We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (454)
Filter reviews
455 results
Traveller rating
376
54
15
4
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
376
54
15
4
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscookiesthe secret gardenjohn waynemovies filmedaveda productsfree bikesin townblock from main streetwestern moviegranolabreakfast was deliciousfresh fruitlots of historycharming hotelevery afternoonfavorite hotelwalking distance
Filter
Updating list...
396 - 401 of 455 reviews
Reviewed 8 December 2011

We very much enjoyed our stay at the Rochester Hotel. Nice and old-timey feeling and very clean and cleverly decorated. It's easy to walk to anywhere and the walk is a nice one. Our room was one of the cheapest they offer and I thought it was very nice.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sniraga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
komick, Manager at The Rochester Hotel and Leland House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2011

Thank you for your visit and for your kind words. We look forward to your return visit to Durango.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2011

We stayed at the Rochester in mid November with our dog and absolutely loved it. We travel a lot, in the US and abroad, and the Rochester is noteworthy for it's service, charm, and location.

The personalized help we received from the owner Kirk went above and beyond. The design and furnishings are really charming and unique, exactly what I look for in a smaller boutique accommodation. Location is perfect, right in the heart of downtown for easy walking to all the great shops and restaurants, but one block off the main street giving it a quieter atmosphere and a good night sleep. Finally, if you are all about the food (like I am) during the day and evening there were three different kinds of (really good!) cookies to choose from as well as tea and a homemade cocoa. The breakfast the following morning was a divine french toast made to order with raspberries, plus a nice assortment of scones, muffins and quick breads.

Yep, I'm gushing, it was wonderful. Really glad we stumbled on this place on a dog friendly website. If you're not into corporate cookie cutter, the Rochester is a great choice.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Woof2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
komick, Manager at The Rochester Hotel and Leland House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2018

Thank you for your visit to Durango and for staying with us at the Leland House and Rochester Hotel. We look forward to your return visits. Please let us know if we can ever be of assistance from Durango.
Kirk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

This is a real quirky hotel / B&B. We loved the room and all of the western movie posters throughout the hotel. The free bikes were a nice touch if you wanted to 'roam'. The hotel is walkable to everything...nice restaurants, micro breweries and of course the railway. (We loved that despite the landslide) Breakfast is busy, but no problems. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. I forgot half my clothes???!!! (don't ask), but they posted them on to catch up with us 2 weeks later... fantastic. Silverton is definately worth a trip.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WestMidsP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
komick, Manager at The Rochester Hotel and Leland House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2018

Thank you for your visit to Durango and for staying with us at the Leland House and Rochester Hotel. We look forward to your return visits. Please let us know if we can ever be of assistance from Durango.
Kirk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2011

My husband and I spent my birthday at the Leland House on Oct. 12th, 2011. We stayed in the pet friendly room with our dog Lily and I can't say enough about how comfortable and handy the room was. Very charming, lovely accents, comfortable bed and great access to walking around town. Kirk and his staff were very friendly and accommodating in all our extra needs. They gave us great advice for dinner in town, we had such a nice time! Plus, the bonus is breakfast! Wow! What a treat, everything was homemade and very yummy! Breakfast was at the Rochester across the street. The decor and the staff help make both hotels a wonderful experience. We will definitely stay there again next time we're through
Southern Colorado!

Room Tip: The pet friendly room at The Leland House has it's own entrance! Very convenient and handy!!
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
komick, Manager at The Rochester Hotel and Leland House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2018

Thank you for your visit to Durango and for staying with us at the Leland House and Rochester Hotel. We look forward to your return visits. Please let us know if we can ever be of assistance from Durango.
Kirk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

We had a nice cozy room that seemed a little on the small side, but was fine for us. We didn't have a chance to use the bikes, but they seemed in decent repair. The real deal maker is the hot breakfast with made from scratch baked goods each morning and the homemade cookies in the afternoon. Yum! As another reviewer mentioned, the ladies at the front desk seemed a little disinterested, but they were helpful when we asked for it.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
komick, Manager at The Rochester Hotel and Leland House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2018

Thank you for your visit to Durango and for staying with us at the Leland House and Rochester Hotel. We look forward to your return visits. Please let us know if we can ever be of assistance from Durango.
Kirk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews