We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wanted to like it.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Leland House and Rochester Hotel
Ranked #4 of 34 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We stayed two nights in this hotel. Complimentary breakfast and use of bikes appreciated. But I was disappointed with the room itself . I understand the rooms are the original rooms dating back to the 1900s but found the cleanliness not there,eg.hairs in the bed,on the night table, and in the bathroom.It was quiet on the second floor but I think the night life in Durango is practically non existent. People are there mostly to enjoy the outdoor activities during the day. Did love the movie posters inside and outside the room very interesting info accompanying the posters. i did speak to the front desk about the condition of the room and was told it would be taken care of and it was the next day. The rate for this hotel is pricey for what is in the rooms. I guess your paying for the ambianceof abuilding that has been renovated to a point.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adventurer26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merritt W, Manager at The Leland House and Rochester Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

We are so sorry to hear your stay was sub-par and we are quite horrified to know of the condition of the room when your arrived. But thank you for letting us know, as we want to make sure each and every guest has the best experience possible. Durango is definitely a destination for those loving the outdoors and this time of year (after summer and before the snow falls) is a quite period in town. We hope the rest of your vacation was pleasant and thank you again, for taking the time to review us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (326)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

213 - 219 of 326 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2013

Was looking for somewhere nice to stay in Durango for one night, whilst travelling on the Durango to Silverton Railroad - couldn't have chosen better! We had a ground floor room, very spacious, and lovely jacuzzi bath (which was so needed after a long day travelling). Durango was a very nice town - wish we could have stayed longer. Recommend the Serious Texas BBQ! And the train ride was fantastic, although my husband who is scared of heights may not agree!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kym M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merritt W, Manager at The Leland House and Rochester Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

We are happy to hear you had a wonderful time at the Rochester Hotel! I will let Terisa know that her Serious Texas BBQ recommendation was a success. We hope the rest of your travels were just as pleasant as your time here in Durango. Best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

As a Colorado native who has been in MA since college it was great to get back to western CO. Needless to say Durango was not like it is now when I lived on the Western Slope! There are always lots of cowboy hats in Durango, but as our stay (inadvertently!) coincided with the 25th Annual Cowboy Poets Gathering there was a remarkable profusion of cowboy chapeaux.

We stayed at the Leland House, which is across the street from the Rochester. Staff was friendly and accommodating. Room was small, but fine for my wife and me, with lots of western paraphernalia. Bikes and umbrellas (despite there rarely being rain in Durango) were available for use. Home-cooked breakfast (havarti-dill scrambled eggs) and home-baked goods were excellent and included. We didn't sample the bar, but it looked cool. Room had real coffee in the refrigerator to use in the in-room coffee maker!

Value added: Cypress Cafe two doors down. Great dinner (Think elk medallions), good value, nice wine list.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merritt W, Manager at The Leland House and Rochester Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Cowboy hats abound especially during the first week in October every year :) We are glad you were able to make it through the crowded streets of Stetsons and that you had a special time re-visiting Western Colorado.
We would love to see you again next year when our bar is open in conjunction with our summer music series. Safe travels home!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Rochester/Leland House. The room was comfortable and had character, just like Durango! The breakfasts were terrific. All of the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Although we did not have our pups with us on this trip, it was nice to see that the place is very pet-friendly. We are returning to Durango to stay for a couple months, and ultimately, to live. We look forward to recommending the Rochester to visiting friends!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merritt W, Manager at The Leland House and Rochester Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Thank you for taking time to write the Rochester Hotel such a wonderful review. And thank you for passing your experience along to all your friends! We look forward to seeing you again and we look forward to meeting your pups!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

This was our 2nd trip to Durango within a year, as our daughter is now enrolled in college in town. We stayed here based upon other Trip Advisor reviews, and glad that we did! Extremely friendly staff, great home cooked breakfast and baked goods etc. We booked a suite and it had plenty of room for the 3 of us. It's an old hotel, so you have to expect small bathrooms and a bit of funkiness. The location is one block off main street, but there is a really good restaurant next door, the Cypress Garden, and an adjoining wine bar. The hotel has a nice large garden area to eat breakfast or just sit, and they have bands on Wednesday night. I would definitely stay here again. I love to be able to walk to everything, since at home, I cannot do that! Such nice staff as well.

Room Tip: Room 11 was great, had it's own outside sitting area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 553paulaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merritt W, Manager at The Leland House and Rochester Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Paula,

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are thrilled you enjoyed staying in the Leland House and we look forward to seeing you over the next 4 years as your daughter makes her way through Fort Lewis. Please let us know if there is anything we can do to make your future stays more enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Wonderful location downtown Durango. Walking distance to historic RR to Silverton. Terrific staff, so friendly and helpful. Delicious homemade cookies and breakfast. We will definitely be back next time we go to this area.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hpmom11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Can't go wrong. Funky but lots of character. Excellent breakfast and wonderful garden next door. Great location within 100 yards of quaint restaurants and a wine bar across the street. Love the themes inside the hotel and the cool group of folks it attracts. Great with kids.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeffgrahamdallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.1 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#8 of 34 in Durango
1,089 reviews
0.1 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#11 of 34 in Durango
492 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
2.4 mi away
Adventure Inn Durango
Adventure Inn Durango
#1 of 34 in Durango
277 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Leland House and Rochester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leland House and Rochester Hotel

Address: 726 E 2nd Ave, Durango, CO 81301-5419
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 34 Hotels in Durango
Price Range: £111 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Leland House and Rochester Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rochester Hotel & Bar is a historic hotel open since 1892. The hotel provides 15 rooms with private bathrooms all themed in an Old Western Hollywood style. New in 2012 is the addition of the Rochester Bar, providing an intimate setting for fine wines and cocktails. A full gourmet breakfast is included and cruiser bicycles are available for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Leland House and Rochester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rochester Hotel And Bar
Rochester Hotel Durango

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing