We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not many amenities for an expensive place.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rochester Hotel & Bar
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not many amenities for an expensive place.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

After reading reviews I thought this is a great place to splurge on our trip (I'm no trust funder & this is expensive to me). I have to say that for $250 a night I was really disappointed. What did I expect? I don't know, maybe plush amenities, spa products & complementary wine in a cool room. Anyway, to me it was an average stay & the chain hotel we stayed at the night before was better for $100 less. I guess I need a greater appreciation for historic renovations. I agree that the building was done nicely. The amenities were lacking.The room we had was sparsely decorated but nice. We had only one working outlet to plug into by the sink. There were only 2 bath towels leaving a hand towel to wrap my washed hair. There was nice lotion though. The gap in the door frame inhibited privacy. Parking in the alley behind the building seemed sketchy. The owners were friendly and I gathered from looking at other folks there that this is a hotel for upscale clientele who don't care about the cost (they were hanging out at the bar ordering top shelf like there's no tomorrow), not average people.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laurie5330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley S, Manager at Rochester Hotel & Bar, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are so very sorry that we did not meet your expectations! We are very proud of our hotel and strive to delivery a one of a kind experience. We did not deliver that experience to you, and for that, we apologize.

Will you please email me (ashley@rochesterhotel.com) with your room number? We will fix the issues in that room so as not to upset future guests. Again, thank you for taking the time to review the Rochester Hotel & Bar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    45
    10
    4
    3
See reviews for
52
108
8
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
185 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

This has to be one of the most interesting places to stay in Durango, and the breakfast was by far the best we had on our whole trip across the US. The hotel was built in 1892 and it is immaculately decorated throughout. The rooms and hallways are decorated with movie posters of some of the western movies filmed in and around town, and in the hallways these are displayed in frames decorated in marquee lights. We stayed in the “Night Passage” room, with posters of the 1957 Western staring James Stewart and Audie Murphy...and the TV “table”, a stack of old suitcases, was inspired.
For breakfast, as well as the usual juices and cereals, the owners do a special hot entree each day and, on the day we were there it was French toast topped with raspberries with real maple syrup to pour over...it was superb and one of the best breakfasts we have had in any hotel anywhere at all. (I can still remember tasting that first mouthful now...oh for another portion!).

Room Tip: 1st floor rooms in the main building are quiet and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterandLesley2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley S, Manager at Rochester Hotel & Bar, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We are very proud of our breakfasts and so happy that you enjoyed the French toast. Please come back to see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burkburnett, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The other rooms we saw had much larger TVs and had chairs. Water pressure in the shower is horrible and you get constant ice cold or scalding hot blast during your shower. Other than that no complaints. Its right in the middle of everything so walking to places is easy.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Crystal T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley S, Manager at Rochester Hotel & Bar, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us! The Rochester is an older building, and with that age does come occasional spikes in water pressure and temperature. We are so sorry that you had to deal with it. We enjoyed having your group stay with us, and we hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Lovely spacious rooms each tied to its own Western movie, excellent continental breakfast with a different hot dish optional every day. Helpful friendly staff. One block from historic Main Street and a few minutes from the Durango - Silverton Railroad, and from the nicest restaurants. Only possible drawback for some people - no elevator to second floor.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aedesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley S, Manager at Rochester Hotel & Bar, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us! We understand the lack of an elevator can be a bit difficult. However, we are always happy to help our guests carry a load up or down the stairs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taveuni Island, Fiji
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

We were in Durango for our grand niece's graduation. We wanted something homey & sweet with the western feel.Family who live in Durango recommended the Rochester & we have thanked them.

The hotel is lovely with a warm & welcome feeling. The room had a beautiful quilted bed cover & great mattress.

The breakfast will not win any awards BUT the always available homemade cookies trumped the breakfast (is it legal to eat cookies for dinner as your main course??)

We would stay here again, and would recommend to friends.

Glad we chose this spot.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronna g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley S, Manager at Rochester Hotel & Bar, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Rochester Hotel! We enjoyed having you stay with us and look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friendswood, Texas
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

I was referred to this hotel by a friend. While it is a boutique hotel it has the feel of an itimate bed an breakfast. My room was very clean, well appointed and everything worked perfectly. All the amenities were first class. From the time I checked in I was greeted with warmth and humility. The entire staff understood the art of service and warmth which could only spring forth from the heart of loving owners. The breakfast, which was included, was perfect with great coffee. I could tast the love in the food. There was more than enough staff to take care of any need.

I met the owners and their son. They were grace filled hoteliers who truly made me feel at home. They spent time to get to know me and help me feel at home.

The garden was manicured and a great place to have breakfast or visit with newly acquired friends. Somehow I clicked on swimming pool and can't remove that...so even though there is no swimming pool the hotel is only 1 block away from the Diamond Belle Restaurant which has the finest music in town on Sunday nights...The Blue Moon Ramblers....amazing band!

If you travel a lot like I do then you know the difference that the warm and welcoming environment can contriubute to the experience of exploring a new location. I highly recommend the Rochester to warm and loving travelers. You will meet like minded easily acquired friendships here.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 107...it is set up to host guests with dogs and is located right on the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eagleheart222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley S, Manager at Rochester Hotel & Bar, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a detailed review! We do put service and our guest needs first, and are so happy that you had a wonderful experience at the Rochester. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bentonville, Arkansas, USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

Visited Durango, with my son, in April to attend the Fort Lewis College Parents preview weekend-stayed three nights at the hotel.

This was our first visit to Durango.

Prior to booking the room, I used Tripadvisor to find a room near the historic downtown area and not too far from the College.

From the time we were greeted until the time we left, we felt very welcomed by the entire staff. The room was spacious and accomodating. The breakfasts were simply incredible!

This property is very well located-within walking distance of dining, shopping, restaurants, & the
Durango & Silverton Narrow Guage Railway Museum.

Thank you to Ashley - she was an excellent host. The morning we left-a "to go" breakfast was prepared for our 6:00 a.m. departure. Very thoughtful & tasty!

My son will be a Skyhawk this fall & I will plan on staying with this Hotel in the future when I visit Durango.

Can highly recommend the property.

Tor

Room Tip: Call ahead to discuss hotel accomdations...they can assist you in room selection. We stayed in a fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tor F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley S, Manager at Rochester Hotel & Bar, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review! We loved having you stay with us and look forward to seeing you for FLC move in day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.1 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#4 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
0.1 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#7 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
0.5 mi away
Durango Lodge
Durango Lodge
#20 of 33 in Durango
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rochester Hotel & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rochester Hotel & Bar

Property: Rochester Hotel & Bar
Address: 726 E 2nd Ave, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Rochester Hotel & Bar 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rochester Hotel & Bar is a historic hotel open since 1892. The hotel provides 15 rooms with private bathrooms all themed in an Old Western Hollywood style. New in 2012 is the addition of the Rochester Bar, providing an intimate setting for fine wines and cocktails. A full gourmet breakfast is included and cruiser bicycles are available for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Rochester Hotel & Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rochester Hotel And Bar
Rochester Hotel Durango

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing