We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Jekyll & Hyde”
Review of Apple Orchard Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Apple Orchard Inn
Ranked #7 of 12 Durango B&B and Inns
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Level Contributor
130 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Jekyll & Hyde”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This is a lovely B&B - great grounds, great rooms,lovely eating area. Too bad the hostess is so bad! Check is a late 4:00 and she will not allow any check-in prior to that. So, we got there at 4:15 and she was nowhere to be found; there is no reception area/desk. Went looking for her, found her 15 minutes later; most B&B owners are welcoming; Kathi IS NOT. We were looking forward to our happy hour beer/wine and "snacks;" snacks were old choc chip cookies and what appeared to be left over Halloween candy - neither what one would call an appropriate "snack" with beer and wine. And Kathi was more intent on playing with her family in the owners adjacent home than taking care of her guests. Breakfast was the worse B&B breakfast I have ever had. We had asked her the night before what she was serving, and her abrupt answer to us and another couple was "waffles." The other couple decided to go elsewhere for breakfast, we unfortunately decided to let her serve us. Mistake! Her waffle was the size of an Eggo waffle - and an Eggo would have been better. Her waffle was so soggy, it was near uneatable. She also offered sausage (links - were right out of frozen container) and bacon - served cold, greasy and again soggy, scrambled eggs (served cold and not sure how she could make them tasteless, and toast - she offered toast, we asked for toast, it never came. For what she charges for a room, horrid breakfast. The room was OK; we don't watch TV, but just in case you do, there is a 12 inch set in the room, and do hope you enjoy very, very soft mattresses. Spa was covered and not allowed to be used.
B&B are expensive, but usually worth the cost - Apple Orchard Inn is an exception; Jekyll for ground and rooms; Hyde for service and quality/variety of food.

Room Tip: Would suggest you stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank haconstruct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    22
    16
    8
    6
See reviews for
20
153
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canon City, Colorado
Level Contributor
50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

When we arrived the trees were in bloom. The smell was wonderful!

The bedroom was very large with a private bath. The windows looked out to the front of the house and the apple trees beyond. The back of the house focused on a park-like setting in the middle, surrounded by small cottages with front and back porches with rocking chairs. There was a stream that ran through the property and the babbling sound was very relaxing.

The bed was a very comfortable king size bed. This is a charming bed and breakfast. We really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in Macintosh. It was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMG_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mellieha, Malta
Level Contributor
75 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

The guests "rooms" actually are attractive bungalows with porch and back-yard seating in a spacious garden setting with pond and a small stream, lots of birds around and we even observed a group of deer passing through the garden!
The bungalows are spacious and well equipped, the garden area around is well maintained and inviting.
Good breakfast.

Room Tip: All bungalows are wonderful and provide perfect privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AbrahamPotappel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Stayed in the Cortland Cabin. Has everything you need for a comfortable stay. Does not have a kitchen but who wants to cook on vacation! Has a very realistic open gas fireplace. The tub is about 6 inches wider than a standard tub, perhaps 6-8 inches longer and much deeper. Tub has jets but we did not use them. Tub can fit two people of average size - tight fit but not uncomfortable. Two sinks. Couch plus plenty of floor space and ample storage for clothing. Comfortable king bed. Radiant floor heating takes this place to the next level. The floor is always toasty warm. Vaulted ceiling gives small cabin spacious feeling. Kathy, the inn keeper and owner, is very nice and makes a mean breakfast. It's a classic comfort food breakfast. She makes basic meals but somehow takes them to the next level in quality and taste. Hopefully while you are there you will experience her pancakes and waffles. MMMMMMmmmm Really good bacon too. There are 6 cabins in total and the winter prices are very reasonable for what you get. Being north of town works well as you are closer to the great mountain hikes or skiing, but you are also still only 5 to 10 minutes from town. I would not have wanted to stay in town now that I have been there. Top notch stay and property! Only complaint if I had to make one would be that the inn keeper said she would wait until 7:00 pm for us to check in. Arrived at 6:50 pm and she was gone. It was not a problem at all because she just left the cabin open for us with the key. I will definitely book this place again when I return to Durango. Little tip: if you are traveling on 550 south from Montrose, you can stop into Orvis Hot Springs which is on the right 5 minutes north of Ouray. $14 for an all-day soak.

Room Tip: All the cabins are awesome! You are near rt 550 but you can't hear it unless you are outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

The Apple Orchard Inn in Durango, CO was the perfect place for our weekend getaway. The rooms were quiet, clean and comfortable. The food was fantastic, and we really enjoyed walking around the beautiful gardens. We even got to see a bear lumber up a tree when we arrived one evening! We will be sure to stay there again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monument, Colorado
Level Contributor
237 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

You will truly enjoy staying at the Inn., the service is superb., food is very good., breakfast filling with coffee, orange juice, and full county faire. The rooms are quiet., beds are very comfortable, room with the fireplace was wonderful. Very, very quiet, Kathy our hostess was very gracious and helpful., The only thing that I would suggest is that the Inn, include a corner for a Keruig Coffee Maker., with selections of coffee, tea's etc., that would be a great addition to the living room area, especially after a long day of site seeing., and shopping. A place to relax with a cup of coffee, possibly a biscuit. Enjoy!!!! bye!!!!

Room Tip: We stayed at the Inn., the room with the fireplace, wonderful, romantic.~~~~
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phoenix
Level Contributor
64 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

The Apple Orchard Inn in Durango is approximately 5 miles north of town and well worth the trip. It's bucolic setting complete with brook and orchard and pond and trees is quiet and restful--the bear cub perched high in a pine tree being an added feature at no extra charge. Ample parking. The rooms/bathrooms are clean and well appointed. The innkeeper Kathi makes a hearty and homemade (no packaged ready-to-eat crap) breakfast and coffee is available 24/7. Almost contiguous is the country club that features a good lunch or dinner and is obviously open to the public. Scenic area. Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhoenixJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durango hotels
9.9 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#3 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
9.8 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#7 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
9.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Quality Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
#6 of 33 in Durango
4.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
7.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Durango
Hampton Inn Durango
#4 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
11.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apple Orchard Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple Orchard Inn

Property: Apple Orchard Inn
Address: 7758 County Road 203, Durango, CO 81301-3797
Region: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Apple Orchard Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located north of Durango and south of Durango Mountain Resort in the Animas Valley makes this AAA Four-Diamond luxury bed & breakfast a perfect home base for exploring Southwest Colorado. A main house with four guest rooms and six private cottages, all surrounded by lush gardens, ponds and beautiful mountain views. Enjoy excellent breakfasts each morning and a happy hour each evening with Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies and other snacks. AAA Four-Diamond since 2003 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Apple Orchard Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apple Orchard Hotel Durango

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing