guest's food, which indicates that the cleaning job wasn't very thorough. All the fixtures were ancient although clean (we think) and in working condition. Overall, the motel seems like it's patched together and on its last legs with no effort put into updates. An average stay but overpriced for what you get.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank getaway_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We've stayed here in 2013 when riding the train to Silverton and decided to stay again this weekend.
This is a small property and privately owned and operated by nice friendly and helpful people.

The rooms are nice, clean and roomy with a western themed decor.

Our room was right by the highway so a bit noisy, but not too bad with the A/C running and keeping us cool.
No phones in the room which is a nice thing for vacationing!
This is a short drive north of downtown and near restaurants, grocery stores, and of course the TRAIN!
If you want a change from the big chain hotels, this is a nice place and fun!

Room Tip: You might be best selecting a room away from the main highway that goes by. It's not that bad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank astrobeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This is an older motel that is family owned and operated. The staff and owners were very accommodating and friendly. We got here a night early and stayed in another room, other than our reservation. Good comfortable bed, firm but plush. The next morning they did up the room we had reserved first and we were able to switch seamlessly. The beds are never older than 3 yrs and are all Serta. The rooms are very clean and for the high season in Durango, the rates are very good.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a kitchenette, all have micro, coffee and refrig.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Was exactly what we needed after a long drive. Good price clean room and comfortable bed. Very quiet location but very close to everything in Durango. Maureen was very friendly and full of information. Will definalty stay here again. Hopefully longer next time.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I just spent 3 days at the Caboose Motel in Durango CO. Everything was perfect for us. Would stay here again if ever in Durango, CO. The motel was just yards from the Durango Trolley which provides a free ride to the downtown. Excellent!

Room Tip: I prefer the type of room that allows me to park at my door...this motel gives you that option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rosie1051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.2 mi away
Spanish Trails Inn and Suites
1.8 mi away
Iron Horse Inn
Iron Horse Inn
#14 of 34 in Durango
419 reviews
0.1 mi away
Adventure Inn Durango
Adventure Inn Durango
#1 of 34 in Durango
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 mi away
Purgatory Village Condo Hotel
3.7 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango
1.2 mi away
EconoLodge Inn & Suites - Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caboose Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caboose Motel

Address: 3363 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301-4024
Region: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 34 Hotels in Durango
Price Range: £56 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Caboose Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Caboose Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caboose Motel Durango
Caboose Hotel Durango

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing