We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Kid friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows
Ranked #11 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Fe, United States
1 review
“Kid friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

My favorite thing about Mt. Shadows is that the pool is operational all year long. It's great for families and kids love it. They always know that after a long drive, day skiing or sightseeing they can "come home" to the pool and hot tub.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Pam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    213
    75
    26
    16
See reviews for
207
204
25
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

Because of a bad review just before our trip, I was very nervous about staying at Best Western, Shadow Mountain. But I have to say, we had no issues at all. In fact just the opposite. We had our grandson on the trip with us, we all were so tired and over being in the car, but he was in breakdown mode and nothing sufficed him. We were running late, I called, they assured us our reservations were held and was not one problem checking in when we finally got there! We got back in the car for a super late dinner, got back to the room and no milk for the baby!! He was so tired and we could not calm him down, I told his mom to check with the front desk to see if MABY they had some, sure enough, the man at the front desk was so kind he gave us a glass of milk and saved the night, as in we did not have to get back in the car and go looking for a store! There was absolutely nothing wrong with our room, clean and comfortable. We were in town for a wedding so we kept the do not disturb sign up so they would not bother cleaning it, and late in the afternoon a lady (I think was a supervisor) came to our door and actually said she saw our room had not been cleaned and asked if we wanted it done, of course we told her no, but we very much appreciated the fact that she knew it had not been done. Good job to all the staff making us want to come back, and of course we will stay at this place again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waddell
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this Hotel. Best Western Mountain Shadows is at the north end of town, out of the busy crowded main area, but close enough to be only a few minutes away by driving. Our room was comfortable, clean (other than the carpet which was soiled and needed to be shampooed- it was not terrible, but needed attention), large enough for 4 adults and was quite. The continental breakfast was more than adequete, we had warm chocolate chip cookies available at check in and hot coffee, tea and multiple flavors of creamers available all the time in the lobby. We did not use the pool/hot tub but it looked like it would be nice. We just didn't have the time to try it out. I would recommend this hotel, and would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Randy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

Although I am not a fan of outside doors, this updated hotel has much to offer. I have stayed at 18 hotels in the past 12 months and it offered the most space - both sleeping AND bath. The refrig and microwave are located on the back wall, giving more space in the sleeping area and offering more counter space for the prep area. There is a sink outside AS WELL AS a sink inside the LARGE bathroom. A ceiling-to-floor wall separates that area from the beds so sleepers aren't disturbed by those using the sink areas. This room is perfect for families with teenagers or 3-4 travelling adults. Even though outside/location indicates it is not brand new hotel, everything was clean and attractive due to recent update. A clean bathroom is VERY important to me. Breakfast is the basic high carb options offered at most hotels although hard boiled eggs were included. Only 10 mins. from Durango train.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

Very accommodating. Clean. Friendly staff. Would definitely stay there again.close to a wide selection of restaurants, activities. Close to other communities. Beautiful part of the country (mountains).

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Connie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

Clean, pleasant staff, a bit pricey for a motel. Other motels in the area are half the cost. Not in walking distance of downtown but still very close and can drive within 5-10 mins. Located across the street (virtually) from the Recreation Center (a real treat).

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Rochelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy UT
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

We stayed one night so did not have the problems others had with the maid service. Yes, some may feel it's a little pricey but it's Durango so we felt the cost was reasonable. We had reservations so check in was a breeze. Staff checking in and checking out were very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. The rooms open up to the parking lot which isn't a big deal. The motel is on a main street but even so we couldn't hear the traffic. The room walls are on the thin side as I could hear the "neighbors" fan running when they turned it on. The clerk when we checked in did tell us that WiFi was very slow between 5-8pm which was true but after 8pm we had no problems. Breakfast was typical for a BW, nothing fancy by any means. The cookies when we checked in were great! We would stay at this BW in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rainee12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durango hotels
2.3 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#4 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
#6 of 33 in Durango
4.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
2.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango
4.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows

Property: BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows
Address: 3255 North Main Ave., Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Durango
#9 Family Hotel in Durango
#10 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mountain Shadows Hotel Durango
Best Western Hotel Durango
Best Western Durango
Durango Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing