We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (449)
Filter reviews
449 results
Traveller rating
371
54
14
4
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
371
54
14
4
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscookiesthe secret gardenjohn waynemovies filmedaveda productsfree bikesblock from main streetin townwestern moviegranolabreakfast was deliciousfresh fruitcharming hotellots of historyevery afternoonfavorite hotelwalking distance
Filter
Updating list...
388 - 393 of 449 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2012

In August we stayed at the Leland House which is the B&B part of the Rochester Hotel. We have stayed at both numerous parts of this establishment many times before and have always had a 5 star, stellar experience. The rooms are spotless, the staff is always friendly and helpful, and the morning breakfast (served for both establishments at the Hotel) are always creative, superb quality, and filling. We make the trip through Durango, CO at least twice a year and always stay at the Rochester or the Leland House. We travel quite a bit and have stayed at numerous B&Bs over the USA so we have a large database of experience. In our estimation, this is without a doubt one of the very finest at which we have stayed and well worth the price, which by the way is very competitive for the area. Another bonus is that because of its location you can park the car at the hotel and easily walk to any of the superb dining establishments, the train, or other sights in town. That is a particuarly nice feature if you plan to have a few drinks with dinner.

Room Tip: The King room next to the dining area in the hotel is wonderful and suprisingly quiet even with morning diners in the breakfast area. It has private entrance to the garden. There really aren't any bad rooms, and we have stayed in them all. If you like the sound of the train whistle you will have to have the window open as the rooms are well insulated. The Leland House rooms are also excellent and one of the great features of those rooms is that they provide fresh ground coffee (not the typical "hotel packets") and fresh cream for your coffee in the small in-room refrigerators. Nice touch. We have only found that one other place in the USA.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blessed2BaBlessing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
komick, Manager at The Rochester Hotel and Leland House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2017

Thank you for your visit to the Leland House and Rochester Hotel and for your kind words. Please let us know if we can ever be of assistance from the Durango area.
Kirk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2011

My husband, my teenage son and I chose this hotel for our one night stay in Durango and weren’t disappointed. The Rochester is a place with quite a long history and this can still be seen although it’s contemporarily equipped. We had a King Suite with a sleeper sofa for our son and considered it as adequate. The hotel is conveniently located in the centre of Durango on a road that wasn’t too noisy. On our arrival, there was nobody to welcome us; there was also no indication where to address when checking-in. Finally it came to my mind that the Leland House on the opposite side of the road belongs to the Rochester and we went there for help which we found but we already were quite unnerved … But that was the only negative point. Otherwise, we enjoyed our stay and appreciated the homemade cookies in the afternoon and the superb breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swisstraveler63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
komick, Manager at The Rochester Hotel and Leland House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2018

Thank you for your visit to Durango and for staying with us at the Leland House and Rochester Hotel. We look forward to your return visits. Please let us know if we can ever be of assistance from Durango.
Kirk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2011

We very much enjoyed our stay at the Rochester Hotel. Nice and old-timey feeling and very clean and cleverly decorated. It's easy to walk to anywhere and the walk is a nice one. Our room was one of the cheapest they offer and I thought it was very nice.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sniraga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
komick, Manager at The Rochester Hotel and Leland House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2011

Thank you for your visit and for your kind words. We look forward to your return visit to Durango.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2011

We stayed at the Rochester in mid November with our dog and absolutely loved it. We travel a lot, in the US and abroad, and the Rochester is noteworthy for it's service, charm, and location.

The personalized help we received from the owner Kirk went above and beyond. The design and furnishings are really charming and unique, exactly what I look for in a smaller boutique accommodation. Location is perfect, right in the heart of downtown for easy walking to all the great shops and restaurants, but one block off the main street giving it a quieter atmosphere and a good night sleep. Finally, if you are all about the food (like I am) during the day and evening there were three different kinds of (really good!) cookies to choose from as well as tea and a homemade cocoa. The breakfast the following morning was a divine french toast made to order with raspberries, plus a nice assortment of scones, muffins and quick breads.

Yep, I'm gushing, it was wonderful. Really glad we stumbled on this place on a dog friendly website. If you're not into corporate cookie cutter, the Rochester is a great choice.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Woof2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
komick, Manager at The Rochester Hotel and Leland House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2018

Thank you for your visit to Durango and for staying with us at the Leland House and Rochester Hotel. We look forward to your return visits. Please let us know if we can ever be of assistance from Durango.
Kirk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

This is a real quirky hotel / B&B. We loved the room and all of the western movie posters throughout the hotel. The free bikes were a nice touch if you wanted to 'roam'. The hotel is walkable to everything...nice restaurants, micro breweries and of course the railway. (We loved that despite the landslide) Breakfast is busy, but no problems. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. I forgot half my clothes???!!! (don't ask), but they posted them on to catch up with us 2 weeks later... fantastic. Silverton is definately worth a trip.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WestMidsP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
komick, Manager at The Rochester Hotel and Leland House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2018

Thank you for your visit to Durango and for staying with us at the Leland House and Rochester Hotel. We look forward to your return visits. Please let us know if we can ever be of assistance from Durango.
Kirk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews