We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standard”
Review of Days End Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Days End Motel
Ranked #31 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Standard”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Perfect cheap motel for a one night stand. Standard rooms.
No breakfast included, but we recommend you to stop at Jean-Pierre cafe and buy apricot croissants (they are delicious!)
Don't expect to jump in the pool, the pool is located along the main road.
You might ask for a quiet room in the back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LL_Bklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    20
    40
    19
    35
See reviews for
30
37
20
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mountain Home, Arkansas
Level Contributor
101 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Nice motel for the price. First night our a/c did'nt work. The next day they moved us to a much bigger and better room for the same rate. They had a big area for m/c parking protected from cars, which was nice. Housekeeping service was average. Kind of disappointing to have to pay for ice, but we survived. Convienent location to the FREE trolley system that runs all through town.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

This is a lot like Motel 6 used to be. Motel 6 used to charge 25-cents for television, but instead, Days End charges 25-cents for a bucket of ice.

We changed our plans not long after we arrived in Durango, and went to Days End around 4 PM. Our other accommodations were on the third floor and it looked a little dangerous to be dragging luggage up to the top. Fortunately, the Days End manager put us in a handicapped room. I'll call it handicapped, not wheelchair accessible. It had a real tub w/ grab bars, instead of the shower that's usually in the wheelchair accessible rooms. Even better, it was on the first floor, near the exit. No shampoo (pretty much like Motel 6 used to be), only a bar of soap and very thin towels. We also had a nice big round table near the window. Great for eating the tuna kits after our 19-block walk after our train ride.

We'd planned to stay in a bed and breakfast, so we had no breakfast fixings, and Days End only served lobby coffee after 7:30 am. No fancy coffee condiments, just good coffee. Fortunately, there was a Subway in the next block!

Comfortable beds. The only downside were the lamps w/ 40 watt light bulbs. Three lamps each with a 40 watt bulb aren't enough to light up a room. I mentioned this to the manager upon check out, and he said that decision was up to the owner. My husband could read from his Kindle Paperwhite, but I couldn't see my Kindle Touch at all. Our emergency flashlight got more use than normal.

If you're planning on the Durango transit, there are stops w/in a block of Day's End. But be sure they will be providing full service. No one told us ahead of time they planned to block off all the stops in the downtown area for the 4th of July. The transit office was closed, and route one had paper taped over it's schedule. We had walked 19 blocks before a shuttle drove up.

Room Tip: People over 40 may have trouble w/ the 40 watt light bulbs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
73 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

My biggest pet peeve of all is being woke up by he maid at 8 a.m. while on vacation. If I wanted to be woke up at 8...I would place a wake up call. The air conditioning was asthmatic, and wheezed all night long. The room was just average, and the pool was nice, if you don't mind being along the side of a highway-like street. The only reason I didn't give it a poor rating was because the management was very nice and welcoming...too bad they can't train the maids not to wake up sleepy people and walk in uninvited....

Room Tip: The entire property is non-smoking, so if you smoke, you have to smoke in your car...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tGypsyMomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

On my way to Silt, Co stopped in Durango for the evening on the 3rd I had not made reservations and was afraid of no vacancy for the 4th holiday, but was amazed to find a several hotels with vacancy. I found a sign that read " Best Value in Town" at the Adobe Inn and was tempted to pay the $89.00, for a senior rate, but decided to look at another hotel, so glad that I drove up the street to the DAYS END, they are $59.00, have Hot Tub and Pool and free wifi - what a deal! The room is large, has 2 Queen beds large bathroom , closet and armoire. The hotel looks like it has undergone remodeling , it is clean and comfortable. I will definitely return to this place for future visits to Durango, this has been the best hotel I have stayed in during my last 4 visits here.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

I am generally not picky when it comes to where I stay, but this place has really gone downhill since I was last here. The place is a DUMP. The place is overpriced for the dirty room you get and my door didn't even have a lock. The police always seem to be coming and going here, and they charge just to receive ice. This place is such a dump that I ended up sleeping in my car.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hotelman12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Durango hotels

Golden, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Asked for a pet room but was changed to a non pet room. The office smelled bad, man that waited on me was rude. Could not give me the room I had reguested (king pet). After making the reservations they let you know about the 10.00 a pet fee. Once you have made the reservation you lose your deposit. I walked out without staying. Would not stay here!
.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aura A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.1 mi away
EconoLodge Inn & Suites - Durango
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
#6 of 33 in Durango
503 reviews
1.1 mi away
Durango Downtown Inn
Durango Downtown Inn
#22 of 33 in Durango
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Adventure Inn Durango
Adventure Inn Durango
#2 of 33 in Durango
208 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central
0.7 mi away
Durango Travelodge
Durango Travelodge
#30 of 33 in Durango
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days End Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days End Motel

Property: Days End Motel
Address: 2202 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301
Region: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Days End Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
72 Room economy hotel/motel in beautiful Durango, CO. We represent new ownership and management as of May 2017. We are systematically improving the property and the rooms daily. We believe one of the best features at our property is the waterfront feature of being on Junction Creek and direct access to the Animas River Trail, Rank Park and the river. When you stay with us, you must take the 2 minute stroll! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Days End Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days End Hotel Durango

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing